8/3 Skooter +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 89 +5 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Condo of Unexpected Events (08/02)


Well yesterday had Skooter's longest "recorded" surf in the greens! He was doing wonderfully, until I had to purposely skip his dose last night, for the other unexpected event of yesterday. My mom was admitted last night to the Heart Center at the hospital. Her EKG showed some abnormalities, and has a fast heart rate. They are not sure if it is a heart attack, another blocked artery or just due to the fever she has. But due to her heart history (a bilateral triple a repair two years ago and a double by pass last year) they didn't want to take any chances. Heart enzyme testing was going on through the night and today. We should hopefully know more today, but I fear that the news will not be good :sad: I am very close to my mom and I would be simply devastated and lost if this turns out to be something really bad. Any sort of positive vines you can think to throw her way, would be greatly appreciated.


I am not sure when I should anticipate Skooter to go higher due to the missed shot, but if he does, I sure hope it doesn't throw him off too badly and he can recover quickly. On a positive note, since I basically got to "reset" his shot time, I was able to move it back so during the work week, I should be able to get a +1.5 on most days.....Fingers crossed for both mom and Skooter. Going back to bed until Skooter's +2

I was happy that he greeted me at the door last night, first time he has done that in months, however, I do believe that was because he was hungry and for no other reason. He did scarf and barf his food, and I ended up giving him a little bit of food later one. So far breakfast went well and no barfing, so I believe it truly was a scarf and barf/isolated incident.

Today my heart is breaking for Mariko as she prepares to send Lucy to the Rainbow Bridge. You, Lucy and Ginger will be in my thoughts all day today. If I could, I would give you a great big hug. But this will have to do: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124

I will pray that God will take of your mom and for a recovery. You had a rough night.

Skooter is looking so good.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125

And such a good boy....My alarm went off for his test and he was sitting right by the couch. When I got up he jumped up and got in my lap and waited....he has never done that before.

Thank you so much for the prayers. I am one who believes in the power of prayers for sure!
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125

I wouldn't worry about the skipped shot. It's like a fur shot. Most cats get back on track quickly after a fur shot. Sending prayers for your DM.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93

So, if Skooter is gonna bounce from his missed shot, would that have happened this morning or will it be tonight? I know ECID, but I just wanted to prepare myself and figure out what to do with him once we find out what, if anything they are gonna do with mom.


Talked to her this morning and she had ordered breakfast, which I am sure she will take about 5 bites of....she isn't a huge eater....hasn't been for the last couple of years, I think due to all medical issues. It looks like they found at least two small blood clots in her lung (not sure if one or both lungs). However, it is still unclear if that is what is caused the irregular ekg or rapid heart rate.

I am guessing they will be keeping her in until the clots clear and I also assume more testing will be done to see what, if anything else is going on. Continued prayers, healing vines, clot clearing vines and any other vines you can think of would be much appreciated....My sister should be getting there soon and I will head over sometime this afternoon to visit for awhile.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93

I would think Skooter's numbers would already have gone up if he was going to bounce from the skipped shot.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93

Normally when he gets a fur shot, he spikes the next cycle, so that is what I was kind of hoping....I will be cautiously optimistic at his PMPS for the number.....I am thinking I will get one more test in around +7 or +8 before I go to pick up my sister from the airport as she does not know anything that is going on with mom yet (she is flying home from Germany). He seems a bit sensitive with his ears this morning, so I would like to give them a rest....he seems to be having a pretty good surf going on right now.....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93

Big hugs to you, Molly. And tons of vines for your mom, you and the rest of the family. She sounds like one tough lady, she'll pull through this.

Shooter is doing great! Usually, you would see the effect of a missed shot at the next PS. And he's already back to green. :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93

Skooter is a rock star!

Sending good vines for your mother.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

Pretty sure Skooter is saying, Missed shot? what missed shot?

I know that +6 is the normal nadir for cats, but Skoots USUALLY nadirs around +4....

I need to leave at the very latest +8 to go pick my sister up from the airport so I can bring her to the hospital to see mom. She still doesn't know mom is in the hospital as she is en route home from Germany. I hate to manipulate the natural groove Skooter has going on, but I am going to have to leave him again no later than +8 to pick my sister up.

I will do a +7 to see if he is trending up or down. If he is still trending down, can I give him a couple teaspoons of HC to try and get him to at least stop going down? and then test around +7.5 to see how he is doing? He had his breakfast at AMPS and his second of four meals at around +5ish....he is due his next meal at PMPS (which might now end up being a little late, depending on when I leave the hospital....I am hoping nothing major happens where I am going to have to skip another dose as I do not have anyone to come over and shoot him or test him).
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

any effect from the skipped shot was seen by the amps of 124 - so no big deal for skooter, apparently. a good sign. i'd just stay with this dose for now - it's looking good for skooter!

one day at a time. sending good thoughts for your mom.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

Hey Julie....

Looks like we were posting at the same time....if you have any advice on the HC food "intervention" that would be great!
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

funny, i saw the first part about your sis coming from germany, but not the second part about HC.

i wouldn't give HC unless he was in fairly low numbers. based upon yesterday, he's just coasting along. you could leave him some low carb out, but see what he does from now til then and if he's just staying flat, i wouldn't worry too much. just give him some LC.

if you need to skip, just do it. gotta take care of your mom and skooter will recover from some erratic shooting. or you can shoot late, too. there is the option of giving a shot at +18 and then making the next cycle 18 hrs long as well - that can be less of a whammy to numbers than skipping entirely. it's an option for you to consider anyway.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

With work, shooting a +18 really isn't an option.....I HATE skipping shots on purpose, but I don't want to spend time at the hospital worrying about Skooter. Plus my mom always asks how he is doing and what his numbers are, so I think as much as I hate skipping, skipping will be what we do....I figure if I am home within an hour of his normal shot time, I will shoot him, but if home past that, I will just wait until the AM and HOPE he is ok while I am at work :roll:

Oh how I love this sugar dance, but even MORE so when other factors come into play....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

Hi there ~O) :cool:

Sending healing vines your moms way. . .

Skooter is doing great! Interesting that there does not appear to be much 'fall out' from the skipped shot. . .
I agree with Julie, that late in a cycle (+7, +8) it's unlikely you will need anything more than LC.

Keep the 18 hour option Julie mentioned in mind - it may be handy for other times when life doesn't line up with a 12/12 shooting schedule.
No way to know what demands will be placed on your time and attention . . .
Take it 'one shot at a time'...as the demands of the upcoming days unfold other timing options may present themselves.
If you have to skip - you skip and think of it as a 'fur shot'

It will be OK. Skooter is in a very good place. :cool:
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

If you have to skip tonight, I'd go with the 18 hour schedule...I don't think it would effect your work schedule

You shoot at 6/6, correct? So if you shot at 6am this morning, +18 would be midnight tonight...then the next shot would be due at 6pm tomorrow night when you get home from work (if I'm counting right....brain seems to be on standby today.....lol)

Sounds like DM has pulmonary embolisms....I've had those twice....Blood clots in the lungs can cause rapid heartbeat as well as irregular EKG results. If caught early, the treatment is a lot like for a heart attack....blood thinners and careful monitoring.

Sending heaps of healing vines to DM and hugs for you and Skooter!
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66

Thanks everyone!

I am hoping to be able to be home by 6 to T/F/S, so we shall see.

They did say the blood clots could effect the EKG and heart rate and the doctor confirmed today that the second EKG they did last night did not show any abnormalities. She is on a heprin (sp?) IV drip, so the soonest she will be home is tomorrow, but we have to just wait and see.

She will be on a blood thinner short term and have to inject herself in the stomach with another medication short term. (This is when it is handy having a nurse living in the same house).

They are doing ultrasounds of her legs as the doctor said the clots don't normally start in the lungs and he wants to make sure they aren't missing anything else. So now not only to I have to wear patience pants with Skooter, but with mom as well.... :roll: I am already horrible at practicing patience....

Thank you all for the continued support, prayers and vines....it means so much to me....

And to my main man, Skooter: thanks for being a trooper and keeping your awesome cycles going so momma doesn't have to worry about you (even though I still do) at least I know you are surfing nicely....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59

Trying to not be a worry wart, but let's face it, totally my nature....

Should I start giving him LC food now and then more when I leave? His last meal would have been around was around +5ish or so I believe.....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59

I think a little LC now would be fine, a mini-meal, then re-check before you head out . . .
At what 'plus ' hour of the cycle are you leaving?
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59

+8 (in about 40 minutes or so).....

I gave him like 2 teaspoons, because I worry about EVERYTHING lol


I have about 1/2 of a 3 oz can left and I was thinking I would leave that out before I left to pick up my sister....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59

Sounds like a good plan, particularly since you don't know when you will be back home for PMPS. :cool:
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59

Thanks again for being around today, Sandy :)

I am trying to balance everything and make sure everyone gets what they need.....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59 +8 64

Off to pick up sis and head to hospital....

If y'all wouldn't mind, keeping a virtual eye on my boy while I am gone? ;-)

And to Skooter....you were SUCH a good boy and didn't bounce when missing a shot....please hold steady for mommabean and be a good boy while I pick up auntie and go visit with grandma.....

Leaving out some LC food, which I am sure he will eat right now, but oh well. Just got an email saying that my feeder that was suppose to have shipped by the 30th still hasn't shipped....that bad boy would have been pretty handy right about now.... :roll:
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter AMPS 124 +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS

Skooter seems to be holding his own even with his missed dose....makes me wonder what could've been last night, but I have to stop with that train of thought.

Sister got home from Germany a-ok and we even snuck in a visit with mom. My niece came with her 5 month old baby so I did get my baby fix in.

Not sure when mom will be released, she is currently on a heparin IV drip and they are doing ultrasounds on her legs to see if there are any other clots. She is resting well.

This momma is super tired and going to take a nap before +2 to see what kind of night it is gonna be....

Looking at the clock and noticing the time, my hear continues to break for Mariko. After posting this, I will be spending a few minutes saying a prayer. I wish there was a way to take away this pain, but I know there is not.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 1

Skooter was such a good boy today. cat_pet_icon :mrgreen: Looks like tonight might be a good one too. "Skip? What skip?, says Skooter.

Lots of vines and healing white light coming your way for your mother. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +2 125 +4 93 +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 1

Vines and healing prayers for you mom. Skooter is looking great. So glad for that as you have enough on your plate.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +4 93 +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 8

Thanks for all the good vines you all have sent to my mom. Skooter really seems to be not at all effected by his skipped shot.....

and boy oh boy, what a difference an hour makes! It is great getting a +4 in by 10 pm

Now my next problem....my niece's birthday dinner is tomorrow at 6, shot time. I am not seeing how this one is gonna work out. I already am gonna have to possibly manipulate his numbers on Friday night, so I am thinking tomorrow will be a no go. I just am not sure that he will surf for me the way I need him to, even if I shoot 545 tomorrow morning and 530 that night, in order to go to the dinner and be back in time to test him at +2.....

Sigh.....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +4 93 +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 8

The +2 isn't a requirement Molly...it's just a nice test to get when you can!

If you can't get home until later, you just get home late and test when you get there! You have enough data now to have a pretty good idea of how he's going to respond...and you can always leave down some higher carb food just in case he needs it and deal with the higher numbers later
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +4 93 +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 8

Perhaps I can give him some of the MC food I got for tonight for his dinner tomorrow?

I should be able to make it home by +2.5 if I T/F/S at 17:30.....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 89 +5 1

Well, looks like Skooter is on his way back up, so it means I will be able to go to bed now.....

Just an off day anyways, so I think it will be good to get some sleep.....

Good night my LL family, wishing everyone an amazing week ahead!

{{{Mariko}}} I will be saying extra prayers for you tonight, I hope you are able to get some rest.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 89 +5 1

I thought I was going to see skooter get a reduction. Better luck tomorrow. Have a good night.
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 89 +5 1

So did I :sad:

I am thinking he was on a mission and then I had to skip his dose last night, so I think I derailed him....I am hoping he gets back on track for a reduction tomorrow NIGHT....

Ya hear that Skooter, tomorrow NIGHT, not during the day, and please wait until I get back from the birthday celebration....
 
Re: 8/3 Skooter +6 66 +7 59 +8 64 PMPS 131 +2 124 +4 89 +5 1

What a huge difference for Skooter in a short amount of time. And wow how he did not skip a beat over the skipped shot.

Sending tons and tons or prayers for your mom.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top