8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244 +4=79 +6=102 tooth pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Member Since 2012
8/2 Shasta

Happy Caturday!

Well, on a good note, I got a few snuggles last night before bed and just a little bit ago. But as per the usual these days, she's hidden away in her carrier and not being very social. We really haven't played much today and I haven't seen any preening and no purring. So far, the only Ps are pee and poop.

I tried mixing the Clindamycin Drops in with some baby food...that was a no go. So then I had to resort to pinning her down and and "force" feeding. (nothing violent...just not a happy kitty.) I only got 1 of 2 mL in her. I'll try for the second mL later. The vet's office called me back today to tell me that the vet still doesn't believe any sedative pill will work for Tuesday and I should just bring her in...as is. nailbite_smile I'm already panicking at the thought of her behavior and sedation and anesthesia and heart condition and not waking up...and this sucks.

Sorry, I don't mean to be so doom and gloom. After being a part of this board for the past year, my heart sinks every time I see a rainbow icon or a candle icon. I cry and cry and cry when anyone loses their furkid and I'm just not ready to face that for myself. I know it's inevitable, but I want to ignore the possibility until I can't ignore it anymore. :cry:

Off to do a little cleaning, laundry and DIY around the house. Best wishes to all the OTJ trial kitties. Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins; Jupiter, Doogle, Maggie & Miko! Blessings!

~Deborah & Shasta


AMPS=281 (4% FF Chopped Grill .85oz & miralax)
+2.75=152 (5% FF Chunky Chicken .45oz; 3% FF T&G .50oz & zobaline)
+3.5=120
+4.5=95
(1mL Clindamycin Drops) not a happy kitty
+8=217

PMPS=279 (4% FF Chopped Grill 1oz, cosequin, atenolol & squash)
+2=244 (3% FF T&G .50oz)
(1mL Clindamycin Drops) really not a happy kitty; gave her Purebites afterwards; several dry hacks afterwards. :-|
+3.5=144
+4.5=79 (5% FF Chunky Chicken .50oz)
+5.5=69 (3% FF T&G .50oz)
+6.5=102

Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 4
Poo piles - 2 (am: good size! pm: liqui-poo :sad: )
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta AMPS=281 +2.75=152 +3.5=120 +4.5=95 +8=217

Sending prayers to you and Shasta that all goes well on Tuesday. Good luck getting the rest of her AB in her.
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta AMPS=281 +2.75=152 +3.5=120 +4.5=95 +8=217

Sorry to hear :sad: Sending better appy and good vetty vines to you and Shasta :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244

Thank you, Carla & Pam! We need all the appy vines and good vetty vines we can get. We really need good AB taking vines because that is coming up soon. :o nailbite_smile However, she's resting on the back of the couch right now, so I'll let her be for the moment.
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244 +3.5=144 tooth pic

Ok, I was kind of able to get a picture of Shasta's tooth. It's a little dark, but at least it's not terribly blurry. It's really hard to take a picture of the inside of cat's mouth WHILE you're prying her teeth apart!!! :lol: That's a three/four hand job.

IMG_1670.JPG


Well, I got the rest of her AB in her, but wow...she's really not happy with me. :cry: I know...it's for her own good. But still...I don't want her to hate me. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244 +3.5=144 tooth pic

Hi Deborah,
That is some picture of Shasta's tooth. She'll feel much better when it is outta there! So sorry that you are having problems with her taking the antibiotics. Most cats hate to take pills. Have you tried a pill pusher? Lisa (Do Lou) suggested this to us for Stu and it helped a lot. I think this is the one we used: http://www.amazon.com/Pet-Piller/dp/B0002AL6U6/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Try to think positively about the dental on Tuesday. They will certainly follow the correct procedure. Sienne posted a list of things that the vets do at the cat hospital in Chicago. It is a good check list. Here's the URL: http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com...guide-to-comparing-veterinary-dental-services

Thinking of you and sending good dental vines to Shasta,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244 +3.5=144 tooth pic

OUCH!! That does look sore!! I'm sure Shasta will feel so much better getting that icky thing out of her mouth! Who'd want to eat with something like that? Don't blame poor Shasta a bit for being off her feed!

I know the idea of the dental is worrying, but try your best not to. Shasta can pick up on your concerns and make it even harder on her when Tuesday comes. They monitor them so closely these days during surgery. When I was a teen (many moons ago), I worked at a vets office. Back then you put them to sleep, and watched their breathing. Now they support their breathing and monitor their heart and blood pressure through the whole thing so can see when something is going wrong soon, and make adjustments to compensate. They've also come out with some much safer anesthetics!!

Sending healing vines to Shasta and hoping you can keep getting that AB down! It has to taste something awful, but you know you're doing it to make things better...Shasta will forgive you!!
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244 +3.5=144 tooth pic

Wow, that is an impressive picture, doing all that by yourself. :lol: :lol: I know the dental will help her feel better. Look what it did for KT. :-D Try not to worry, she will do fine. Hugs.
Liz
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244 +3.5=144 tooth pic

oh my....
I'm impressed with you taking that picture.

Good vines continue ... just a couple more days....
try not to worry.... :roll: ( yeah, I know.... why do I even say it? :-D )
 
Re: 8/3 Shasta PMPS=279 +2=244 +3.=144 +4.5=79 +5.5=69 tooth

Thank you, Ella! The AB is liquid form. Oddly enough, she's pretty easy to pill. Catch her when she's laid out on the floor, roll her on to her back, stick your finger in the side of her mouth and in goes the pill. Syringing the liquid is 100x harder. 2mL (2 "dropperfuls") once a day and it's bitter and icky. I tried mixing a little in with some baby food and she HATED it...walked away and now won't even go near baby food without the ABs in it. ohmygod_smile Right now, I'm on her s**t list. :roll: :lol: Oh, and thank you for the links!

Thanks, Chris! And thank you for mentioning the diarrhea side effect. Tonight was the first liqui-poo I think I've ever seen from her and I may have freaked out a lot if I didn't know it was highly likely. As for the vet and the procedure...I know they'll do everything by the book and monitor everything. I just hope that Shasta plays by the book. I'm worried that SHE will throw a wrench in the procedure. nailbite_smile She does like to be a drama queen, sometimes. :roll:

Liz & Rhiannon ~ thank you for appreciating my amazing photography skills! Or skilz, as I should call them! :lol: :lol: And thank you for all the vines, hugs and support. While I did not give birth to her, I feel like this is what having "real" children is like because I will do anything for her...she's my boo! :smile:
 
Happy you remembered to watch for the diarrhea! Yeah, it's kind of a normal side effect of the AB's since they kill the good bacteria as well as the bad. I know a lot of people use FortiFlora probiotic to help add some of that "good bacteria" back into their gut to help with that.

Pumpkin can also help ....or baby food squash (no pumpkin pie mix or added sugar of course)

FortiFlora

Yeah, it sure would be nice if they'd read the manuals wouldn't it? I'd start China on the Lantus Tight Regulation protocol!! :-D
 
Morning Deborah, I'm just catching up on condos, Oh wow on her tooth and amazing you were able to take the pic. Sending many healing vines, and upcoming Vetty vines for Tuesday. I have a hard time pilling Mags, but sounds like you have the opposite with the liquid. We'll all be with you on Tuesday for her dental. Hugs. :YMHUG:
Thanks for all your support and vines for Mags.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top