8/3 Rocky (NS)PMBG 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon everyone,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122817

Yesterday's SS:
(NS) AMBG 59 +14 80 +15.5 73 +17 63 +19.75 66
(NS) PMBG59 +14.5 78 +17 61 +19 69

Well, this is going on day 2 that Rocky has not had his shot. I did not plan it this way, to be the beginning of his OTJ trial. There is still a tiny bit of room left in the syringe for insulin, but I've just got too much to do today to monitor him, and I will be away from home for a few hours this afternoon.

As you can see, his BG is already nearing 50 without having had any insulin since Friday night. That's AFTER eating (2) 5.5oz cans of food yesterday... If I had given him a shot this morning, it would have been so difficult to get him back up because he is just not interested eating when I would like him to eat. His numbers continue to look good. He did eat ALL of his NVIV 0% carbs for the AMPS, but I offered him the Purfect Bistro Chicken 2% at +17, and he would only eat about 1/2 of it. I simply left it in the room for him.

He is feeling chipper and bright, that is for sure! He has been pushing past me and escaping into the rest of the house. This has never happened before. The main reason he is in the bathroom now is because there is still kibble out. The other reason is because I won't be here to do the "cat" introductions, and I want to see who isn't going to get along with him. Last night when I was feeding Rocky, Cinder, my long haired blue russian, came into Rocky's room with her tail in the air. I thought, "Ok, let's do this introduction and see what happens." She walked straight up to him and kissed him on the nose. He loved it! They seemed like they had known each other for a long time.


Thinking and praying for Mariko and Lucy today, and to everyone who needs it, I am sending out the Medicine Buddha's infinitely penetrating rays of warm white healing light that is so dazzling, and so bright, that you can barely keep your eyes open.
 
Re: 8/3 Rocky (NS)AMBG 60 +17 52

i posted this morning on your condo from yesterday. Has Rocky had any insulin shots since the night of August 1st? i can't tell from the spreadsheet.

great to see him looking so happy in green numbers!
 
Re: 8/3 Rocky (NS)AMBG 60 +17 52

No insulin since Frida night. Hmm, is this trial day two then? I'm so happy he is doing so well. The poor guy deserves a break after all he went through before you took him in. He is one lucky kitty.
 
Oh sorry Julie and Elise, yes, Rocky hasn't had a shot since Friday night. He is looking and feeling great. I am just a little worried, however, that I did not get him all the way down to no insulin in the syringe. The situation was that I just have not been able to afford the time to monitor him that closely. I really fear that he will go too low, as well, and that I will not be able to bring his BG back up.

Rocky has gone from being a 'gobbler' to a grazer. haha_smiley
 
Hi there :cool:
Tina & Rocky said:
Oh sorry Julie and Elise, yes, Rocky hasn't had a shot since Friday night. He is looking and feeling great. I am just a little worried, however, that I did not get him all the way down to no insulin in the syringe. The situation was that I just have not been able to afford the time to monitor him that closely. I really fear that he will go to low, as well, and that I will not be able to bring his BG back up.
So....whatcha' got in mind ???
 
I'm not sure Sandy... tomorrow is hectic too, and I've got our first board meeting for Kitty Karma Refuge, my non-profit! :-D I had the great news in mid-July, that we now have our 501c3 status. However, with all of the sadness and suffering I've read about in LL lately, I still haven't felt like announcing it.

I am wondering, if maybe on Tuesday I should start him back on the insulin, even though his numbers look like he doesn't need it? I really wanted to bring him all the way down on it, but I'm super scared that it's going to require some herculean effort to keep him above 50. nailbite_smile

Also, Julie and Sandy, he did finish those meals that I gave to him, and I didn't have to give him the MC or the HC to get him to eat something. It is just taking him longer to eat, he leaves 1/2 of it in his dish, and then he comes back later to eat it now. I'm working out how much I need to feed him now, to him happy and healthy. Are 4% carbs OK to feed him if he won't always eat the 0% or the 2%?

On Tuesday, do you think I should start him on the insulin, again, this time with even a greater, reduced dose? I'm tellin' yah there ain't much left in that syringe..

Oh, when I test tonight, he might be higher because I fed him Friskies Turkey and Giblets for the first time ever, just to see if he likes to eat it. I believe it is 4% carbs and he has been eating only the 0% and the 2% carbs for the past few days.
 
Tina & Rocky said:
I am wondering, if maybe on Tuesday I should start him back on the insulin, even though his numbers look like he doesn't need it? I really wanted to bring him all the way down on it, but I'm super scared that it's going to require some herculean effort to keep him above 50. nailbite_smile
Tough call.

All I can share is our experience, which was intense in the extreme at times.
Unlike the first 19 months of our FD treatment journey the last 2 months was pretty much textbook.
After reaching 1.25u all reductions that followed for BK were taken by virtue of him maintaining normal numbers at that dose for 10-14 days.
There were no longer worrisome lows, nor did there appear any chance of it. I was most concerned with it all holding together.
Reducing without the standard 'dip below xxBG' was very scary

The last half of 2009 found our whole world turned upside down.
I found found a lump in June, which was cancerous. In July I was diagnosed with young onset Parkinsons
In August DBF lost his job as a result of the economic crash
I had surgery for BC on 09/01 and started chemo on 10/6. There was a lot going on.

I held 0.1u for 21 cycles, until the wise ones visited and said 'it's time'. Not shooting was very hard for me.
The last thing I wanted was to do anything that might undermine the process.
And on 10/23 BK, the last cat anyone expected to go OTJ did just that. :cool:

I don't know how it will play out for you and Rocky. I do know you have worked hard and Rocky has come a long long way.
These last 2 weeks are miraculous but when I think of it in in the context of your whole journey It would be nice to see Rocky at 0.01u for a bit, if you can manage.
Nothing to lose really, if he is done with insulin, you will know and the question of 'should I have" will go away.

That's my (totally biased by emotions) $0.02 :cool:

Hopefully others will chime in.

btw - congrats on the 501c3

eta - when I look at BKs ss, going backwards in time, I have to go back 4 months from OTJ to see the last yellow and pink.
On Rockys ss I only have to look back 3 weeks to see yellow, pink and even red,
Those are 3 weeks in a 7 month long journey. That's where I get stuck. Proportion. It feels too recent.
again - my $0.02
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top