8/3 Ozy Dosing?? AMPS-202,+2-182,+6-263,PMPS-275

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101387

Ozy has had 6 cycles at 2.75 fat. As I interpret his numbers, he is due for .25 increase. Please advise. And please explain what you think and why (I am trying to learn to apply the protocol).

I would prefer to wait till morning to change his dose, if appropriate. Please advise.

thanks
donaleen


AMPS- Ozy is almost blue this morning. Hoping this will be a blue day. He feels good this morning and so do I! It was nice to see your sweet encouraging note this morning, Angela. Thank you.

AMPS+2 Down in the blue. I first looked at it upside down; that way it reads 281, gotta be careful of that. But indeed, it is 182. This is his sixth cycle. Will need dosing advice tonight... Unless he goes really low today, I think I should increase the dose by .25.... is that correct? If not, explain why not.

AM+3 Gave bupe...walking hunch backed, not wanting to move much, eyes said pain. Perked up greatly in about a half hour. Played fiercely with me. Ozy bites when he plays...today he got carried away and drew a little scratch of blood. Been a long time since that happened. I haven't missed the biting but at the same time, I am glad to see him feeling that good.

AM+4.5 Back in the yellow. Sleeping peacefully.

AM+6 Still sleeping. Weight 16.8... we just got a scale. At the vet July 3rd, he weighed less than 15 lb, so that is about a 2 lb difference. He WAS dehydrated and he does seem heavier but not THAT much heavier. Must be some difference in scales.

AM+7 Avidly watching the birds and squirrels out the back door.
 
Re: 8/3 Ozy AMPS-202

Would you please add a link to yesterday's condo in your first post? It's good to see the history.
 
Re: 8/3 Ozy AMPS-202

I like hearing that he's feeling well as much as the numbers :smile:
 
Re: 8/3 Ozy AMPS-202

Yay, it's super that Ozy is feeling well this morning. A bit of yellow is a pretty good start, much better than pink & red! Have a nice relaxed Saturday :-D
 
Re: 8/3 Ozy AMPS-202

Thanks, Amy and Carl. He had high numbers yesterday but he felt pretty good for most of the day. It seems like he is most likely to get a bit pancreatitis in the afternoon. Maybe digesting food is hard on his pancreas. As I understand it, the tubes that secrete the pancreas enzymes for digestion leak and the pancreas sort of digests itself. Nasty.

The bupeprenorphine has been a godsend for him and me. It's great to be able to relieve his pain. I spilled part of the bottle last week and that was sad because I spilled pain relief.
 
Re: 8/3 Ozy AMPS-202,+2-182,+4.5-234,+6-263,+9-293

I just took a look at Ozy's SS, and I'm glad to see that you're weighing him. Weight plays a big part of managing diabetes, including insulin, and food. I'm glad to hear that he's feeling much better. May I suggest changing your subject line, or adding something like "Dosing Question" in the beginning of it, and then clicking the "?" next to the "OTJ" so that those with more knowledge can see your condo, and answer your question? Hopefully someone will come by soon to give you some advice. You're going to see these slightly higher #s before he comes down. There's no way to tell how much insulin it'll take for him to start showing you the blues and greens. All you need to do is continue doing what you're doing, and eventually he'll tell you. We've all been where you're at. Boy howdy do I remember those days! :lol: Keep it up, you 2! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Ozy AMPS-202,+2-182,+4.5-234,+6-263,+9-293

Thanks Angela. I wasn't sure if I should use his condo or a new topic... I chose a new topic. Is that correct?
 
Re: 8/3 Ozy AMPS-202,+2-182,+4.5-234,+6-263,+9-293

It's better to put the question in the condo, then everything is together in one place. Could you copy the question here and delete the other post? Ouch on the bite but it is good to see him feeling better. :-D
Liz
 
Here's the scoop on the dose increase...

In most cases, you want to hold the dose for 6 consecutive cycles. You increased Ozy from 2.5u to a fat 2.75 for 2 cycles and then increased to 3.0u for one cycle. You then dropped the dose back to a fat 2.75u for 4 cycles. That one cycle with the 3.0u dose is a "start over" on your cycle count which is why I'm counting 4 cycles and you're counting 6 cycles. I'd hold the dose for another 2 cycles.
 
I can't imagine why you would apply the rules that way in this case. It isn't because his depot isn't full yet. It isn't because he is tapering off. That interpretation seems totally arbitrary and nonsensical. Maybe this protocol is not for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top