8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 PMPS 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
yesterday - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21305

Napoleon earned a decrease the other day from 3.25U BID as he dropped to 40 at +5. Today he was 46 at +7. I dropped him to 3f after that 40 the other day as he has not taken reductions well in the past and I figured I would see how he would do on the 3f. My question is how much should I reduce now? Should I take him down to 3 and see how he does or would it be best to take him to a 2.75f?

Thanks everyone!!
 
Re: 8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 - how much should I decrease?

hey! pretty good!


Do you wanna try to get a +11 before PMPS and post?
 
Re: 8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 - how much should I decrease?

gee you're quick! :lol:

ok, hang tight and we'll see what others suggest.
 
Re: 8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 - how much should I decrease?

Gave 3u tonight as I had not heard any dose advice yet. Just wanted to be safe in case he bounces. I will be here to monitor tonight. Still need advice for tomorrow morning's shot. Thank you :smile:
 
Re: 8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 - how much should I decrease?

congrats on the reduction!

It looks like skinnying the dose worked pretty well last time, so it's worth a try again this time.
 
Re: 8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 - how much should I decrease?

Just saw this Nicole and sooooo happy for you and Napolean. :mrgreen:
I still think of you and all the attempts we made at pz-island. this is really lookin good!
Lori and Tom
 
Re: 8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 - how much should I decrease?

I just saw your note -- just got home! 3.0u seems very reasonable. Good luck with the reduction!!

If you are concerned about dose reductions not holding, there is another strategy that you may want to consider.
Tight Regulation Protocol/Tilly said:
...if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

See how Napoleon does with this reduction. You can always try the '3 times below 50' approach if you are concerned about a new dose holding.
 
Re: 8/3 Napoleon AMPS 337 + 7 - 46 - how much should I decrease?

Lori - thank you for checking up on us. You were so wonderful to us over there and got me through some rough patches most definitely.
I do think we finally found the insulin for us. Napoleon is doing great, even when he has higher numbers he is so much better. No more clinical symptoms. He is jumping up my walls again - if you can imagine he literally jumps up my walls after sprinting around the house. I can see the life back in his eyes again. I can say that even though we had a rough time with the PZI, it led us here and I am thankful for that :YMHUG:
 
dancing_cat and bcatrun_gif yes that is a great site to see when kitty is feeling better.
you've worked so hard to get him there so pzi or lantus, napolean could'nt of had a better mommie. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top