8/3 Merlin PMPS 221, 214@+1, 202@+2, 155@+3, 126@+4, 94@+5

The food was Almo Nature salmon and it's fine during emergencies when he won't eat.
upload_2022-6-14_15-7-22.jpg


If there is no improvement and Merlin does go to the vets then i would have thought they will do a full blood test but also ask for a pancreatitis test just in case he might be having a flare as diabetic cats are prone to pancreatitis.
Hopefully Merlins fine but it's worth checking and ruling out.
Duke's vet said before he was diagnosed that he didn't show the classic symptoms and said it would be a waste of money to do the test but we had it done anyway and it was confirmed.
Also i would ask the vet for some Mirtazapine (appetite stimulant) and Omeprazole (antacid), we cannot be without these when Duke has a flare and isn't eating.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-14_15-7-22.jpg
    upload_2022-6-14_15-7-22.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 342
Last edited:
The food was Almo Nature salmon and it's fine during emergencies when he won't eat.
View attachment 65062

If there is no improvement and Merlin does go to the vets then i would have thought they will do a full blood test but also ask for a pancreatitis test just in case he might be having a flare as diabetic cats are prone to pancreatitis.
Hopefully Merlins fine but it's worth checking and ruling out.
Duke's vet said before he was diagnosed that he didn't show the classic symptoms and said it would be a waste of money to do the test but we had it done anyway and it was confirmed.
Also i would ask the vet for some Mirtazapine (appetite stimulant) and Omeprazole (antacid), we cannot be without these when Duke has a flare and isn't eating.
Thank you, Tee. I will make a note of all of these things. I dont know, if he eats tonight, if we should keep the appointment, as its the locum vet (the real one is on holiday, of course) and its at 1030 when Merlin would need lots of boosting for his cycle. I dont know how to coordinate vet visits with an insulin cycle at all!
 
Thank you, Tee. I will make a note of all of these things. I dont know, if he eats tonight, if we should keep the appointment, as its the locum vet (the real one is on holiday, of course) and its at 1030 when Merlin would need lots of boosting for his cycle. I dont know how to coordinate vet visits with an insulin cycle at all!
If he's not eating or messing about then it's probably a good idea to get him checked over and get the blood tests etc done plus you can get the meds while you are there as i don't think they will prescribe them without seeing him.
Are you fairly near to the vets?
We always take Duke to the vets at teatime when he's safe and not getting tested, unless it's an emergency then we take him asap.
 
If he's not eating or messing about then it's probably a good idea to get him checked over and get the blood tests etc done plus you can get the meds while you are there as i don't think they will prescribe them without seeing him.
Are you fairly near to the vets?
We always take Duke to the vets at teatime when he's safe and not getting tested, unless it's an emergency then we take him asap.
That’s the trouble, Tee. Right now we are testing and feeding every half hour for four hours! If we don’t, he will drop too low. We have been getting 3-5.5 hours of sleep every night for as long as we can remember. I don’t think we can take him to the vet (20 minute drive) during the dropping time, which is til 1 or 2pm… so if it’s not a big issue tomorrow, we will have to reschedule. Hoping he eats tonight, and, if so, that he will eat more during the cycle. This dose has been absolutely insane, and now he’s not eating. At wit’s end here.
 
If you do need to go to the vets in the morning you would probably only miss one test at +1.5 where he's always been in safe numbers and be back home for about +2 if things run on time.
You could if you want test him at the vets as well to see how he's doing.
Did you manage to get some Almo Nature salmon for Merlin.
 
So I called the vet to see if they have any later appointments. Here’s the thing: you have to schedule any blood work for 10:30 am and leave the cat all day! You pick them up in the evening. What the heck??? That is the only way they can do any blood tests. I am floored. I have no other choice of vet here. So I rescheduled to just “see” a vet in the evening tomorrow. He can’t do any blood work. Is this typical?? That’s what they had booked us in for tomorrow morning. I cancelled that part.
 
Shoot time is coming, and I am so scared. More scared than ever. I am afraid that, if I do get him to eat dinner, he might not eat the snacks that he requires so often not to drop. I am afraid that those snacks might stop working, like last night. I am also afraid that he wont eat dinner and we cant shoot and he will get way too high. I am a wreck.
 
So I called the vet to see if they have any later appointments. Here’s the thing: you have to schedule any blood work for 10:30 am and leave the cat all day! You pick them up in the evening. What the heck??? That is the only way they can do any blood tests. I am floored. I have no other choice of vet here. So I rescheduled to just “see” a vet in the evening tomorrow. He can’t do any blood work. Is this typical?? That’s what they had booked us in for tomorrow morning. I cancelled that part.

Crazy. Never heard anything so ridiculous. Too tired to say more right now and that’s not a helpful observation anyway. But it is stupid.
 
Shoot time is coming, and I am so scared. More scared than ever. I am afraid that, if I do get him to eat dinner, he might not eat the snacks that he requires so often not to drop. I am afraid that those snacks might stop working, like last night. I am also afraid that he wont eat dinner and we cant shoot and he will get way too high. I am a wreck.
He’s solidly in yellow right now and most likely will climb higher without insulin. Is he eating dinner? That’s what I most want to know right now. How does he seem now?
 
Hoping decides he likes what's on the menu for dinner tonight.
If he doesnt eat, we cant shoot tonight either.
Not true. Even cats that cannot eat because they are undergoing anaesthesia can get a half shot. Just putting that out there cause I don't want people to think no food = no shot. Insulin does more than counter the carbs in his food. It helps feed his body.
 
Hoping decides he likes what's on the menu for dinner tonight.

Not true. Even cats that cannot eat because they are undergoing anaesthesia can get a half shot. Just putting that out there cause I don't want people to think no food = no shot. Insulin does more than counter the carbs in his food. It helps feed his body.
Good point Wendy makes. That's why I'm happy you shot -- plus I don't want you to lose ground with Merlin after all of your hard work (that is a euphemism if ever there was one!)
 
Back
Top