8/3 Merlin PMPS 221, 214@+1, 202@+2, 155@+3, 126@+4, 94@+5

@Bandit's Mom
I had a situation last night where MC and HC stopped working to control Merlin. Nothing, or very little would happen when I fed him 15, 30 or 28. He was in green and stayed pretty much the same, if not dropping, even 45 minutes after feeding. I cant shoot the full dose, if any, if I cant control him with carbs. I noticed this yesterday morning as will as I fed him 9.8 at +4 and +4.5. Here is a photo of my notes from last night.
 
upload_2022-8-3_8-30-16.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-3_8-30-16.jpeg
    upload_2022-8-3_8-30-16.jpeg
    86.9 KB · Views: 236
I had a situation last night where MC and HC stopped working to control Merlin. Nothing, or very little would happen when I fed him 15, 30 or 28. He was in green and stayed pretty much the same, if not dropping, even 45 minutes after feeding.
This can happen when the depot is overfull or when they are racing down the dosing ladder. Sometimes a skip or a token shot can help drain the depot.

I presume he has no history of ketones? How long till the shot is due and do you have any tests this morning?
 
This can happen when the depot is overfull or when they are racing down the dosing ladder. Sometimes a skip or a token shot can help drain the depot.

I presume he has no history of ketones? How long till the shot is due and do you have any tests this morning?
No ketones. Half an hour til the shot is due. I will do a test now.
 
OK. Test now and again in 30 mins and let's take a call. It will take 4 cycles for the depot to adjust to 0.75U. So yesterday it was still the 1U depot at work.
That’s his lowest ps ever. OK I will test at 9:00, in half an hour. I am not comfortable at all shooting this morning, even if he goes a little higher. So I may still have to wait it out tonight, for the 1 unit reservoir to empty?
 
Wow. The needle has barely moved. OK. Let's see the AMPS in 30 mins.

You could look at a token shot of 0.25U to drain the depot if he is still in the 70s. Or if you are up for it, shoot the full dose and feed higher carbs from the get-go.
Definitely not up for a full dose. 3 and a half hours of sleep two nights in a row on top of the usual 6 hours. I might think of doing the .25 tonight and nothing this morning.
 
So I may still have to wait it out tonight, for the 1 unit reservoir to empty?
Yes. This AM would still be the 1U depot. Tonight the depot would adjust to 0.75U, if you shoot 0.75U this morning. If you shoot a token or skip the shot, the depot gets disrupted and will take 4-6 cycles to rebuild. We have used tokens and skips to deal with an overfull depot.

Definitely not up for a full dose. 3 and a half hours of sleep two nights in a row on top of the usual 6 hours. I might think of doing the .25 tonight and nothing this morning.
OK :) You need to take care of yourself to be able to take care of him.
 
I would shoot at least a token of 0.25u but if you aren't comfortable then skip the shot. You hold the syringe so the decision is yours :-)
 
Bhooma, I cant do this again. I know it would be a smaller dose, but I dont understand, if his depot is still 1 unit, why it would be any different than last night.
 
Whether you skip or shoot a token dose, the depot could influence the first part of the cycle. If he bounces from here, he will be higher even on a full dose. One cannot predict what will happen with certainty.

Skip the shot if that's what you're comfortable with. You need a break.
 
Whether you skip or shoot a token dose, the depot could influence the first part of the cycle. If he bounces from here, he will be higher even on a full dose. One cannot predict what will happen with certainty.

Skip the shot if that's what you're comfortable with. You need a break.
Ok. We are skipping the shot. It will be the first skip since March 26. Feels weird, and I dont know what we will do tonight. But he needs to calm down a little. Thanks, Bhooma.
 
Hello everyone. I just got up from a long nap and discovered that Merlin is not eating. DH tried to give him a bowl of two different foods and he refused them. I just gave him a spoonful and he licked the water off. Last night it was hard to get him to eat his dinner (which can be related to pickiness these days) but then it was a struggle to get him to take spoons of food throughout the cycle. He doesnt look like he’s feeling well. I probably need to make a vet appointment. If he doesnt eat, we cant shoot tonight either. Is this to do with being in green for so long? Is it insulin related? Or is it something else? Any thoughts?
 
I just made an appointment with the vet for 1030 tomorrow morning. But that is after two more insulin doses. They cant get him in before then. And the usual vet is on holiday.:( So… I will try to get him to eat small bits of things today. Maybe he will come around by dinner time?
 
I just made an appointment with the vet for 1030 tomorrow morning. But that is after two more insulin doses. They cant get him in before then. And the usual vet is on holiday.:( So… I will try to get him to eat small bits of things today. Maybe he will come around by dinner time?
Sending positive vibes to you and Merlin. :bighug:
 
I'm hoping fingers crossed it could be that he's just not hungry yet Jill as he ate quite a lot yesterday plus he ate some high carb food last night and that will have filled him up for a bit longer.
What was the high carb food you gave him, was it Webbox or just normal food?
Did he eat anything this morning for breakfast?
 
I'm hoping fingers crossed it could be that he's just not hungry yet Jill as he ate quite a lot yesterday plus he ate some high carb food last night and that will have filled him up for a bit longer.
What was the high carb food you gave him, was it Webbox or just normal food?
Did he eat anything this morning for breakfast?
Hi Tee. He ate Fancy Feast florentine I brought from the US, Felix original (30) and Gourmet Gold chunks in gravy (28.6). Thing is, though, he wasn’t really into eating his supper, and hasn’t been really for a few days. And those snacks last night we had to sprinkle with Parmesan and really convince him to eat them. Ivy has just come down the stairs saying he ate a teaspoon of Little Big Paw (1.4) sprinkled with Parmesan. So that’s a start…
 
Hello everyone. I just got up from a long nap and discovered that Merlin is not eating. DH tried to give him a bowl of two different foods and he refused them. I just gave him a spoonful and he licked the water off. Last night it was hard to get him to eat his dinner (which can be related to pickiness these days) but then it was a struggle to get him to take spoons of food throughout the cycle. He doesnt look like he’s feeling well. I probably need to make a vet appointment. If he doesnt eat, we cant shoot tonight either. Is this to do with being in green for so long? Is it insulin related? Or is it something else? Any thoughts?
Did you test his BG?
 
Ok. I see the 169. I hope Merlin perks up and gets back to his normal self. Maybe he just needs a bush day. It is not going to be good to go off of insulin although for several cycles, but of course we need him to eat something. Any chance he ate something that could have upset his tummy when he was out in his enclosure? Or even inside? How is his water consumption? Has he used the litter box today that you have seen?
 
Ok. I see the 169. I hope Merlin perks up and gets back to his normal self. Maybe he just needs a bush day. It is not going to be good to go off of insulin although for several cycles, but of course we need him to eat something. Any chance he ate something that could have upset his tummy when he was out in his enclosure? Or even inside? How is his water consumption? Has he used the litter box today that you have seen?
He peed this morning and I tested for ketones. Hasn’t pooped yet. He just came down the stairs from his bed and is squawking around. Thats a good sign.
 
No he ate nothing for breakfast. Walked away from two bowls. He’s had about 2 and a half spoons now of food and some cheddar cheese. He is eating the 1.9 as we speak. (I included that in his count)
Actually, he ate only half of that. So he’s had 15g of food and some cheese and two licks off the top of a couple of things.
 
No he ate nothing for breakfast. Walked away from two bowls. He’s had about 2 and a half spoons now of food and some cheddar cheese. He is eating the 1.9 as we speak. (I included that in his count)
Let's hope he eats his supper, many times we have to try and coax Duke with sometimes 5/6 different types of food when he's off it just so's that he eats enough so's we can give him his insulin.
 
Let's hope he eats his supper, many times we have to try and coax Duke with sometimes 5/6 different types of food when he's off it just so's that he eats enough so's we can give him his insulin.
Tee, what is the bare minimum amount he should have for supper? I have struggled lately to get him to eat enough, but I dont have a solid idea what enough is.
 
That's a tough one Jill, i would say at least 70/80g if you can. Remember the trouble you had before when you used to feed him less at pre shot.
If Duke refuses his full meal i will reduce his dose just to be safe, but Duke's on Prozinc and it's totally different to Lantus.
 
That's a tough one Jill, i would say at least 70/80g if you can. Remember the trouble you had before when you used to feed him less at pre shot.
If Duke refuses his full meal i will reduce his dose just to be safe, but Duke's on Prozinc and it's totally different to Lantus.
Yes, that’s what I thought. He would like to stop at 60, 20 of three different kinds. And that is still pushing it. He will usually have extra in the garden, but not if it’s raining or there is any distraction at all. I was trying to find our conversation about Alma, which he absolutely loved. I know it’s not a complete food, but I might get some for emergencies, like tonight might be. I couldnt find the kind I told you he loved. Oh well, its me in the cat food aisle with the tiny little numbers on the boxes and on the carb calculator website. All of the ones you sent are too low for him right now, sadly. He tried one as a surfing meal, but didnt like it:( We will press on with sampling though.
 
Back
Top