8/3 Mazi AMPS 95 +5.5 95 PMPS 92 +3 97

Mazi's Mom

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-14-24-mazi-amps-117-3-5-84-5-5-82.292151/

@Wendy&Neko

Sorry for my absence, transitioning to my new role at work and working 13 hour days have been exhausting. Not to mention, my work schedule is inconsistent and will be till October till I'm off my RN orientation.

However, I hope to post more as I become more acclimated to my new role. I just wanted to check in and reach out because I made a change in Mazi's dose and wanted to get your opinion.

Mazi's nadirs were averaging in the 80's, with occasional high 70's, so I bumped him from 1.25U to 1.5U. I made the decision to increase based off his nadirs. My goal is to get his nadirs in the 60's. I dont think im comfortable yet with Nadirs in the 50's without me getting worried, atleast till I'm used to him being in the 60s.

Additionally, You'll see that with the 1.25U he was coasting in the greens for majority of the day and You'll notice he was getting more green preshot numbers in the AM. For some reason unknown to me he tends to have higher PM preshot numbers.

Also just wanted to mention, because I'm working long work days and staying up late to get Mazis +4, im only getting about 5.5 hours of sleep a night, so I've been waking up with just enough time to check, feed, and get myself ready for work. So I haven't been getting a +1 on him. However, I'm planning on getting better at +1 checks soon.

Lunches have been being given a little last in his cycle bc he seems to be having his nadirs later in his cycle. Lunches were previously given at +3. Now he is recieving them at +4/5.

Other than that, Mazi has been doing great! Shots are going good and he is attached to me once I get home frome work.

Thoughts on dose change? Thoughts on his recent cycles?

I started my new job on 7/15, so thats when the changes began.

Thanks Wendy!
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko

You'll also see on two days i dropped him down to 1U in the AM cycle. Thats was because that was his first time showing some green preshots in quite some time and with me not being home to test, I chickened out and only gave 1U.

That has changed now. Now im more comfortable with green preshots.
 
Time will tell if 1.5 units is his magic dose. The depot hasn't build yet, so hard to say.

No need to push for nadirs in the 60's, below 80 is nice too. If he goes solid green with nadirs a little higher, then you don't need to keep increasing. Like most of us, I suspect you don't know wht Mazi normal BG was before he was diagnosed diabetic.

Most important of all, how is Mazi feeling/acting these days?
 
Great advice Wendy, as always!

Mazi has been doing great. He takes his shots like a trooper. Appetite has been good.

As of today I've officially switched him over to 0% carb All Natural Fancy Feast compared to his 3 to 6% Friskies. Now that I can afford the Fancy Feast. His cholesterol was high on his past two blood tests so the All Natural FF is only 20 to 30% fat compared to Friskies 50 to 60+% fat. Prolly not the best time to lower his carb diet and increase his dose at the same time, but with his nadirs being in the mostly in the 80s, I think he has some safe room (fingers crossed).

He has his brother, Bentley, to keep him company while me and the boyfriend are gone to work. Plus my dad has been stopping over in the morning to late morning to feed the cats their lunch and just keep an eye on Mazi....I keep a list of hypoglycemic symptoms on the refrigerator and I highlighted the ones that Mazi had shown when he had that hypoglycemic Episode. Most likely if he would go low agai he would present with the same symptoms. The episode was when the vet told me it was okay to not check his sugar for 2 days while I waited on the alpha track to be delivered after being discharged for his DKA and DM diagnosis.

Hes also glued to me when I come home from work and I love it.

In 2020 when he went into to have his teeth examined for extractions his BG was 143.

In 2021 when he had his first pancreatitis flare up his BG was 118.

In 2021 for his 2 week follow up from his 1st pancreatitis his BG was 98.

I hope the gives you some insight to see what his BGs were previous diagnosis.

I know, prolly not enough data to make a for sure estimate. But if I had to guess, possibly 80/70's while considering stress, infection, and inflammation at the time those readings were taken.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Some reading for you, zero carb is not always the best:
Pancreatitis and infection/inflammation (bad teeth) can cause insulin resistance, so not the best reference points for blood sugars.

Higher cholesterol are not uncommon for newly diagnosed diabetics. Neko's went down over time as she got better regulated. Hopefully Mazi's will too.
 
Back
Top