8/3 Mandarin AMPS 260, +3 267, +7 341, PMPS 288 / Walter AMPS 259, +3 234, +7 161, +9 183, PMPS 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Thank you so much for all of the vines, well-wishes and prayers - I am finally starting to feel like my normal self again. :joyful: ...and while the pups are thrilled that they at least got a short walk this morning, the cats are a bit disappointed that their bean is no longer laying around with them all day. I don't think I have felt this crappy in years and I for sure have never slept so much.

It actually felt good to clean the house this morning - to my surprise, there still are hardwood floors under the carpet of dog and cat hair that I vacuumed up. :eek: With four big hairy dogs, not vacuuming for 5 days is not pretty, that's for sure.

The furry crew managed to get by without my constant supervision... even though Mandarin and Walter's BG suffered and both of them ended up with skipped shots. Mandarin is back to being my sweet little boy and has forgiven me for the dental trauma. Walter earned himself a reduction... and after the BCS yesterday, his depot is starting to fill up again and I hope that he will start to head down sometime soon.

In response to some of the questions from yesterday's condo:

Question for when you're feeling better: How are the kits? Are they gaining weight? I remember a little while ago you said they were still tiny. I wonder if they got more calories (MC or HC) more often if they'd gain weight? Don't know if that's the right approach though.

Ivy (the little Maine Coon) and Fern (black and white) are doing fantastic! Ivy is huge for her age and growing like weed. She started out as the smallest kitten and is now the second biggest. She is a picture of health, still loves to talk, play in the water fountain and wrestle with her foster siblings.

Fern, who had her eye removed at only 7 weeks of age, is turning into a lanky teenage kitten. She is probably getting close to 4 months (she is quite a bit older than the other three) and looks and feels great. No concerns since she her surgery.

Flora (black) and Iris (Siamese) are both having a tough time. Flora continues to have frequents bouts of diarrhea. She does well for a week and then, all of a sudden, she goes back to having liquid diarrhea. She has now had three fecals (none of them found anything wrong), has been dewormed multiple times and has been on probiotics for weeks. I took her back to the vet today because she is once again losing weight and they started her on Metronidazole. Not something I wanted to do to a tiny 2-pound kitten, but they are running out of ideas. If this doesn't work, we will run bloodwork (even though that will probably also prove difficult since she is so tiny). The other option is a homemade diet to eliminate food allergies.

Iris is still incredibly congested and is starting to gasp for air. She has now been on three rounds of antibiotics (Clindamycin, Clavamox and Zithromax) and an antiviral and none of them have made a difference at all. The vet started her on Doxycycline today, but if she doesn't show improvement in 3 days, they will do more diagnostics. One concern is that there might be a polyp. She is also on Lysine, a tiny dose of Zyrtec, and probiotics. Amazingly enough, her stool is entirely normal... despite all of those antibiotics.

So, to come back to the original question: I am trying to offer the two little ones canned food every hour or two, but neither one of them is eating enough. I also just got a tube of Nutrical and I am adding that to their food. The problem is that my two diabetics really need to lose weight (Mandarin has gained 2 pounds over the last few months :eek:) and that they are pretty obsessed with food. So unless I am actively supervising (and pushing the chubby boys out of the way), I can't leave food out. But I think the bottom line is that we have to figure out Flora and Iris's health issues first.

Sorry about the super long post... it feels like I haven't been on here in forever. ...and I am looking forward to visiting some other condos today - lots of catching up to do!
 
I am so happy you are feeling better!!!

Sending healing vines to Flora and Iris. :bighug:

Love the report on Ivy and Fern. :cat:

I am happy Mandarin is feeling better and forgiven you.

Work your reduction Walter!
 
So glad you're feeling human again! And that Mandarin is back to his sweet self after the horrible indignity of a dental. Walter, behave today. Mama bean has her hands full.

Sorry to hear Flora and Iris are still having a rough time. You said Flora has been on probiotics. Is she getting S. Boulardii as one of the probiotic strains? There are some limited ingredient foods that are on the market for food allergies if you don't want to go to a homemade diet. Poor Iris! Gasping for air is no fun. I hope she improves with the Doxy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy you're feeling better! Mandarin and Walter will get back on track; the important thing was to keep them safe when you were unwell and not able to monitor constantly.
I have nothing to suggest re the babies' various problems; I just hope that they are feeling better soon!
 
You said Flora has been on probiotics. Is she getting S. Boulardii as one of the probiotic strains?

Hm, no, I don't think so. She is currently on Renew Life Ultimate Flora and I don't see that listed on there. Do you know which probiotic would have S. Boulardii?
 
I'm so glad you're feeling better..that is most important. Happy Mandarin is coming around and feeling better...his BG's will follow now:) Walter is testing the waters again already! It kills me that I can't have Ivy :( Sending tons of vines and prayers for little Flora and Iris...too young for issues. Happy to hear Fern is doing well!
 
Hm, no, I don't think so. She is currently on Renew Life Ultimate Flora and I don't see that listed on there. Do you know which probiotic would have S. Boulardii?
Hey Christine, when Bubba was so sick the end of June, I got him started on Florastor brand (S. Boulardii ) I got from CVS. It was a bit pricey. ( about 54 bucks for 90) The Therapeutic dose was 1/2 capsule 2 X day. The Florastor could be sprinkled right into his food without any detection. I don't know what the dose for a little kitten would be. After symptoms disappeared, I did a maintnence dose of 1/4 capsule twice a day. I did that for about 2 weeks beyond the diarrhea. It worked wonderfully.

There is another brand called Jarrow and it is much more affordable ( about 17 buck a bottle ) but it has something in it called MOS (MannanOligoSaccharides) MOS, is an oligosaccharide from the cell walls of S. cerevisiae that can discourage bacteria from adhering to the epithelial cells and reduce their proliferation. It is very bitter and needs to be put into a gel cap. So the Florastor was almost worth it to me to not have to fight him pushing a cap down his throat.

Have you tried Slippery Elm Bark ( SEB) I used that also along with the Florastor and the two were like a miracle. I sprinkled the SEB in the food too but you can't put it within two hours of other meds as it inhibits absorption. The dose is 1/4 tsp sprinkled into food or you can make a slurry but I did not do that. After symtoms disspear you would continue it for a minimum of 3 days. Again, I do not know the dose for a kitten but I think Marje weighed in on that and told you but I don't remember what it was.

I sure hope Flora and Iris get better ASAP. I did not know that Fern had her eye removed. Was it an infection or injury?
 
I'm so glad you're feeling better, Christina. We were all concerned. The boys will get back on track soon, now that Mama's back in charge!

I guess 50% good news is better than nothing, but I wish Flora and Iris were doing better. Have you tried a steam bath for Iris? I used to take Sasha in the bathroom and close the door (and put a towel at the bottom). I'd run the shower as hot as it could go until the room filled up with steam and sat there with her for 15-20 minutes. If she's congested, that should help.

Sending healing vines for you and the two wee babies, and scritches to the rest of the crew.
 
Hey Christine, when Bubba was so sick the end of June, I got him started on Florastor brand (S. Boulardii ) I got from CVS. It was a bit pricey. ( about 54 bucks for 90) The Therapeutic dose was 1/2 capsule 2 X day. The Florastor could be sprinkled right into his food without any detection. I don't know what the dose for a little kitten would be. After symptoms disappeared, I did a maintnence dose of 1/4 capsule twice a day. I did that for about 2 weeks beyond the diarrhea. It worked wonderfully.

There is another brand called Jarrow and it is much more affordable ( about 17 buck a bottle ) but it has something in it called MOS (MannanOligoSaccharides) MOS, is an oligosaccharide from the cell walls of S. cerevisiae that can discourage bacteria from adhering to the epithelial cells and reduce their proliferation. It is very bitter and needs to be put into a gel cap. So the Florastor was almost worth it to me to not have to fight him pushing a cap down his throat.

Have you tried Slippery Elm Bark ( SEB) I used that also along with the Florastor and the two were like a miracle. I sprinkled the SEB in the food too but you can't put it within two hours of other meds as it inhibits absorption. The dose is 1/4 tsp sprinkled into food or you can make a slurry but I did not do that. After symtoms disspear you would continue it for a minimum of 3 days. Again, I do not know the dose for a kitten but I think Marje weighed in on that and told you but I don't remember what it was.

I sure hope Flora and Iris get better ASAP. I did not know that Fern had her eye removed. Was it an infection or injury?

I will look for the Florastor - not having to shove anything down her poor little throat will for sure be worth it... and there's no way I could do a gel cap on a kitten her size. I have talked about SEB with the vet. She is generally a big fan of SEB and recommends if frequently, but she has never used it on a kitten and has never heard of anyone recommending it for a kitten that small. So she was leery of trying it on Flora.

Fern's eye had already ruptured before she was dumped at the shelter, probably from infection that was left untreated for too long. I can't even imagine how much pain the little girl was in... but she had it removed a few days after we took her in. It has healed very nicely and you would never know that she is one-eyed, she plays just as rough as her siblings and jumps higher than anyone else.
 
Have you tried a steam bath for Iris? I used to take Sasha in the bathroom and close the door (and put a towel at the bottom). I'd run the shower as hot as it could go until the room filled up with steam and sat there with her for 15-20 minutes. If she's congested, that should help.

That's a great idea! I have not tried that yet... and it's nice and non-invasive and doesn't involve nasty tasting pills or liquids. I will try that tomorrow.
 
I will look for the Florastor - not having to shove anything down her poor little throat will for sure be worth it... and there's no way I could do a gel cap on a kitten her size. I have talked about SEB with the vet. She is generally a big fan of SEB and recommends if frequently, but she has never used it on a kitten and has never heard of anyone recommending it for a kitten that small. So she was leery of trying it on Flora.

Fern's eye had already ruptured before she was dumped at the shelter, probably from infection that was left untreated for too long. I can't even imagine how much pain the little girl was in... but she had it removed a few days after we took her in. It has healed very nicely and you would never know that she is one-eyed, she plays just as rough as her siblings and jumps higher than anyone else.
Good luck with the Florastor and I hope it helps!

Poor little Fern, I am sure that was quite painful before the removal.
 
Hm, no, I don't think so. She is currently on Renew Life Ultimate Flora and I don't see that listed on there. Do you know which probiotic would have S. Boulardii?
What @Bobbie And Bubba said! ;) Sorry, just seeing this now. S. Boulardii works wonders for both humans and cats with digestive issues. Hopefully it will help little Flora. And I love SEB too, but I have no idea what the dose of either SEB or S. Boulardii would be for kittens... I take Klaire brand of S. Boulardii myself as a regular probiotic (about $30 a bottle from Amazon) but I don't know what the other ingredients are. Florastor would be worth it since it has no other questionable ingredients and you wouldn't have to pill Flora. And hopefully the steam bath will help Iris a bit too. You have your hands full!:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top