8/3 Lovey Diarrhea and Vomiting? AMPS 336

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone. Lovey has had some diarrhea since Friday night. I have been giving her pumpkin and flortiflora. She vomited twice as well. there was some hair in the vomit but not the big roll of hair like usual. My vet isn't in till Monday. I think that possibly hairballs could be causing the issue but I don't know.

She was eating, but this morning she only ate a bit of her food so I haven't given her shot. Maybe I can give her a reduce shot? I am deciding if I should take her to the emergency vet. The emergency vet is expensive but if needed. I will get some baby food and chicken to boil.
 
If she's not eating very much and you think she may not eat today, you may want to skip the shot. It's better to be safe. You can't bring her numbers up if she won't eat. If they are trying to bring up a hairball, they can have vomit without the hair until they get it up. Did she vomit on Friday or yesterday?
 
If she's been vomiting all weekend and having diarrhea, I would consider taking her to the ER. She could get dehydrated. If the vomit was only Friday, she may be okay until tomorrow as long as you can get her to eat some today.
 
I hope you can get her to eat. It sounds like her tummy is upset. Sending tummy settling vines to Lovey.

I go to the ER for peace of mind sometimes, but I think I would first try some small meals of different flavors and see if you can get her a little.

You're checking for ketones, right?
 
Thank you so much Dyana and Carla for your quick response. She vomited on Saturday and this morning. She has had diarrhea since Friday night.

She ate normally until this morning. She only ate a teaspoon or two this morning, but she just went back to her food and ate more. She ate 3/4 of her normal amount. It does seem like her tummy is upset. She usually tries to eat as much as possible and asks for more. I gave about 1/2 of her insulin dose before since she was high. I also gave her a few hairball treats.

I will get more strips and check her for ketones today. I do check periodically, but I haven't since beginning of July. Thanks for the reminder Dyana.
 
I'm glad she is eating for you this morning. I would just keep an eye on her today and if she's still not better tomorrow try and get her in to see your regular vet. Hopefully her tummy will settle down soon.
 
Catherine:

My usual course of action is to do what you've been doing -- give FortiFlora. It can take a day or two to start to work.

You could try giving Lovey 1/4 of a Pepsid AC tablet (i.e., 2.5mg) for the vomiting. However, if the vomiting is more than once or twice a day, it's a vet visit. Persistent vomiting could mean Lovey ingested something she shouldn't have.

The other thing to try is baby food. If Lovey's tummy is sensitive, baby food is easy to digest. Look for food that's just broth and protein.
 
So sorry Lovey isn't feeling well. Gerber's baby food is my go to food when Max won't eat. If he turns that down too I know something is really wrong. I know I sound like the commercial for it but has Lovey ever had pancreatitis? She sounds nauseous and will likely not eat. I always have ondansetron on hand for it. I'd go to the vet if she vomits again today as I worry about dehydration. I hope by now she has eaten something.
 
Thank you so much Sienne and Elise for the information. She did eat although it took her longer. She ate about 3/4 of her usual amount this morning. I decided to feed her just a little bit at a time after that. She ate a little more of the weruva Paw Licken chicken. I am just giving her a tsp at a time. She was looking to eat when I get home.

I bought some baby food. I should keep it in the house from now on. She vomited about 7 or 8 hours ago. If she vomits again, I can take her to the ER.

Thanks for the Pepcid AC. I haven't pilled Lovey before. She has to swallow the pill or do you crush it?

Do I place it in the back of her mouth and then rub her throat. That's the way I used to pill a cat years ago that I sat for.
 
I usually wrap a piece of pill pocket around the 1/4 tablet of Pepcid, and put it as far as I can to the back of J.D.'s throat. He is used to pilling. You might want to follow with a bit of treat, food, or water to make sure it goes down.
 
Pepcid is very bitter. I used pill pockets for them with Tiffany and thought I had found gold. Then she tasted the pepcid once. She would never eat a pill pocket again, even without meds in them. That is when I switched to gel capsules because they hide the taste and don't get mushy if they come out. I also used a pill gun that I bought at Entirely Pets that made it easier to get the pill in the right spot. I don't like the ones where you also put water because I worry they could aspirate. I just chase the pill with baby food. I hope you never need to resort to these tactics and that whatever is bothering her disappears as quickly as they came.
 
Oh, poor Lovey. Tummy upsets are no fun. If you decide to do the Pepcid, make sure it's the regular strength with no added stuff. I, too had a bad experience with it in a pill pocket when the kitty tasted it. If you don't have gel caps, I'd try opening her mouth and tossing the pill as far back as you can, then hold her mouth closed and massage her throat. It's hard the first few times you try to do it. Good luck.

It's a good sign that she wants to eat, and if she's kept down what she's eating since she vomited, she may have gotten rid of whatever it was that upset her tummy. Is she drinking water?

Sending good tummy vines.
 
I was gone for the afternoon and now that I am back am checking in to see how Lovey is doing. I hope all is well. Please post when you can.
 
Thanks so much Elise for checking. Lovey hasn't vomited in about 24 hours. She ate well yesterday but more slowly and was looking for food in the afternoon. She still has the diarrhea. She keeps going little amounts of liquidy diarrhea this morning. Unfortunately today she did not want to eat this morning. She did eat a couple of teaspoons of baby food and I gave a reduced shot. I will give a call to my regular vet and make an appointment for today and try to get the Pepcid capsules. I have Lovey in God's hands right now. She did have pancreatitis when first diagnosed based on the numbers from the lipase test and an x-ray.

I took her to the ER vet Sunday late in the afternoon. She tested for ketones. She was negative and she didn't have a fever. They wanted to do bloodwork but I declined and would follow up with my regular vet. They also gave her cerenia because I said that she probably was nauseous. She ate well last night.
 
Sending good vetty vines and feel better prayers for sweet Lovey. We use the gelcaps with Trix, too, and they do help tremendously with pilling. I don't use a pill gun, but I do put a little bit of butter on the capsule to make it slipper (mainly so it doesn't stick to my finger), and I follow up with a little bit of water to make sure it washes all the way down.
 
Lipase numbers are not an indicator of pancreatitis in cats like it is in dogs and it can't be diagnosed via x-ray either. The only ways that I know of to diagnose it is ultrasound and the fPL blood test or the one that they use at Texas A & M. There is an IDEXX Round Table Discussion article that explains it really well. I'll look for the link and PM it to you. I hope she is improving.
 
Thank you so much Elise for thinking of me. I meant to say lipase test and ultrasound. I have heard that the lipase test isn't accurate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top