? 8/3 Lisa PMPS 209 +3 104 needed help,!!!!

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-1-lisa-pmps-61.250723/

Lisa is on 47!!
We reduced 3 cycles ago but the old dose is maybe still affecting her too!
I am scared! please help me through it!
Looks like you got her over 50 with HC and honey. Keep feeding and testing every half hour. Depending on the next tests, you may not need honey.

I can hang out and talk to you until someone with experience drops in.
I'm around. So don't stay up :-)
 
70@+3 and I gave 30% snack!
Test again in 30mins? How am I doing?
Great job! Keep testing and feeding every 30 minutes unless Bandit’s Mom says you are safe to test every hour. How long ago did you give her honey last?
How long ago did you give her food?
 
Please keep testing every 30 mins. If she is not hungry, just give her the gravy from the HC food. She should start coming up soon so you may not need honey.

This is still the 3rd cycle after the reduction so the depot of the previous dose is still at play. I will tag @tiffmaxee and @Bron and Sheba (GA) for their advice on whether to take another reduction so soon or hold the 0.50U at least 4 cycles.
 
Yes it’s possible the depot from the 0.75 units is in play. This is the third cycle since the reduction.
However I think I would take the reduction because Lisa only went up to 70 after a 30% carbs snack +honey and then dropped down to 63 again after more 30% and honey snack ……..could be meter variance ….but I suspect she would have dropped further than the 47 if Dionysia had not not tested at +2.
She also fed her a 9.5% snack at +1.5 before the drop to 47.
Lisa looks like she is on a mission!
She can always go back up in dose if the reducie does not hold. So new dose is 0.25 unit
Congratulations. Dionysia you are doing a really good job managing the drop and low numbers, with Bhooma’s help.
 
Maybe try writing help, low numbers! In your subject heading if you still need someone? I'm sorry I don't know enough to give any advice, but if someone is skimming the subject headings that will catch their attention. Good luck. You guys are doing great.
 
I would give it 45 min if it was me, but what duration are you comfortable with? The insulin is now starting to really kick in so you will be able to start to see if the 16% was enough. Definitely need to keep monitoring.
 
16% is HC but that's okay - I'm sure you want to sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug: When did you give the 16%..at +3.5? If so, are you at +4 right now? I'd grab a +4 if it's 30 minute after the food and then, assuming she's rising, not feed and set an alarm for +5.5 (so, if she behaves, then +5.5 would be two hours without food and she *should* stay steady for the rest of the night and you could leave LC out if she usually has it out at night).
 
is 45 minutes after 16!so feed again 16? or wait till +5>?
I think you can wait an hour from feeding - she's flat.

So, feed 16% again.
Test in 1 hour from feeding.

My thought process on the 16% is it's night time and you seem to be battling a bit of a full depot; Lisa has nothing to prove this cycle.
 
89 at 5.5!
Sorry for missing this but i personally think there are two options (1) feed LC and go to bed till AMPS as I think she is past nadir, she’s flat (though flat on MC/HC) and she’s not near 50 at all but it’s only been one hour since food and not two…(2) test again at +6.5 to make sure she is holding her own
 
I would not have given MC food with a drop to 104 at +3 with a preshot of 209. That is only a drop of 105 in 3 hours and is not a fast drop. I would give some low carb food and test again in 30 minutes if you are worried.
You can give a higher carb food if there is a big drop early in the cycle before or around the the onset of insulin. By + 3 we expect to see a drop in the BG.
I would try feeding the curve with ordinary low carb food and keep the higher carb food for drops under 50. Of course if the BG is racing down and the low carb does nothing then you can try some higher carb food if the BG is getting low.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top