8/3 Lily PMPS +12~66, AMPS~99 +6~85 +9~77 PMPS~84 +10~74

Status
Not open for further replies.

LilyAndLaura

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21299

We're home and slept in our own bed last night. Woohoo! That PMPS at 174 yesterday ended in the green with an AMPS 66 this morning. I stalled until we got to 99 (about 2.5 hours later) and then shot at .75 and gave my DH clear instructions about watching her today and periodically waking her up to take her to food. My gut tells me that she earned another dose reduction overnight since she was at 66 at +12, but I was so exhausted last night that I just couldn't get up and test. I haven't had time to teach him the testing technique, but I'm now only 3 minutes away from home, so can run if needed. Now that I'm so close to work, I think I may try this delayed cycle of 8:30 a.m. and 8:30 pm instead of 6 a.m. /6 p.m. to see if it better syncs up with her natural rhythms. It'll also give me a chance to get some +10, +11 numbers before I shoot, too. Any thoughts about that?

--Laura
 
Re: 8/3 Lily AMPS ~66, stall ~99

wow Lily is doing fantastic!
I like to get a +11 whenever I can, this way if Tray has a low BG I can see if he's naturally rising and then I'm not afraid to shoot his dose. So if you can change your shooting time to accomodate more test, I think it's a good idea. But I'm not an expert, you might want to put advice in your subject line to get eyes on it.
 
Re: 8/3 Lily AMPS ~66, stall ~99 +6 ~85

Thank you Iorwen! I just snuck home and did a +6 and she's at 85! Keep surfing, baby...that's exactly where I want you to be! I like the idea of a +11 on a regular basis, too. Thanks for the support.
 
Re: 8/3 Lily AMPS ~66, stall ~99 +6 85

LilyAndLaura said:
Yesterday's condo:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21299

We're home and slept in our own bed last night. Woohoo! That PMPS at 174 yesterday ended in the green with an AMPS 66 this morning. I stalled until we got to 99 (about 2.5 hours later) and then shot at .75 and gave my DH clear instructions about watching her today and periodically waking her up to take her to food. My gut tells me that she earned another dose reduction overnight since she was at 66 at +12, but I was so exhausted last night that I just couldn't get up and test. I haven't had time to teach him the testing technique, but I'm now only 3 minutes away from home, so can run if needed. Now that I'm so close to work, I think I may try this delayed cycle of 8:30 a.m. and 8:30 pm instead of 6 a.m. /6 p.m. to see if it better syncs up with her natural rhythms. It'll also give me a chance to get some +10, +11 numbers before I shoot, too. Any thoughts about that?

--Laura

Nice to see you Laura and Lily! Don't worry - Lily will get back on track - looks like she's doing good today anyway!

How did this morning's stall go?
Stall, don't feed, re-test is usually the way we like to suggest. Usually 15 to 30 min re-tests without food on board, so you don't get a food spike in your actual shot number. Did it work out like that?

Plus for tonight you'll want to take into account that you shot late this morning.

You'll want to make sure your shot schedule works for you too, Lily will do her own thing, it's up to you if you can handle shooting PMPS later too - think about your +3 at nite time, will it be too late for you to stay up if you need to? Things like that, ok?

Getting the +11 before a shot is very useful, I like those tests too, plus it gives a heads up for others.

But anyways, glad to see you guys settling in your new home!
 
Re: 8/3 Lily AMPS ~66, stall ~99 +6 85

Beautiful!

Just a clarification - if you tested at +12 but didn't shoot until later, you could say something like +12 66 AMPS 99 @+12.5 - then any tests after that are still on (or close to) the hour from the new PS time. That way we can easily see that you actually shot the 99, not the 66.
Good to wait for the rise like that, you're really catching on to this.
 
Re: 8/3 Lily AMPS ~66, stall ~99 +6 85 +9~77 PMPS~84

Thank you all for bearing with me. I think I'm getting the synergy with Lily down better than the reporting so thanks for being patient. I waited +2.5 to shoot this morning without 15/30 checks because I already had the idea of shifting her to a new schedule now that I live just 3 minutes from work. When she pulled a 65 this a.m., I knew I had plenty of time to shift her, so I re-tested at 8:30 a.m. (would have been +2.5) and she was at 99, so I shot then. My goal was to both shift her and me, and I think it worked. She surfed green from what I can tell all day today. I just did the PMPS for 12 hours later than the ACTUAL shot this a.m. and she's at 84. Wow. She stayed green all day, and that's not so normal for her in the a.m. I'm not going to shoot an 84 at full dose overnight though, so I just shot a fat .5 (is that the same as a skinny .75?) and we'll see tomorrow if she was ready for a dose reduction.

Thank you, all! She seems to be liking this move!

Warmly,
Laura
 
Re: 8/3 Lily AMPS ~66, stall ~99 +6 85

FWIW, I plan my shot time so I can get at least a +2 in the AM before I go off to work. It lets me know if I need to make a mad dash home at lunch.

I'm not sure why you didn't shoot your full dose. On 7/28 you shot more insulin at the same PMPS. It's important to not lose momentum. You need to base your reductions on the numbers you get from testing. You've also been at the 0.75 for only 3 cycles and you've not seen a BG under 50.

The mantra of Lantus Land is that once you're data ready, shoot low to stay low. Once you factor in meter variance of 10 - 20%, your 99 this morning is really no different than your 85 tonight.

(FYI - your AMPS was 99. The 66 was your PM +12.)
 
Re: 8/3 Lily AMPS ~66, stall ~99 +6 85

Thanks, Sienne - I do like having the extra readings now, so the later schedule is going to work better, I think. I shot that dose on 7/28 and 7/29 before I found this Board and it made me nervous as heck. I think that one of the reasons I haven't seen a bg under 50 is because I haven't been here to test at +2 or +3, which is another reason to shift the schedule because I can run home at lunch. Thanks for the encouragement and advice. Will try and get home for the +3 today and see what she's doing. She's at 74 at PM +10.

--Laura
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top