8/3 Hoot PMPS 211 A couple of ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
8/2 Condo


AMPS - 242
+3 - 109
+4 - 66
+4.5 - 54
+5 - 50
+5.5 - 66
+7.5 - 159
+11 - 215
PMPS - 212
+2.5 - 214

Good Morning LL ~O)
Hoot is doing great, eating his fuds and all 5 P's are good. He did yoga with me this morning dancing_cat
I have a couple of questions. Does anyone use or know the carb count on Rescue Remedy? I am going to go online to see if there is any info there. None on the packaging. I gave him a little last night, but can't tell if it affected his BG because I think he was probably bouncing. I do think it helped him tho :smile: I think he is going to need it on his upcoming camping trip next week nailbite_smile Wish us luck :lol:

Second question...Do you think him wearing the harness is making his BG go up??? I'm sure he is a little stressed. His BG is getting back in the yellows again. I also think the shed has drained some from his last reduction. I'm not sure what to do with his dose, if anything.
He has hit below 50 twice and hit 50 yesterday, which is close to another reduction, but his nadir is telling me he may need a dosecrease???
I'm confused confused_cat But whats new :lol: :lol:
I appreciate any and all advice from you all ;-)


Sending ♥Vines♥ to all in need :YMHUG:
Have a Great Caturday LL :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234 A couple of ???

Wow, you're taking Hoot camping with you. Good luck and I hope everything goes well and you all have a good time.
I would make sure he's micro chipped if not already.
I use Rescue Remedy for my cats when going on trips. I don't think there's carbs in it, but I'll be interested to see what others have to say. Did you try to taste it to see if it's sweet? I usually give a few drops orally and put a drop on the top of each paw.
The nadir is the lowest point of the cycle. I think I would stick with your current dose.
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234 A couple of ???

Dyana said:
Wow, you're taking Hoot camping with you. Good luck and I hope everything goes well and you all have a good time.
I would make sure he's micro chipped if not already.
I use Rescue Remedy for my cats when going on trips. I don't think there's carbs in it, but I'll be interested to see what others have to say. Did you try to taste it to see if it's sweet? I usually give a few drops orally and put a drop on the top of each paw.
The nadir is the lowest point of the cycle. I think I would stick with your current dose.

Well I just tasted it and it is very very sweet :sad: :sad: Dang! Not sure I want to use it now.
I don't have him microchipped. Thanks! Great advice!! We sit outside and I want him to be able to sit out with us and not be confined to the trailer all the time.
Thanks for the dose advice, I still get so confused on it all @-) I think I got it figured out and, well, not!!!! :lol:
Have a great weekend Dyana!
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

Hi Pam,

I know Rescue Remedy is 27% alcohol, but I don't think that alcohol has carbs in it. And if it reduces Hoot's stress level, maybe it won't hurt his BG numbers as much. I give it to my drooler during storms, and my sis gives it to her one cat when she has company coming. Seems to help both of them. Good luck~

Jane
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

The Rescue Remedy for Pets and the Rescue Remedy for Children (which my Health Food Store told me are both the same ingredients, the Pets one just costs more) are both alcohol free http://www.bachrescueremedypet.com/about/faq/.
Yes, a micro chip, a snug fitting harness, and always supervised, please. I've never been camping with a trailer. Only under the stars, and as we got older with a tent. So, at least you have a place to keep him safe if you need to take a long hike or go fishing. Have a great time.
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

Cleo & Jane said:
Hi Pam,

I know Rescue Remedy is 27% alcohol, but I don't think that alcohol has carbs in it. And if it reduces Hoot's stress level, maybe it won't hurt his BG numbers as much. I give it to my drooler during storms, and my sis gives it to her one cat when she has company coming. Seems to help both of them. Good luck~

Jane

It seemed to help him, so I might just give it to him for the car ride. It's about an hour.
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

Wow, never knew they made one just for pets! Thanks Dyana! Mine expires in October, I have had it for quite a while. I will have to check out the pet version.

Good luck Pam, I think Hoot will have a great time with his beans :-D
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

Dyana said:
The Rescue Remedy for Pets and the Rescue Remedy for Children (which my Health Food Store told me are both the same ingredients, the Pets one just costs more) are both alcohol free http://www.bachrescueremedypet.com/about/faq/.
Yes, a micro chip, a snug fitting harness, and always supervised, please. I've never been camping with a trailer. Only under the stars, and as we got older with a tent. So, at least you have a place to keep him safe if you need to take a long hike or go fishing. Have a great time.

Luckily Hoot is a big chicken and won't want to be to adventurous! He will be happy just being in the trailer or laying out with us. He may not even want to be out with us, very scary noises nailbite_smile And trust me, he will never be out of my site if he is outside with us. I have a friend, actually Hoots sister "Hissin Heidi" who is a professional camper and she does great. Hopefully it runs in the family :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

So it's glycerine that's making the Rescue Remedy sweet. I've read some online about glycerine and most of them say it doesn't affect BG. Any thoughts on that??
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

I've never seen it affect J.D.'s BGs, but J.D. is J.D. :?
When we fly, we always skip his shot, so his BGs are up anyway. When we drive, his BGs are "normal" for him..
 
Re: 8/3 Hoot AMPS 229, +2.5/234, +5/231 A couple of ???

Dyana said:
I've never seen it affect J.D.'s BGs, but J.D. is J.D. :?
When we fly, we always skip his shot, so his BGs are up anyway. When we drive, his BGs are "normal" for him..

Great, then I'm going to use it on him...and I might buy me some too!! :lol: :lol:
My neighbors vet said his wife and kids use it.
 
Here's some info on vegetable glycerin:

"Vegetable glycerin is also known as vegetable glycerol. It is a carbohydrate that is usually derived from plant oils. It is used as a sweetener and as an ingredient in a number of cosmetic products. Vegetable glycerin is also used in place of alcohol to extract botanicals.

Glycerin is an organic compound composed of three carbon atoms, hydrogen atoms, and three OH groups. These OH groups form hydrogen bonds with water, slowing down its movement and giving liquid glycerin the property of a syrup. It is also resistant to freezing, a property used in storing sensitive liquids, such as enzymes, in laboratory freezers.

Food-grade vegetable glycerin is 99.7% pure, with the remaining 0.3% being water. It has a sweet taste, but is metabolized differently than sugar and does not raise blood sugar levels. Glycerin is used in foods marketed as being low in carbohydrates to keep them sweet and moist. It also does not contribute to bacterial tooth decay.

Vegetable glycerin is also used as a substitute for alcohol, in making botanical extracts. The advantage of this is that people who do not want to be exposed to alcohol can still have access to the botanical products. The disadvantage is that the resulting products have a much shorter shelf life."

so both substance is almost the same in nature. and the word " It has a sweet taste, but is metabolized differently than sugar and does not raise blood sugar levels."

So that explains the sweet taste in the Rescue Remedy, and it was a little thick too. I'm so glad to know I can give it to Hoot dancing_cat
 
The other thing I've used for car trips for Neko was Feliway spray, spritzed inside her carrier. When we went to Colorado State University for her SRT treatment (3 days in a row of 8-9 hours in a car), that and the Rescue Remedy for Pets seemed to help. Hard to tell if it affected her BG. She was an extremely bouncy cat at the time, although she did get down to 70 in the middle of nowheresville. But her demeanor seemed calmer. Normally she's a yowler in the car.

Have fun camping with Hoot - I hope you both enjoy it. I saw one description of camping with a cat where the person had a baby stroller with a zipped screen entry, so kitty could be rolled up to where the action was.
 
Wendy&Neko said:
The other thing I've used for car trips for Neko was Feliway spray, spritzed inside her carrier. When we went to Colorado State University for her SRT treatment (3 days in a row of 8-9 hours in a car), that and the Rescue Remedy for Pets seemed to help. Hard to tell if it affected her BG. She was an extremely bouncy cat at the time, although she did get down to 70 in the middle of nowheresville. But her demeanor seemed calmer. Normally she's a yowler in the car.

Have fun camping with Hoot - I hope you both enjoy it. I saw one description of camping with a cat where the person had a baby stroller with a zipped screen entry, so kitty could be rolled up to where the action was.

I also bought the Feliway spray. And a Thundershirt! And the Rescue Remedy :lol: He is going to enjoy this trip :lol: :lol: Thanks, now I might have to go buy a stroller :lol:
And a few adult beverages for me too :lol:
 
Hi Pam,

Sorry I don't have any advice or information on Rescue Remedy or harnesses, but it seems like you've already gotten great advice. Especially the microchipping suggestion. Good luck on your camping trip! You guys can do a little yoga out in the woods!!!! :lol: :-D Have a good night!
 
I use to camp with my Harley car he loved car rides, he did well with harness ad he slept in the tent with us :lol: Yoga in the woods be be great :smile: good luck and have fun.
thanks for stopping by.
Linda and Lucky
 
I use Rescue Remedy too, but I don't give it to her to ingest.
I drop about 5 drops or so in a small spray bottle filled with water (150mL), and spray it into the air above her.
I don't know if it is as effective, but I think she is calmer during her acupuncture session whenever I use it.
Good luck camping with Hoot!!
I hope he'll be OK!
 
I also use Rescue Remedy for Pets with no alcohol. I just rub it on the inside of Gracies ears. You don't have to give it orally.

All our cats are microchipped and I also have a Pet Hub Digital Tag for Gracie. You enter the medical history and all contact info, including a photo, on the website and it is associated with a digital tag. When the tag is scanned with a QR code reader that people have on their smart phones, it shows her picture and all her Info and sends me an email that its been scanned.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top