8/3 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.
+6 299
I don't know whats going on with these numbers.
Everything seems normal for his routine, eating the same food, no excessive peeing or drinking. He may have been a little constipated but went a lot this afternoon. Its also super hot here in upper 90's but the cats never go outside and I keep it cold so don't think thats contributing. Hes actually been higher since the dental.
Ketones were checked 3 days ago and checked out negative.
Seems to feel good.
 
I'd love to be able to advise you, but I can't. Alex has had many days like this since we've been dancing. Some advised higher doses, some advised lower doses. As of now, after his DKA episode, we've been raising the doses.
 
Thanks Ginny. I don't know either. I've just raised him from 2.8 to 3 U only at night, starting 2 nights ago. He still gets 2.8 for AM dose. I just don't know whether to raise it too or let the new PM dose settle in. Seems like it takes him a little while to adapt to a new dose.
He is on a +10/+14 shooting schedule because his AMPS has always been higher than his PMPS, to try to get the AMPS down. We have been on a different schedule other than 12/12 for months and it has lowered his AMPS, he used to be in mid 400's to over 500 before we started a different schedule.
Seems like many of the PZI kitties have had shallow flat curves lately.
Glad Alex is doing well!
 
IMO, I'd raise the dose to 3u am/pm right now. You stayed at 2.8 for a good while. Are you just doing 3u in the pm in hopes of not triggering a steep drop and a bounce?
 
I raised to 3U PM to try to drop down the AM preshot on the short +10 side of his cycle.
I have shot 3U PM for 2 nights, tonight will be third night.
I am thinking of taking a sample in to vet to check his urine again, although I see no signs of UTI, he was clear less than two weeks ago and he has no ketones.
 
I recommended the increase in PM over AM based on her recent nighttime data - the amount of drop looks at lot more to me in the day vs. at night, and then given that the night shot is at +14 I am thinking it is getting less oomph, so shallower drop and then running out of steam at the end.

So my thought is if the PM dose is higher than the AM, hopefully that would give him a better drop during the night, and a lower +10 for the AM shot. I think there is room to increase both doses though, it just made sense to me to try to even the cycles out that way, and see if getting a stronger curve at night would bring the AMPS down enough to see where that would land before actually raising the AM dose.

Doesn't look like it's had the effect I was hoping for, though there is some hope I guess that the higher AMPS today was triggered by maybe seeing some nicer numbers overnight?

In any case, I think it does make sense to go ahead and raise the AM dose, the numbers just aren't cutting it. :cry:
 
PMPS 302 (only 3 points higher than +6) 3U
I will give 3 U for AM dose.
He seems to reach his lowest point of the daytime hours at +4 since mid July.
I don't think I will be able to get in any overnight checks until the weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top