8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158 *1U* +2 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJ and Gobnait

Member Since 2011
didn't shoot at all last night and came home to green. this morning at +11 (and a smidge) she was 129. She had lots of dry food yesterday and last night and is just having her wet Newman's Own for breakfast this morning. Will test again at 7:30.

Now it seems like the best reco to follow is Jill's 1u or can I just forego another shot? Today I REALLY can't stay home to test. and she's under 150 and seemingly "normal"?????

yesterday's dramatic condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49021

***I JUST realized I'd added a green happy face to this post instead of a question mark! I am just not very good at this whole forum thing....***
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +2 64* AM shot or no

Let me make sure I understand. You're PM +11 was 129. Your +14 (14 hours since your shot last night) is 64 and you've fed Gobnait this morning? Is this right?

If he has dropped 60+ points since +11, I wouldn't shoot. What you're seeing is his pancreas kicking in and producing endogenous insulin in response to the food.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +2 64* AM shot or no

Sienne, there hasn't been a shot since yesterday morning, the cat had dry food last night, and has had a breakfast of wet food this morning.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +2 64* AM shot or no

were you aiming for 7:30 to be your amps time?
we don't really suggest food prior to preshot time, at least 2 hours before, no food, make a note k? :razz:
let's see what your next number will be.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +3 64* AM shot or no

thanks Sienna. I didn't shoot last night and at PM +2 (10:30 PM) she was 64. (I erroneously called it +14 but it was actually 14 since a shot of 2.25) AT PM +11 THIS morning at 6:30 AM she was 129.

wait, actually that was PM +3 if I considered PM to be 7:30. I was looking at the night before on my schedule and not the morning...

will restate....

last night I was out, wasn't going to be home to test and would have had to give her shot early so just didn't shoot. when I came home and tested at 10:30, she was at 64. I woke up to test her and hour before shot time this morning and she was 129.

and all of this after yesterday's low scare when i should NOT have shot and a full day and night of free access to dry food.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +2 64* AM shot or no

Oh thanks on the no food. i thought it was no food so as not to muddy the test results, which I did before giving her any food.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +2 64* AM shot or no

So, AM +14 was 64 and +23 was 129. (I was reading this as +2 in the AM and thinking the SS wasn't updated.)

MJ -- you don't want to feed until after you shoot. If you fed at +11, the AMPS will be a food influenced number. We recommend no food after +10 (i.e., 2 hours before shot time).

Post your AMPS. I think you'll be fine to shoot the 1.0u.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +2 64* AM shot or no

Hi guys .. I'm so glad you got all that good information yesterday .. todays numbers are looking really good! Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 *no PM shot and +2 64* AM shot or no

Thanks all!

Sienne - am about to poke Gobnait shortly but want to ask about just NOT shooting. I'm looking at the OTJ kitty spreadsheets and Gobnait's numbers are lower and more consistent than most. Did this cat just want cans of Newman's Own Turkey Formula all along?

Or do we have to be extra careful to keep numbers low because of the neuropathy?
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158

what did you decide to do?
if ur still home, how about a retest?
numbers on the rise, plus with early breakfast on board.


a suggestion thou, if you decide to skip, leave him wet food out, see what he does by the time you get in.

but just curious what you decided :-D
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158

Anything above 120 on a human glucometer (or > 150 on an AlphaTrack) is outside of the normal range. From yesterday, you're seeing Gobnait's numbers creep back up but it does look like food is stimulating his pancreas and his numbers, at least based on last night, are coming down.

I tend to think that if you don't shoot, Gobnait's numbers will be high by his PM shot time. You can certainly shoot less than the 1.0u that Jill recommended. If you shoot nothing and Gobnait's numbers spike higher, his shed will be pretty depleted. You could shoot 0.5u if that makes you more comfortable. Will you be able to get tests after you shoot? (I'm heading out to work so I can't follow what's going on.)

Lower numbers will prevent the neuropathy from getting worse. Methyl-B12 will help to resolve the problem.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158

at the office now. shot the 1u and ran out and it felt like a fur shot! Though i think the awkwardness was just that the shot was SO tiny. It6's how I felt the first time I shot her and that time was 3u! then I was accustomed to the big adequan needle and that teeny little thing needle and relatively teeny dosage felt like nothing.

That time, i made the mistake of just shooting again which I now know is the wrong way to go. I wish there were smaller needles or needles that gave a greater visual differentiation of these small shots. 1u was hard enough even to see.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158

if the measuring is a problem there are magnifiers that i've seen ads for - you get them at the pharmacy, apparently. i've seen some that are like a test tube that slips around the syringe to magnify the whole thing.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158

That time, i made the mistake of just shooting again which I now know is the wrong way to go....

just stopping in to see how it went,
was that a reshot today or that previous time?

EDIT: never mind! I see it on ss, lol, that was way back on 3u
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158

yeah that doubled up 3 unit was my FIRST shot!

I won't be able to test her again until this eve. i did leave two types of wet food out for the day. the timed feeder doohickie arrived last night and tonight i'll figure it out then get those kitties on a schedule.

the hardest part will be training my non diabetic kitty Desmond. he likes to have a little nibble, leave it and come back. By then Gobnait has gobbled everything up.

Sometimes in fact, while he's in his bowl slowly munching away, she will come over and STICK HER PAW IN IT and he just backs off and lets her eat it.

She has terrible table manners.

I used to stand and wait for Desmond to finish and then put his bowl up on a counter and put it back down when he cried for it. But that was when I was working from home all the time.
 
Re: 8/3 Gobnait +11 129 AMPS 158 *1U* + 8 86

was able to come home early but will take off again between +10 and PMPS. Nice green number right now despite low dosage this am. was unfortunately unable to test her just post 1u dosage but she's happy right now. was HUNGRY. gave her some wet after testing and won;t feed her again till after PMPS.
 
from other thread:

Hi all. I'd love some advice or opinions on this newbie kitty...

I realized this evening when I shot the recommended 1u that this morning I must have shot zero. It was my first time shooting 1 and I erroneously measured the FIRST line as 1 when it is really zero. No wonder it felt like I wasn't pushing in the syringe plunger... I actually wasn't.

I have adjusted the sheet accordingly but what this means is that Gobnait has had a LOT of green numbers on nearly 24 hours hours without insulin. Last night and yesterday I also gave her free access to her favorite dry food after yesterday's low number scare.

I am about to test her now at +3 and will stay up a bit to ensure she doesn't drop too low.

I've just gone, in two days, from shooting 2.5u to shooting just 1u at some pretty low numbers - lower than I knew since I'd been using Alpha Trak until 2 days ago - and I'd love some guidance.

Is there a protocol for going OTJ? I'm looking and not finding it.

Thanks!

hi good morning, I've copied and pasted your post from the other thread you began, in case others come here to reply, try to keep one condo/thread per day or we get all lost and mixed up, k?

so yesterday morning you actually shot a drop instead of 1u.
the numbers are very nice, I'm hoping to get you some input on this, because Gobnait is on a mission, and coming down the dosing ladder fast, I am not too sure what to suggest.
 
I realized this evening when I shot the recommended 1u that this morning I must have shot zero. It was my first time shooting 1 and I erroneously measured the FIRST line as 1 when it is really zero. No wonder it felt like I wasn't pushing in the syringe plunger... I actually wasn't.

I have adjusted the sheet accordingly but what this means is that Gobnait has had a LOT of green numbers on nearly 24 hours hours without insulin. Last night and yesterday I also gave her free access to her favorite dry food after yesterday's low number scare.

I am about to test her now at +3 and will stay up a bit to ensure she doesn't drop too low.

I've just gone, in two days, from shooting 2.5u to shooting just 1u at some pretty low numbers - lower than I knew since I'd been using Alpha Trak until 2 days ago - and I'd love some guidance.

Is there a protocol for going OTJ? I'm looking and not finding it.

Thanks!

will you be able to monitor today?

the other day i mentioned the possibility gobnait's insulin requirements have been greatly reduced. i think that's what we're seeing now. the problem is we don't know how much his insulin need has decreased. a skipped shot, followed by shooting 0.1 and then shooting 1u last night resulted in some very nice numbers.

we do have to take the insulin depot/shed and carryover into consideration when looking at the recent numbers on gobnait's spreadsheet. however, if you're working today i would be inclined to reduce the dose to 0.5u this morning. in essence, what we have to do now is feel around for the correct dose, but in the meantime, we want to keep gobnait safe when you won't be there to monitor closely. make sense?

keep in mind, the dose may need further adjustment.


just throwing this out there for your consideration...
if you'll be home to monitor friday night through sunday night you might want to pickup the dry to see what kind of numbers he'll throw. we may find out gobnait can be controlled by diet alone if the dry is out of the picture.
 
MJ -

I'm glad Jill stopped by. My thought was that Gobnait's pancreas may still need some support. If you're going to be around to monitor, I think Jill's suggestion is a good one.
 
thanks. and sorry for the double posting. i am NOT around to monitor today in fact I have to leave shortly. actually i had to leave an hour ago. i just tested her after no food at 98 amps.

so do the .5u so as not to do too much? is that what i'm hearing?
 
Make sure you start a new condo with today's date and Gobnait's numbers from today in the subject line. Don't reply to this one anymore so it will go to the bottom of the pack and everyone can post on the condo from today. Make sure you link this condo to the new one, though, so people can reference back if they want more information.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top