8/3 Elian - pmps 140; 86 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Active Member
Thank you so much to everybody who encouraged us thru the night - Elian did great. Of course he had no idea that I was a nervous wreck. He just knew that every hour I rolled over & poked him and he went right back to sleep while I posted the info, set my next alarm and stared at the dark ceiling until I fell asleep, only to start all over again!!! Hope we have another great day and I now feel more confident about shooting low numbers!

yesterday
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110

Shooting low numbers is scary the first few times. Nice amps this morning though.

Elian, we are hoping to see more of those blues and greens this morning, but not so low that they scare your mommabean.
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5

Very nice number to wake up to:-)
Wanna see something pretty? Reduce the zoom on your spreadsheet so the numbers are too small to see, and just look at the colors. At the bottom, all you can see is a whole lot of blue and green...
Somebody's getting better :-D
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5

Thanks so much! I really appreciate you being here for us. We are both about to take a nap now - well deserved, I think!
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3

What is going on with my E man - making sure he keeps me on my toes! Woke up from our nap and he jumped down to our spot next to the bed for testing..... so I did .... and he's at 39! Yikes. He's having a snack now.
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3

Here's what to do when your cat is below 50. You can also put up a 911 if you need someone to stay with you. Good luck!


If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3

Elian, you're getting all of your mommy's attention cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3

Wow!
It looks like Elian hasn't noticed that you reduced his dose yet. Hopefully that depot will level out soon.
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3

Thanks for the info - been reading over and over the past few days! He's not only got my attention but my two daughters, as well! We're all shadowing his every move - luckily he's very laid back. Haha! Will be testing again shortly.
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3; 62 +3.5; 60 +4

Still surfing! 77 +7.5. So happy my baby boy is doing so well. Hopefully he's done bouncing! Fingers and paws crossed.
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3.... 77 +7.5

Good job mom, Sleeping is over rated when having a sugar baby :lol: The pay off is great though. :smile: Lucky kept me on my toes for a couple of months now doing the OTJ Trail so very worth shooting lows, and this board was awesome with some very good souls here. Enjoy your ride. Keep up the good work Elian
Linda and Lucky
 
Re: 8/3 Elian - amps 110; 93 +1.5; 39 +3.... 77 +7.5

Thanks so much Linda - sure hope we'll be on the OTJ trail before long!
 
It wouldn't be a Saturday night in LL if someone wasn't ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top