I filled in a few more numbers that I had the nurse read off to me. I have about an hour before I shoot! He went hypo several times while there is my understanding and they did dextrose. So I am going to call again. They said they would send the curves. Nothing yet. Let me know if that is enough data to advise? Unfortunately, I don't have the whole story of how much IM was given. Thank you always!That 62 was in yesterday's row? Did it belong in today's? Did he get any insulin the night of the 1st? Since Lantus is a depot style insulin, I need to see what insulin he's been getting the last six cycles. Do you have no BG data from yesterday?
Thanks! Is he home now? If you need a break you could try a reduced dose like 10 units for tonight. Probably too big a drop in dose for a permanent dose and the depot may make the first part of the cycle more interesting, but hopefully not and you'll get a chance to get him settled in.I filled in a few more numbers that I had the nurse read off to me.
Thank you. He is home. They agreed to send the labs out to avoid any doubt. Tonight is also Cabergoline night.Thanks! Is he home now? If you need a break you could try a reduced dose like 10 units for tonight. Probably too big a drop in dose for a permanent dose and the depot may make the first part of the cycle more interesting, but hopefully not and you'll get a chance to get him settled in.
Thank goodness!! Giving cabergoline tonight shouldn't have an immediate impact on dose of insulin given tonight.He is home.
I posted this is the acro thread, but i believe i can give it at the same time as clavamox according to google. Do you know otherwise?Thank goodness!! Giving cabergoline tonight shouldn't have an immediate impact on dose of insulin given tonight.
Wendy his PMPS is only 45!Thank goodness!! Giving cabergoline tonight shouldn't have an immediate impact on dose of insulin given tonight.
I believe hypo is 45 on human meter and 68 on animal meter. I gave karo and a teaspoon of FF delights with cheddarHey Krista, I'm not experienced enough to really guide on dosing outside that you don't want to shoot that number. I'm not familiar with AlphaTrak meters, but searching the forum it seems like, in general, 45 on the AT would be lower on a human meter (that is my reference). Is that correct?
How is Copernicus? Is he showing hypo symptoms? If so, you want to get some syrup in him immediately.
Waited 20 min after Karo and FF. He went up to 95. I believe I hold food and test again in 20 min to see if he stays up.Have you taken another BG sample since the 45? Have you fed since the 45?
Some head shaking but alert, just sleepy. He curled up to go to sleep.Hey Krista, I'm not experienced enough to really guide on dosing outside that you don't want to shoot that number. I'm not familiar with AlphaTrak meters, but searching the forum it seems like, in general, 45 on the AT would be lower on a human meter (that is my reference). Is that correct?
How is Copernicus? Is he showing hypo symptoms? If so, you want to get some syrup in him immediately.
I'm sorry this is my first time doing this and I don't completely understand. Are you saying he still needs insulin?Yes, you just want to be super careful about shooting since those numbers are going to be food-influenced. I would want to be pretty confident I knew how long it took to get the Karo and HC food out of his system before shooting. For Bell, 20 minutes would not be enough time (but yes still do get his BG without food, since you want to make sure he is safe)
Agreed.I'm sorry, I know the feeling.
I think it is smart not to overfeed him right now in case you need him to eat later. Would a partial meal work with his meds? If you need to raise his blood sugar and are worried about getting him too full, I would do a smaller higher carb meal over a larger lower carb one.
112 on ATrakAgreed.
Let us know what his +20 minute BG is.
Good, he's hungry. But this FF HC food is high phos. Me worried about his kidneys! I might do a teaspoon of tiki senior next. Only 5% carbs. He hasn't eaten a full meal since 2pm so he is due for a good meal. He just wants to sleep poor little man. He's starting to lick his lips so I hope he's not getting nauseous .Looks like you get to skip tonight. How is his appetite?
Sending you both positive energy and prayers
I hope you can both get some rest tonight. You both need it.
Bet you never thought you’d see
The only other thing I want to understand is if starts to go high midcycle after a skip, how is that handled? Just hold out until his next shot I'm assuming. Do you all ever shoot early if that happens?You can always add a drop of honey or karo to his regular food.
FYI, I liked the Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup for HC and low P. Also HC but not as high were some of the Cats in the Kitchen pouches, also low P.
At 45 on an AT meter with head shaking and sleepiness, that could possibly be a symptomatic hypo. Glad you got his BG back up to a better range. I’m wondering if he want even lower.Some head shaking but alert, just sleepy. He curled up to go to sleep.
I was scared. I suspected he would go low after the 13 units but never this low.At 45 on an AT meter with head shaking and sleepiness, that could possibly be a symptomatic hypo. Glad you got his BG back up to a better range. I’m wondering if he want even lower.
I would keep monitoring BG
Understandable! The good thing is, you have the tools, knowledge, and support to deal with it.I was scared. I suspected he would go low after the 13 units but never this low.
Oh wow Tubby! I bet you all have some stories.Understandable! The good thing is, you have the tools, knowledge, and support to deal with it.
Sometimes these things need ER help (like the time, in a sleep deprived state, I massively overdosed Tubby with a fast acting insulin accidentally). But more often, as long as we can get/keep the BG up, we can manage these things at home (and are probably more attentive than some clinics).
I’m glad he’s finally home with you. You’ve been through the wringer lately.
As for AM shot time … since you skipped tonight’s shot, you can shoot any time you want if his BG starts to spike. That will be your *new* shot time. So, for example, if you shoot at 4am, his next shot would be due at 4pm (and you’d gradually work back to your normal 8/8 schedule). As for dose, you’ll have to ask Wendy.