8/3 callie again ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
8/2 amps =329

+5 =271

pmps =383

+5 = 235

8/3 amps =353

+4.5 =379

she hasn't had a blue since Sunday , she has been on 1 unit for 4 days so this morning I gave her 1.2 units and this is what happened ?? what should I give her for pm??
 
I hope you get some other responses soon, but after looking at your SS I'd suggest less insulin rather than more. Could you cut back a TINY amount and see how that goes? Maybe try 0.9U and see how that goes?
 
Question - did you bump her up to 1.2 this morning because you saw the increase from yesterday's AMPS of 329 to today's 353?
Here's why I'm asking. Yesterday, daytime cylce, she only had about an 18% drop at + 5. But, last night, even though her PMPS was higher than your AMPS, her drop to +5 was 39%, which looks like (to an amatuer anyway), like the insulin was working better. Today, with the bump, she sort of flattened out like she's done in the past couple weeks on occasion. Just looking at the last few days, looks like callie's nightime dip is better than the daytime one. She likes nights better? ;-)

What I am not sure of is how long it takes her body to react to a change in dosage. Does it take like a day, or several days on a consistent dose for a kittie to adjust to a dosage adjustment?

The other thing that is difficult when just looking at a spreadsheet is it doesn't tell me what else might have been going on in her life on a given day a week or two ago. Like why did she seem to do so well on the "blue" days, and then not so well the next couple days when the dose stayed the same?

I don't know what to tell you, unfortunately. I'd be prone to go back to the 1u I think, and give it a couple more days to see if anything improves. Sorry I can't be of more help. :sad:

Carl
 
thank you for your responses , I gave callie a little more because there wasn't much change again since last weekend so I thought she wasn't getting enough thats why I bumped her up ( big mistake on my part ) i will drop her back down , she was on 1 unit for 4 days , Saturday and Sunday were good days she is hard to figure out cat_pet_icon and yes Carl I don't understand her (mood) swings for lack of a better word either, she has her good days and bad. :YMHUG: to you all !
 
Cats respond differently to dose changes sometimes. Often, you will get the new dose effect when you raise the dose - it will work well for the first cycle or two, and then settle into a shallow/flat curve again. Sometimes you increase the dose, and the body fights it for the first cycle or two, and then it really starts to work there after. One cat will not always react one way or the other. I don't think you did anything wrong by increasing to 1.2u. The two options I personally would have pondered if Callie was my cat would be to either hold the 1u dose in hopes that we got a blue again, or go ahead and raise up to 1.2u in hopes of triggering blues for her. When you first start getting actual U curves like that, you will start to see slightly higher preshots. It is just the body's way of getting used to things. Eventually the preshots will start to come down too, so you just have to sit on your hands sometimes ;-)
 
I don't think you did anything wrong. It told us that maybe she needs a little more time on 1 unit.

It looks like she had a little bounce and was coming off of it, so going back to 1 unit for a little while longer might be good.

Hang in there, you are still in the early stages of the sugar dance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top