? 8/3 - Boots - AMPS 113 | +5 82 | PMPS 78 --- more test results and dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan and Boots (GA)

Member Since 2015
Last condo

So we got back the latest bloodwork, the Texas A&M GI panel. I added it to his Labs tab on his SS, but here is the gist:
B12 - normal - 645
Folate - high - 23.4
PLI - very high - 21.4
TLI - high - 92.1

So - he has pancreatitis. Not learning anything new there!

The abnormal folate probably confirms the ultrasound findings of thickened small intestine loops as well as some symptoms = IBD.

I'm honestly a little surprised (and weirdly disappointed?) that his B12 was normal. I had read such great things about cats with a deficiency being treated and feeling so much better, that I had almost hoped that would be the result and we might find success with that too. But hey, I should NOT complain that he's healthy enough in that regard!

Onto Dosing: he was doing great at .75U for nearly a solid week, and we were in fact about to decrease him, when all of a sudden he started getting 100+ morning readings. His days still settle under 100, and his evenings are generally better overall, but still - it's pretty clear 2 weeks ago to this past week is a change in his BG. He is also experiencing a bit of a p'titis flare, we think - his appetite's been more off than normal, and he's vomited a couple times (little clear liquid and little hair glob). We've had him on Cerenia this week, seems to be helping a little.

So my question is should we hold at .75 and hope the flare subsides and his numbers settle back to where they were a week+ ago, or do we creep back up to 1.0U to keep him under 100 every day (hopefully)?

Hope everyone's well today. Our backyard kitten visitors are becoming more comfortable, especially one little black one who hangs out right by the back door now. We've been putting out food in the hopes of them becoming comfortable enough that we can eventually snag them to get them to a vet to be fixed. We don't have a proper trap unfortunately, so best we can do is grab them by hand (they're still pretty skittish and dart away when we get too close) or maybe put food in a cat carrier and hope they go in and we can snap the door shut. I bet we can get close enough to grab the black one at least pretty soon. Even just getting one or two fixed and off the street is better than nothing, I guess!
 
@Marje and Gracie Since you're the go-to for test result interpretations... :cat:

Anything particularly noteworthy about the fact that his B12 was fine but B9 was high? It's actually the same as one of our civvies - her folate (32) was even higher than Boots but her B12 was fine (as were her PLI/TLI). Or is that not uncommon? I have read on ibdkitties that it could indicate SIBO in particular.
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie Since you're the go-to for test result interpretations... :cat:

Anything particularly noteworthy about the fact that his B12 was fine but B9 was high? It's actually the same as one of our civvies - her folate (32) was even higher than Boots but her B12 was fine (as were her PLI/TLI). Or is that not uncommon? I have read on ibdkitties that it could indicate SIBO in particular.
Was Boots fasted for 12 hours? Tough with an FD kitty but it can affect numbers.

I'm glad to see the TLI indicates no EPI. SIBO is exactly what came to my mind with the normal B12 and high B9 unless you are supplementing with folate. If you are, that could be why you're seeing those numbers.

If you aren't already on there, I would refer you to the FB groups that deal with IBD and SIBO (IBDKitties and Raw Feeding for IBD Kitties). I've never dealt with SIBO. Since you've already seen the discussion on IBDKitties.net on SIBO, I won't link it. I wish I had more info for you on that but I just don't have the experience to be advising on that.

If he were my cat, I'd hold the dose. He's getting nice nadirs. If he starts to creep up whe more than just the PSs are blue, then I'd increase.
 
Thanks. He actually was fasted for closer to more like 9-10 hours (last meal was around 10:30PM, bloodwork appointment was around 8:45). But my vet said the documentation from TAMU said 12 hours, except diabetic cats could be 8 (?). I don't think they'd make it up - at least I hope not! But what would the slightly decreased fasting time do to the readings? Could it affect them all to be not super accurate? Or does the lack of fasting affect some tests more than others?

I am in the FB IBDKitties group, but good call on that recommendation. I'll ask some questions there too, see if anyone has some advice as to next steps. We're starting him back on probiotics again at the very least. Don't think I want to go down the steroid path, particularly.

And thanks for the dose advice. We'll hold at least a few more days, see what happens.
 
Thanks. He actually was fasted for closer to more like 9-10 hours (last meal was around 10:30PM, bloodwork appointment was around 8:45). But my vet said the documentation from TAMU said 12 hours, except diabetic cats could be 8 (?). I don't think they'd make it up - at least I hope not! But what would the slightly decreased fasting time do to the readings? Could it affect them all to be not super accurate? Or does the lack of fasting affect some tests more than others?

I am in the FB IBDKitties group, but good call on that recommendation. I'll ask some questions there too, see if anyone has some advice as to next steps. We're starting him back on probiotics again at the very least. Don't think I want to go down the steroid path, particularly.

And thanks for the dose advice. We'll hold at least a few more days, see what happens.
I think you're ok. When I had a specfPL done on Gracie
IMG_0692.PNG
IMG_0692.PNG
IMG_0692.PNG
, TAMU said a six hour fast for a diabetic cat was fine so I would trust what they told your vet.

When I'm reading about SIBO, it seems a treatment for it would be metronidazole. But because that drug can have side effects, I think I'd have my vet talk to TAMU or an IM specialist and get a diagnosis since SIBO can be difficult to diagnose and you want to be sure you are treating the right thing.

I sure wish I could help you more but I'm glad to say I have no experience with SIBO, if you know what I mean anti jinx;):bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top