8/3/22 Marmalade’s numbers 302 amps, 3/2/21 -262 pmps

tonimarmalade

Member Since 2015
I need some guidance in selecting a new glucometer/test strip combination for Marmalade testing her current one the rely on confirm is being discontinued. There are a number of options online and I’m wondering why other members out there are use to teach their kitties. I do have enough of a supply left for the rest of this month at least but I will have to purchase a new glucometer that has test strips. I’m wondering if there is any conversion mathematics that I need to do? The company that I have been dealing with sent me a recommendation and I have called that recommendation into my vet but I see that there are a number of other choices online that are a little less expensive so I would appreciate knowing what’s being used out there and feline diabetic message board land. Thank you so much
 
Hi there first of all what a gorgeous kiity Marmalade is
You can purchase The Relion Premier Classic at Walmart for 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips either in the store or online

I see you are following TR Looking at your SS I see she dropped under 40 numerous times , you should have reduced the dose by 0.25 units
For instance on 7-15 you got a BG of 31 and 23

Is there any way your can get more tests in after AMPS and PMPS?
You really have no tests after PMPS to see if she's dropping lower
Can you please add what you are feeding Marmalade ,it's not listed on your signature

From the yellow Sticky Levemir
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended.
Would you like someone to take a look at your spreadsheet?

@tonimarmalade
 
Last edited:
I use the Contour Next. I like it because it sips up the tiniest amount of blood and has made tests really easy. Maybe they all do these days? The strips are about $27 for 70, so a bit more expensive than the Relion Premier Classic. TBH I just bought it because it was the only monitor they had at Walmart that day.
 
Hi there first of all what a gorgeous kiity Marmalade is
You can purchase The Relion Premier Classic at Walmart for 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips either in the store or online

I see you are following TR Looking at your SS I see she dropped under 40 numerous times , you should have reduced the dose by 0.25 units
For instance on 7-15 you got a BG of 31 and 23

Is there any way your can get more tests in after AMPS and PMPS?
You really have no tests after PMPS to see if she's dropping lower
Can you please add what you are feeding Marmalade ,it's not listed on your signature

From the yellow Sticky Levemir
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended.
Would you like someone to take a look at your spreadsheet?

@tonimarmalade
thank you for the compliment re: Marmy. She is as sweet as she is beautiful. And your reminder re: reductions when she falls below 40. When I went from 1.5 to F 1 that means a fat one or it really is 1.25 so I guess I should say it that way. There was a time when I actually used calipers with her. I will do my best to get tests after the AMPS and PMPS but my schedule as a caregiver for my sister with dementia and other medical issues keeps me busy. She does bounce when I have to go,to high carb food but I have been caring for her for years so I know her patterns well. She also has the beginnings of CKD and has had resorption disease for years. She is 16 yrs old. For the past year, to keep the phosphorus low, She eats primarily raw chicken with an occasional raw pork mixed With easy complete powder. She eats a lot or not at all. I also fill in her diet with selected flavors of high protein low carb wet food foods by Weruva and Soulistic.FF gravy Lovers is her high carb food when she dips low.
With regard to my chart, I don’t mean to appear unappreciative but I just do the best I can and already know I should test more esp. during the night, etc. but believe me that I am usually in survival mode in my caregiving. So I don’t neglect her by any means, I just need sleep desperately. Thank you for your response regarding getting a new glucometer and strips I will check Walmart out and see what I can come up with thank you and bless you
I do try to follow the them
 
thank you for the compliment re: Marmy. She is as sweet as she is beautiful. And your reminder re: reductions when she falls below 40. When I went from 1.5 to F 1 that means a fat one or it really is 1.25 so I guess I should say it that way. There was a time when I actually used calipers with her. I will do my best to get tests after the AMPS and PMPS but my schedule as a caregiver for my sister with dementia and other medical issues keeps me busy. She does bounce when I have to go,to high carb food but I have been caring for her for years so I know her patterns well. She also has the beginnings of CKD and has had resorption disease for years. She is 16 yrs old. For the past year, to keep the phosphorus low, She eats primarily raw chicken with an occasional raw pork mixed With easy complete powder. She eats a lot or not at all. I also fill in her diet with selected flavors of high protein low carb wet food foods by Weruva and Soulistic.FF gravy Lovers is her high carb food when she dips low.
With regard to my chart, I don’t mean to appear unappreciative but I just do the best I can and already know I should test more esp. during the night, etc. but believe me that I am usually in survival mode in my caregiving. So I don’t neglect her by any means, I just need sleep desperately. Thank you for your response regarding getting a new glucometer and strips I will check Walmart out and see what I can come up with thank you and bless you
 
I'm sorry to hear your sister has dementia , my dad has Alzheimer's so I know how tough that can be, it's just heartbreaking.
I sorry if it came off that you were neglecting her, I didn't mean it that way at all.
I understand about needing sleep, I have a daughter with a rare condition and I'm up with her all hours of the night.
Tyler's brother had kidney disease but I had to let him go last Oct.
Broke my heart.
Again I'm sorry if I offended you , that was not my intent
Sending you lots of hugs and kisses to your beautiful girl :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@tonimarmalade
 
Oh, please, no worries. I am not offended. And my heart and prayers go out to you. We all have full plates, it seems, in life’s journey. It is how we grow in empathy and loving service to others, which is why we are here , after all. I so appreciate your very complete response and your concern for Marmy. I didn’t mean to sound offended. It is just that each time I have posted over my years on the FDMB I am told pretty much the same thing regarding testing more. And I truly do my best . I was up,with my sister a little bit before 2am and so I was able to test Marmy around 2am . Now I am, hopefully, going to catch a couple more hours of sleep. God bless us and hopefully, I will hear from you again when I post with questions re: Marmy And I will keep,you and your loved ones in my prayers
 
Okey Dokey , I hope you can get some more sleep . God bless us all .
Keeping you and your loved ones in my prayers also.
I just can't stop looking at Marmy's pic, she just so sweet looking .
I hope you all can have a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top