8/3/16 Petey amps 135 +2 205 +9 289 pmps 264 +3 258 +5 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Petey

Active Member
Good morning!

Well, at long last, we saw some blue this morning. A very welcome sight! :)

Sadly this may be a fleeting moment of normalcy as I'm leaving tomorrow am for 2 weeks and I've started his holiday reduction, shooting 1.75 this morning. I'll give him one more .25 reduction this evening unless I hear otherwise from my guardian angel-experts out there.

My friends, Fidel and Maria, will be staying at my house and taking care of Petey (and his sibs, Rudy and Leonard :cat::cat::cat:) They're going to test regularly and I'll give them my FDMB sign in so they can post Petey's numbers daily.

The "no shoot without consulting me/FDMB" # I'm giving them is 150. Let me know if this seems appropriate. I'm also leaving a number for the vet and instructions for what to look for/do re. hypoglycemia. Let me know if I'm forgetting anything!

Thanks!
Emily

8/2 condo
 
I like 1.5 as a good "away" dose. Be sure to leave a sample syringe with co,outed liquid in it, so they have something to refer to. I've heard of people giving 10 times the amount by mistake.

I would also leave information about the nearest ER vet, though unlikely you'll need it, and the direction for handling low numbers along with plenty of HC, clearly marked.

Above all, have a great vacation!
 
I like 1.5 as a good "away" dose. Be sure to leave a sample syringe with co,outed liquid in it, so they have something to refer to. I've heard of people giving 10 times the amount by mistake.

I would also leave information about the nearest ER vet, though unlikely you'll need it, and the direction for handling low numbers along with plenty of HC, clearly marked.

Above all, have a great vacation!

Thank you Wendy and Carla!
 
Hi All - Of course now, the day before leaving for 2 weeks, I drop and break my Relion glucometer. :banghead:

I ordered a new one that should arrive by tomorrow afternoon. In the meantime, I have an Alphatrack meter. I would need to go an get the (ridiculously expensive!) test strips at the pharmacy, but since it tends to show much higher numbers, not sure if it's going to be useful. If I don't get them, however, would have to wait til tomorrow sometime to test again. Thoughts?

Thanks!
 
Hi All - Of course now, the day before leaving for 2 weeks, I drop and break my Relion glucometer. :banghead:

I ordered a new one that should arrive by tomorrow afternoon. In the meantime, I have an Alphatrack meter. I would need to go an get the (ridiculously expensive!) test strips at the pharmacy, but since it tends to show much higher numbers, not sure if it's going to be useful. If I don't get them, however, would have to wait til tomorrow sometime to test again. Thoughts?

Thanks!

I don't know if your pharmacists are as a amazing as mine, but the ones on my island managed to get Leda a free meter when I needed a back up meter. You might inquire as to whether they have any such offers at your pharmacy.
 
Is there a Walmart near you? You should be able to pick up a new meter there and can either cancel the other one or keep it as a back up. Many of us have two meters just for this reason (I know you have the AT, but we're not counting that for the reasons you mentioned).

Wendy covered the suggestions I was going to make. Are you leaving written instructions regarding feeding, etc.? Did you tell them what to do if Petey doesn't want to eat (very common when Mama is away)?
 
Rather than getting expensive AT test strips, I'd do Madrona's suggestion and try the local pharmacist. Often there is a meter vendor that will throw in a free meter if you buy a pack of strips. It'll be more expensive than the Relion, but closer in numbers than the AT. And you'd have another back up around. I have two Relion's around, and another meter (or two), just in case.
 
Is there a Walmart near you? You should be able to pick up a new meter there and can either cancel the other one or keep it as a back up. Many of us have two meters just for this reason (I know you have the AT, but we're not counting that for the reasons you mentioned).
Wendy covered the suggestions I was going to make. Are you leaving written instructions regarding feeding, etc.? Did you tell them what to do if Petey doesn't want to eat (very common when Mama is away)?

Hi All - Thank you so much for your advice! And so sorry I didn't repost OR take down my question. I actually did write a post about 15 min. after asking for help saying that I'd figured things out, but I noticed just now that I didn't actually post it (getting ready for a trip always brings out the clumsy and the careless in me!) Anyhow, I basically ended up doing exactly what Tricia recommended - I was able to cancel my Amazon order and ran over to Walmart where I was able to buy two meters for less than one would cost on line. Phew! So we're back in bizness!

Tricia, yes, I wrote very detailed instructions and Wendy, I left a sample syringe w colored water marking the correct dose + HC food clearly marked, vet number, emergency clinic, etc.

Thanks everyone for your ongoing support!

:bighug: :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Emily
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top