8/29 Tink AMPS 545/508, +1= 442 Good grief!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
@-) Assuming we saw a little blue sometime between +4.5 & +8 last night. But even so... HOLY BOUNCE BATMAN!! :shock: Flyin' a LITTLE HIGH this morning! I did a full visual sweep of the house to make sure nothing was left out and I dont see ANYTHING he could have gotten into. Just hoping he doesn't fall too fast, given that his +1 was already lower than PS (but still extremely high).

Is it ok to go ahead with my plans to increase his dose tonight if he's still bouncing??
Is it still considered a bounce if it happens EVERY DAY???
I really need to do any increases when I have days off... and I'll be off through Monday, so would like to increase tonight if possible.
 
graphics-batman-200795.gif





WOWZA!

I wish I could offer some advice, because it seems like a catch 22....trying to slow him down a bit with food would prolong the long numbers, but dropping too fast may cause a second bounce....

Hopefully one of the more experienced peeps will be along and they will be able to advise....
 
I'm stuck at work too... although DD is home until noonish, so I can relay directions to her. Unfortunately, she's yet to have a successful test - so getting any numbers is unlikely. :( I mean, I can always run home for a 911 situation... but I can't be there all morning.

He just ate at AMPS (1.5 oz of Wellness) and his timed feeder will go off at +4 with another 1.5 oz (it's about +2.5 right now). Maybe I'll have DD give him a slice of zucchini in an hour or so. That doesn't seem to raise him TOO much unless he eats a lot of it... but might be good to have something to graze on.

No wonder the poor guy was sitting there staring at the auto feeder at +1, as if willing it open. Flying that high, I doubt his body even knows he's eaten.
 
Nearing PMPS (in just over 3 hrs) and hoping to get input on if it's ok to go ahead and up his dose still tonight - given the bounce this morning. I've been planning on an increase tonight (I'm home through Monday to monitor)... but then this last bounce was pretty extreme - so just not sure if I should wait till morning or not.
 
I think you have room for an increase and the timing is great. The issue with increasing on a bounce is if he decides to clear the bounce on the same cycle, then you have a lot of downward momentum. As long as you are ready for that possibility, plenty of strips, HC, and can monitor tonight, I'd go for it.

Hey Tink, black belongs on the outside of the cat! :shock:

Jen, we had plenty of disgusting bounces like this back in the day. I like to think of them as reactions to good numbers. Good luck with the increase and getting DD trained to be a vampire.
 
Ok thanks. I'll go ahead with the increase then. Last time I'd gotten some slightly negative feedback about increasing on a bounce... but I wonder if someone thought I was increasing BECAUSE of the bounce. I don't know. Anyway... here goes. I had to do errands after work so just got home... so didn't get the +10 I was hoping for. At this point we're 30 min shy of PMPS so I'll just wait till then and see what he feels like throwing at me tonight. nailbite_smile


ETA: Hey! I just realized we're neighbors! :) I'm about an hour south of you (well, of the border anyway... never been to Vancouver). :)
 
UGH. 453 / 450 at +2 after PMPS of 300. What the heck??

Sir Tink does not wish to play by the rules!!
 
Tink did a big drop from AMPS to +1 this morning. Drops over 50 pts/hr can also cause bounces. :roll:

I'm 40 minutes-ish from the border. I head down every once in a while to Bellingham to pick cheap strips.
 
Hi Jen

I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to welcome you and Tink to LL. I was gone last week and still trying to catch up :-D

I'm glad you increased. I think he could finitely use the extra insulin. I don't know if anyone has told you about New Dose Wonkiness but don't panic if numbers go up for a cycle or two in the next day.

Usually we advise new members to not increase on a bounce until they have some data and understand their cats patterns and onset, nadir, duration. But you've been around a bit and so you have enough experience to be able to increase and know you have to watch him.

Good luck with the increase :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top