8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

koala kim

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

That is the question. I am thinking no. I know it's hard to tell with so little data. But Mr. Spooky is still a two person tester. :sad:

Spooky snapped big time this morning. I didn't even have to tell DH to let him go before he bit someone. Found out DH had accidentally sat on part of Spook's tail. :shock: Finally did the test. This evening, growled the whole time, then hissed when DH let go. He did come back for his treat though. :lol:

Based on conversation from yesterday's condo, I stopped at the 'healthy' store after work and picked up some chewable B12, thinking they would be easy to crush. It does have lactose listed under other ingredients, but no other sugars that I can see. I crushed 3 up this evening (1000mcg ea), then decided to hold off until tomorrow morning.

In other news, I picked up 42 cans of Sheba @ PetSmart because it's still on sale, and some of the cans have BOGO free coupons attached. I would like to say I stocked up on cat food while it's on sale. But with 3 cats, I really didn't. :roll: :lol:


ETA: Just found this on Amazon.com about the B12 I picked up tonight: All Natural Factors products are manufactured in accordance with the Government of Canada's Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP), among the highest standards in the world.;Contains no artificial preservatives, color or sweeteners; no corn, soy, starch, wheat or yeast.

That makes me feel better. :smile:
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

You are alone for the night right and still haven't successfully tested alone. Yes?

I don't do dosing advise but I know your situation and since you can't test by yourself, I would say no.
You won't be able to see how the bg is responding without those tests.

Now whether or someone can come along and tell you to shoot a reduced amount, I don't know.
You need more data and you need to be able to check a few times tonite if you shoot.

see if you can crush those tablets really fine, perhaps use a freezer type ziploc bag and lightly pound them to dust.
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

I think that 109 is too low to shoot without getting tests to keep Spooky safe. But that's just my opinion, FWIW. That's great he's coming back for the treats. That is progress. :-D I hope the B12 helps Spooky's neuropathy. It certainly helped Zener. He was walking in his "wrists" and he doesn't at all now.
lIZ
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

I caught Sienne. She'll be here in a bit.

She said skip.

But of course, what do you do tomorrow? and so on?
Sunday, when you said you could do another curve is a few more days.
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

Thank you Rhiannon & Liz. I do believe no shot tonight is the way to go.

Rhiannon- Yes to both questions. :sad:

I crushed them between two spoons. There are a few bigger pieces still. I'll put it in a zip-loc baggie and roll the old rolling pin across it tomorrow. That should show those pieces who's the boss! :lol:


Liz- Progress, yes. Slow as molasses progress- double yes. But progress none the less. :smile:

Zener's improvement is awesome!!! :-D I was telling DH this morning about the improvement people have seen in their cats after B12. I can't wait to share Zener's progress with him!

Should I add the B12 to maybe just a spoonful to make sure he eats it all, and then give him the rest of his food after he eats the B12 infused food?
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

rhiannon and shadow said:
I caught Sienne. She'll be here in a bit.

She said skip.

But of course, what do you do tomorrow? and so on?
Sunday, when you said you could do another curve is a few more days.
Thank you Rhiannon! <3

I know, right? :-|
Yes, Sunday is the day we can do curves. Looks like another fussy Sunday for Spook!
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

If he's apt to not eat all the food, yes I would do that.

I have the capsules where I can just dump it and I add a little water and stir and try to blend.
It turns the food pink so I try to stir it in in case it has a taste.
so far mine eats it.
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

rhiannon and shadow said:
If he's apt to not eat all the food, yes I would do that.

I have the capsules where I can just dump it and I add a little water and stir and try to blend.
It turns the food pink so I try to stir it in in case it has a taste.
so far mine eats it.
He used to be scarf, scarf, scarf. The past couple of weeks, he's more relaxed. He'll eat 1/4 - 1/3 of his can, then will graze on it from time to time until it's gone.
Okay then- that's what I'll do. I'll give him a spoonful with the B12 first, then give him the rest after. :smile:

I didn't taste the tablets (they're chewable), but did sniff them. Yes, I'm a sniffer :lol: I didn't smell anything that seemed icky or strong. Of course, my nose isn't as sensitive as a cat's, but I think he'll be okay.

I'll look into the capsules. I just wanted to get something *now*, so I could start as soon as possible.
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

You know that for neuropathy, you want methyl B-12? Zobaline is formulated for diabetic cats and is available through Amazon or the manufacturer, LifeLink.

I would skip. If you can't test, there's no way to keep Spooky safe.

As for the morning, there's no way to anticipate what Spooky's numbers will look like. I'm going to presume that numbers will be high and you'll be fine to shoot. If you have a question, please post.
 
Re: 8/29 Spooky AMPS 184, PMBG 109- To Shoot or Not to Shoot

Sienne and Gabby said:
You know that for neuropathy, you want methyl B-12? Zobaline is formulated for diabetic cats and is available through Amazon or the manufacturer, LifeLink.

I would skip. If you can't test, there's no way to keep Spooky safe.

As for the morning, there's no way to anticipate what Spooky's numbers will look like. I'm going to presume that numbers will be high and you'll be fine to shoot. If you have a question, please post.
Thanks for stopping by and confirming Sienne! :smile:

The B12 I bought tonight is the methyl B12. I won't even buy the other type of B12 for myself.
Liz had mentioned Zobaline last night. I will definitely check it out. I just wanted to get started ASAP. What Spooky doesn't take of this brand, guess I can finish. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top