8/29 Smokey AMPS 196, +1: 256, +2: 233, +10: 317, PMPS: 352

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeyD

Member Since 2011
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51040

Well, we finally have some blue numbers! It concerns me slightly that the blue happened AMPS. I'm writing from home this morning so I can keep an eye on him and test him a few times. I gave his full shot (1.75) so I'll test a few times to make sure he doesn't go too low.

Question, Smokey was having some furball issues yesterday... When he was on a high fiber dry food diet this wasn't an issue but what do people do to prevent furball issues in diabetic cats on an all we LC diet?
 
Re: 8/29 Smokey AMPS 196- IN THE BLUE!!! Question!!

Great job with shooting this AM. Definitely get a +1 and a +2.

The commercial hairball remedies typically contain things like lactose (sugar). A little vasoline may work. Adding a fit of oil (fish oil, vegetable oil, etc.) to food will help just don't overdo it or you'll have a messy litterbox!. Also, butter will work.
 
Re: 8/29 Smokey AMPS:196 +1: 256 Question!!

Smokey's +1 was 256- we are on the rise! It would be nice if I could get into work sooner rather than later, I test again for +2 in about 20 min. If that is in the 200's is it safe for me to go to work? Thoughts
 
Re: 8/29 Smokey AMPS 196, +1: 256 Question!!

right after they eat there's always a rise in the BG from the food. that's what you're seeing with the 256.

here's the "typical" curve from: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

i don't see anything on smokey's spreadsheet that would make me stay home - the only thing is that you want to get some of those lowest numbers on the ss so you know how this new dose is affecting him. i'd try to be testing mid-cycle, but until then and after that point, i suspect you're fine going out. well, i should say, i would feel comfortable with it. you have to decide for yourself, but hypoglycemic numbers are under 40 - we treat under 50.
 
Re: 8/29 Smokey AMPS 196, +1: 256, +2: 233

+2 is 233. He ate a small amount of FF kitten 15 min preshot but hasn't grazed since. I'm headed out to work. I'm going to keep at this dose until I can test at around 6 hrs (will try tonight but will mean waking up at ungodly hours!) Thanks everyone!
 
Re: 8/29 Smokey AMPS 196, +1: 256, +2: 233

Hi guys .. what a nice start to the day! I hope that smokey surfed these low yellows for you and maybe even came back down to some blues later on .. it's hard getting up in the middle of the night .. we had three alarm clocks going when we were testing mocha .. and sometimes even then we slept right through ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/29 Smokey AMPS 196, +1: 256, +2: 233

Back up in the pinks at +10 and at PMPS. Will test before going to bed tonight then set alarm for 2am as that is just around +6... On a positive note, Smokey is grooming a lot more recently (thus the furballs) and he was PLAYING!!! On his OWN!!! I've almost never seen him do that. I think he is definitely feeling better today. I'm just hoping that we can stay that way. I'll do a full curve on the weekend...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top