8/29 River AMPS:401 +2:292 +6:272 +7:272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

6:30 401 (22.3) AMPS
6:30 3u Lantus
8:30 365 (20.3)
12:30 272 (15.1)
1:30 272 (15.1)
6:30 355 (19.7)
8:30 329 (18.3)

Last night sounded congested. Gave 1 puff Ventolin. Threw up mucus 6 AM. Gave 1/2 Cerenia with 1st breakfast, 2 puffs Flovent with 2nd breakfast. At 12:30 gave a freeze-dried duck liver treat, so this may have affected the nadir. 1:30 gave 1 Respo-K tablet, quartered, wrapped in liver pate, of which he ate only a quarter.
 
I'm not at all familiar with Respo-K. The product that many of us use for sniffles, etc. is L-lysine. While there's debate over it's effectiveness, there is some research that indicates it's helpful with upper respiratory issues and is an immune system booster.

Unless you see a change in River's numbers this evening, I would suggest increasing his dose to 3.25 tomorrow at AMPS.
 
I've been giving River and his brother l-lysine for quite a while, but I stopped because I wasn't sure if the Vetri-Lysine Plus chews I give them have a lot of carbs. This is the only way they'll ingest lysine, and they love the chews. I just gave River a couple and will search the forum to see if anyone else is using them. I've found Respo-K and Amazapet to be helpful as well. With River, the lysine was good for his upper respiratory problems, but I had his lungs x-rayed a couple of times when I realized the lysine wasn't enough, and found out that his lungs are full of donuts. So he gets the asthma meds as well.

Thank you for the dosage advice. He went low on the first day of the increase to 3u, but has been high ever since. I'd love to get him out of the pinks and reds, so thanks for your help.
 
Lara

The chews have maltodextrin which I would not give to a diabetic cat. There is some discussion about whether it is ok for diabetics to have it but my vet said they should not; the chews also have soy lecithin and I don't let my cats have anything with any type of soy in it as soy, long term, "might" cause anemia in some cats. I use the Viralys powder but I do have to put it in a little needless syringe, add water, shake, and give it to Tobey orally. He's fine with that but doesn't like it in his food.

Come on down River!!!
 
Hi Lara,
I'm sorry to hear River sounded congested last night and threw up in the morning.
I hope he is feeling better now.
Lucy threw up this morning too - maybe they talked?
Lucy used to vomits mucus or liquid in the morning more often before, but it improved significantly since I started giving her a bedtime mini meal (Sienne's advice).
If River is a morning puker, maybe it's worth a try?

And good luck with the dose increase!!!
 
Thank you, dear Marje and Mariko,

Marje, I gave him 4 chews in total, 2 in the afternoon and 2 before bed, and he's high this morning, so maybe that's why. Also I increased his dose this morning to 3.5. I'd really like to give 3.25 as Sienne advised, but with my eyesight I have so much trouble figuring out where the quarter unit is. Thank you for letting me know about the composition of the treats. I'm going to have to find a different way to give lysine. I have powder, but they hate it mixed with their food, or any appealing food such as baby food. I used to cut up lysine tabs and roll them in pate, so maybe I'll have to go back to that.

Mariko, since our cats seem to linked in some way, I appreciate your advice, and I'm glad that Lucy is feeling better! River isn't normally a barfy cat, but the mucus he brought up seemed to have to do with his congestion. As I can't tell whether this is lung or upper resp, I will treat him for both.

I hope Lucy and Gracie have a good day today!

Lara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top