8/29 Reuben PMPS 405 +2/383 +4/340 +6/255 +8/221

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning LL -- Reuben is back up on his platform, waving to the crowds. He threw up in the night, and then we were all up for a looooong while. I guess it`s time for cerenia if he's throwing up on Pepcid. Oh! Sorry for the colorful breakfast table conversation! :lol: He just got .08ml of bupe, as he seemed to be back in meatloaf position, or semi meatloaf, and not liking his food so much. So, how many days of respite did he have? Hmmm...spreadsheet notes say 3 days. I wonder what I can do to keep him from unraveling that fast...

Going back to sleep now until +2 :YMSIGH: We'll see if he does a flying trapeze act or not today. Anything could happen, but my guess is he`s going to sit up there and not take the leap. Only time will tell!

Healing Vines and Hugs to Charlie and Jill - whew! what a wild ride they had! ... and to All the kitties and beans fighting the good fight :YMHUG:

-Alexa
(Zar)
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI

Sorry about that "HI" there, Alexa. Hang in there, ok? I'll take another look at Reuben's SS, but the vomiting and pain are likely the culprits for the high BGs. Are you giving pain meds now, since you've seen pain symptoms? Be right back.
Hugs
Jane

EDITED TO ADD: Ok, back from SS review. Coming up on the sixth cycle on the current dose. Even knowing that pain/stress-combo may be pushing the BG up - IMHO, you may be looking at your next increase (by 0.25u) tomorrow. Let's see what the others think.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI

Hi Alexa,

The hi could also be in response to the low numbers (a bounce). You might want to give the new doses a couple more days than just 3. Some cats need 5 to get over the bouncing from changes and see the new dose in action. Racci is like that. Just a thought.

I hope he comes down for you and feels better today. TTYL

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI

Hi guys .. no advice from me as far as dosing or meds go .. but I continue to send my support your way .. I know it's a lot dealing with all these high numbers and other situations .. You're doing a great job and we're always here if you need to vent! Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416

I know how much you prefer those numbers.
Hope Reuben gets to having them every reading soon so you don't have to see that word you hate so much.

Throwing up always knocks a body out of whack.
You are still doing great even though you are frustrated.
just stay on target. big picture. :-D :? :-x

When it's been a month and you look at the progress for the whole thing so far after so many problems and things to deal with....

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369

jane - okay, i`m ready to go with the increase tomorrow, pending review of today`s numbers. yes, i gave him bupe this morning as soon as i detected pain. thank you!! hugs, Zar.

melanie - thank you for your thoughts, i will check out racci's ss and consider this :razz: .

devon - muchh appreciated support, as always!! :-D

rhiannon - yeah, i think i`m going to do a painting of numbers, they have never had the meaning they do now! ya know, i thought it had already been more than a month, and it`s only 18 days! thanks for the perspective, and for looking in on us :smile:

~O) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369

You could also hold the dose here and get more tests at night. I might do that if I were you because you got Blues at both of the mid-cycle tests (day and night) immediately after you the raised dose to 2.0. That was caused by the shed created by the 1.75 dose most likely EDITED: or the vomiting or both. Question: after he threw up 2x that day did he eat again, and do you think he ate enough before you saw those Blues? The next day he threw up 5x, but his numbers were high -- probably a bounce -- did he make up for all the food he threw up by eating more later that day? He didn't throw up during the day of Aug 28, right -- before you saw those Blues?? but then he did in the night (last night)? END EDIT

I'd be concerned that right now you are seeing bounces from going low in the night which might be making the numbers high instead of the problem being too little insulin. Then, you have the pain and nausea making the numbers higher, too. My concern is because you saw Blues at mid-cycle yesterday, but you have no mid-cycle test for the last 4 nights. However, Jane is much more experienced, and if she thinks raising it is okay, I know she has a very good reason.

Please do get those nighttime mid-cycle tests whether you raise the dose or not, but especially if you raise it. If you start a nausea medication and manage the pain well you might see lower mid-cycles. I just don't want you to miss your correct dose because the secondary illnesses are making your numbers wonky. Knowing how low the BG goes at night will go a long way toward helping you avoid that. EDITED: Also, I don't want you to see big bounces from getting into the Greens at night when you don't know that's why you are seeing high numbers.

Good luck!
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369

Dale, you are absolutely right in asking for the night cycle tests! I didn't think of that as another useful assessment factor. THANK YOU :mrgreen:

Alexa, if you can get those night-time checks, it will help us all determine where Reuben needs to go. We will re-assess where he is tomorrow, ok? He may need more time on this dose - Dale makes excellent observations as always - so it's a waiting game for right now. Hang in there!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369 +6/287

Most Esteemed Jane and Dale:

Ah yes, what have I been thinking not getting mid cycle tests overnight?? Not thinking, really, just assuming he`s high (absurd now that i ponder the perspective... :roll: ). I'll test at night from now on. do we think one mid cycle test is enough? i`ll do whatever you guys think is best.

Waiting makes perfect sense; we loose nothing (essentially) and gain information.

Dale - he keeps eating through the nausea and vomiting mostly. i think the eating is pretty even. but i will keep much better track of it now.

Wheee this is fun! you girls ROCK!!

A gazzilIon hugs to you both! :YMHUG:
Alexa
(- Zar)
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369 +6/287

Hi Alexa, Sorry Reuben gave you HI again but only at PS which is better than some of his earlier cycles. I am glad to hear Reuben keeps eating through it all, no matter what the cat needs to eat. No dosing advice from me of course. As a testing fiend :lol: , I also encourage you to get some PM mid cycle numbers and perhaps even a mini curve, especially if you are already awake anyway. The more you learn about what Reuben's bg does during the night, the better you can plan, knowledge is power. You are doing a great job taking care of Reuben and he could not be in better hands. Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369 +6/287 +7/268

Alexa, I thought the same thing -- his BG was always high -- until I understood what to expect. The bouncing makes it really hard to understand the whole thing. I was worried about all kinds of things - Lantus doesn't work for this cat, it lasts too long, it doesn't last long enough, there's another medical problem, I'm not getting the insulin into him, and on and on. Sometimes, it's just a long, frustrating, waiting game with lots of pin pricks along the way!
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369 +6/287 +7/268 +10/32

Dale - okay, sounds like the nightime testing is going to help us a lot. I think if I slowly move the shoot time to earlier it will be easier to do more testing before I actually get into deep sleep. what`s a good amount of time to shave off on every test in order to move towards a 90 minute earlier shooting time? 15 minutes? i like that he is coming up slowly again. still in the pink at +10. i know, everyone else would be horrified, not happy, with these numbers; but up here in our dizzying world we have a totally different kind of BOS :lol: !!!
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +2.5/416 +4/369 +6/287 +7/268 +10/32

Leslie, I am always very appreciative of your smart (and so supportive) eye on our situation. if it were you, what kind of curve would you do tonight? kitty cuddles to your adorable jasper, the magic mellow cat!

alexa
zar
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +7/268 PMPS 405

PMPS 405, a harbinger of things to come maybe? The 405 freeway is one of the main arteries running through Los Angeles, a sometimes confusing and overwhelming place to try to drive in/or out of, if you don`t live there. Reuben got himself onto the 405!! He`s on his way out of town, HoorraaaaayyyY!! This is my take on the number, cuz ya know - we don`t take numbers for granted over here. :lol: And when we get a Good One, we like to give it Great Significance :razz: :lol:
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +7/268 PMPS 405

Hi Alexa, Every 3 hours is good, I like testing every 2 hours, that will give you a good understanding how Reuben does during the cycle. I sometimes tested every hour to make a detailed curve but thats more than you usually need. The goal is catch his nadir, and learn if it is the same time or different day and night. Play it by ear based on how he tolerates testing for treats. Good luck!
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +7/268 PMPS 405 +2/383

You wrote:
I think if I slowly move the shoot time to earlier it will be easier to do more testing before I actually get into deep sleep. what`s a good amount of time to shave off on every test in order to move towards a 90 minute earlier shooting time? 15 minutes?

Here's a link about changing shot times in a safe way: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65070

I was thinking about doing the same thing in order to avoid getting too deep into sleep before I needed to finish testing, but I can't be shooting at 7 or 8 p.m. unfortunately. Wish I could. Good luck.
 
Re: 8/29 Reuben AMPS HI +7/268 PMPS 405 +2/383

Leslie - perfect, thank you. i`ll (try to) do the 2 hour curve until i think we have identified nadir. -alexa

Dale - excellent link, i`ll do it just like that, thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top