8/29 Pickles amps 126, +4.5 48, +4.75 46, +5.5 68, pmps 68

Hopefully someone more experienced will chime in soon, but here are the guidelines for treating your hypo kitty! Get some high carb food in Pickles, or some syrup/honey if you don't have high carb on hand.

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
 
I gave liver and chicken feast in gravy grilled about 20 mins ago. About to test now. I also have gravy lovers chicken feast. Would that be better?
Anything with gravy is higher carb. So either is fine. Of you havent already it's a good idea to write carb number on top of can with permanent marker.
 
Anything with gravy is higher carb. So either is fine. Of you havent already it's a good idea to write carb number on top of can with permanent marker.
Got it. So currently the one I’m giving is 13% carb. I also have 15 (gravy lovers) and 21 (cheddar delights) available if needed. 20 mins after the 13% tablespoon he was at 68 so that’s good. I just gave more 13% and will test in 20.
 
Got it. So currently the one I’m giving is 13% carb. I also have 15 (gravy lovers) and 21 (cheddar delights) available if needed. 20 mins after the 13% tablespoon he was at 68 so that’s good. I just gave more 13% and will test in 20.
Sounds good if still 60 and above you can give a small tsp of LC and test in an hour
 
Make sure to update your ss and fill in all the numbers. The 49 and below should be lime green. The 50 to 99 should be regular green.

According to what I read you are using a freestyle lite which is human monitor correct?

Also reduction earned down to 1.25u starting with next shot. Be aware the larger depot will be in play up to 6 cycles (3 days). So you may need to help keep above 50 with mc or HC food.
 
Yea, if you look at my previous post you’ll see what’s going on. I was at 1.5 but then had to do a sitter dose of 1 for a week. Once I was home I did 1.25 thinking I should work my way back up to 1.5 and someone told me to do 1.5 this am.
Got it.well the 48 and 46 qualified for a reduction at any rate
 
Got it.well the 48 and 46 qualified for a reduction at any rate
Ok good to know. I just did the pmps and it’s 68 ugh. What do I do!?
Edit - stalled and tested 10 mins later and it’s 78.

I wasn’t able to stall any longer. Gave him 1.25u and will plan to leave either medium or high carb in his timed feeder overnight.
 
Last edited:
Ok good to know. I just did the pmps and it’s 68 ugh. What do I do!?
Edit - stalled and tested 10 mins later and it’s 78.

I wasn’t able to stall any longer. Gave him 1.25u and will plan to leave either medium or high carb in his timed feeder overnight.
You did it exactly right. Just monitor...sorry I wasnt available when you posted. I'm at work and have to rely on breaks to check in
 
Also reduction earned down to 1.25u starting with next shot.
FYI - Pickle is a long term diabetic, as his date of diagnosis was over a year ago. Plus he's a relapsed diabetic and we make it a little harder to earn a reduction to make sure it sticks. For a long term diabetic, reductions are earned if they go under 40, or a week in mostly green. Alternatively, for cats that don't hold reductions well, caregivers can choose to wait for three drops between 40 and 49 on separate days.

Having said that, he did a huge drop last night to +2.5 and there was no testing after that. He could have gone much lower last night.
 
FYI - Pickle is a long term diabetic, as his date of diagnosis was over a year ago. Plus he's a relapsed diabetic and we make it a little harder to earn a reduction to make sure it sticks. For a long term diabetic, reductions are earned if they go under 40, or a week in mostly green. Alternatively, for cats that don't hold reductions well, caregivers can choose to wait for three drops between 40 and 49 on separate days.

Having said that, he did a huge drop last night to +2.5 and there was no testing after that. He could have gone much lower last night.
Got it sorry I missed that!
 
@Wendy&Neko here we go again! Amps was 99 so I have 1.25. He was 49 at +2.5. I have some MC, retested 15 mins and was at 48. Gave more MC, retested at 79. Then I gave a but of LC and plan to test an hour later. So my question is… this probably doesn’t mean a reduction, right? Since maybe the 1.5 from Sunday is still messing with him?
 
Back
Top