8/29 Neko AMPS 62 PMPS 186

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday, night of pukus. Thanks for the late night, early morning vines.

8/28 Recap:
AMPS 158 +5 272 +10 203
PMPS 169 +3 242 +8 119

Last night was one I'd like to forget. :roll: After Neko ate her +1 snack, she puked it all up. There was some hair in there too, not sure how much of main supper stayed in her. Neko was off her food. :shock: Neko is NEVER off her food. She's always liked food and she's been a classic acrocat with a great (maybe too great) appy. I did get her to eat some Wellness Turkey and Salmon. I got up again at +8 to see how she was and she ate most of the rest of what would have been her dinner portion of Wellness. It didn't help that during the testing and food tempting, some a**** in the neighbourhood was letting of fire crackers. At 3:30 AM. :twisted: :twisted: Poor Neko was trying to hide while I was trying to get her to eat.

So this morning I wake up to a 62. :o She showed interest in food, ate 3/4 of her raw food, then went out on the deck for a while. I decided things were good but I'd give a reduced dose. And I gave her a tsp of HC. 10 minutes after the shot she promptly puked up again. I waited half an hour, got her bupe into her and fed more Wellness with a lick of karo. An hour after PS she was up to 121 - Whew! So I set up the autofeeder and headed out rowing. Thank goodness for late onsets. Otto's food was gone when I got home. I saw her eat a tiny bit of her +1 raw before I left. But I have no idea who's ate Otto's food. Theo's been hanging around like a dirty shirt. Three years of Neko stealing his food before he's done and now it's his turn to play land shark and she was letting him. And she was getting canned food - nom nom!!

So other than seeming a bit quiet, she is walking around, we've had some purrs. I have a vetty appointment in 1.5 hours. It's not Neko's vet, but it is the one who got us onto Lantus from Caninsulin and recommended FDMB, so I'm feeling pretty good about that.

Another item on the agenda is picking up more Cowboy Cookout. I went to give her some from the fridge, but it had gone bad after a week in the fridge. FF Gravy Lovers always lasts longer than that. Hmmm. :? I do have some Weruva high carb on hand but want something she likes. The FF I gave her this morning was what she tossed up.

What a day! I needed the row to get out my frustrations. DH asked what I'd be doing today and the answer was - hovering over Neko. :lol: Any tummy settling vines you could send this way would be much appreciated.
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 - vetty later

What a stressful start to the day, for both you and Neko. Sending many good tummy vines, and good vetty vines, too.

I hope the vet can shed some light on the problem and Neko is feeling better this afternoon.
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 - vetty later

Paws crossed for our pal Neko. We'll be watching for the vetty report.

Anne
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 - vetty later

Poor Neko and poor you. I hope she's okay and nothing serious going on there. I hope the vet figures it out for you. I'm sure you already are thinking of this but I sure wouldn't head home without cerenia to inject in case she needs some for the weekend. Keep us posted and I'm sending vines your way.
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 - vetty later

Tons of vines for Neko and big hugs for you, Wendy. Keep us posted.
Liz
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 - vetty later

i'm thinking the only time punkin lost his appy was when he had pancreatitis. it didn't involve puking, but i think different cats manifest symptoms differently. hope they check Neko for that - and fingers crossed it's nothing serious. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 - back from vet

I'll reply in more detail later. Result is nothing conclusive, she got a cerenia shot and ate some more when we got home.
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 +9 183 - back from vet

How stressful. I hope the cerenia helps. Sending prayers for Neko and hugs to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 +9 183 - back from vet

+6 187 just before vet, then +9 183
Today I'm happy with blues. She had a bit of raw and another tablespoon of WN at +9. Her appy seems a bit better now. As per the vet, I'll give her Pepcid BID and we'll see tomorrow how it goes whether I need more Cerenia. He's not in tomorrow but said he'd write on the file that I can get some. Vet's office is open Saturday and Sunday this weekend. In the mean time, wonderful Mariko has offered me the meds she has, so I can always get those if I need and it those around should something like this happen again.

Visit with Dr. Joe was good. He's the vet that showed me how to home test. :cool: He was up front today and said he was stumped on diagnosis and treatment. He tends to be more on the conservative side and said that often these sorts of things resolve within a day or two, so since she is eating some, he said to watch her blood sugar and if it rises, then we start to worry more and bring her in for further diagnostics. He's on the conservative side of treatment and said he's subject her to bloodwork (last was 2 months ago) and X-rays if things got worse. He made an interesting comment. He said that in vet school people are told to encourage visits right away if something is off, because 60% resolve by themselves within a day or two and you look good if you get them in early. Hmm.

We had a good chat about acromegaly. He had seen an acrocat in a previous practice. He had diagnosed the kitty with FD and since it was large, had started him on 2U of Lantus. But had a vet tech who was supposed to know what she was doing do the consult with caregivers on injections, cause he was away that day. Kitty seemed to be doing OK on subsequent visits, but still had high BG. One day the caregiver mentioned they were running out of their vial and since he was surprised it was so early, asked them to show him the amount they were giving kitty - turns out it was 20U BID!

@Tricia, Anne, Elise, Liz, Deanna, Julie - OK now I can really sympathize with people who have cats with low appy. Thanks for the vines, they seem to be helping. I just got some spontaneous purrs when I gave her the Pepcid in a pill pocket. :-D I hope it means she's feeling better.
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 +9 183 - back from vet

Hi Wendy, I am sending prayers that Neko will regain her appetite and will back to her usual self.
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 +9 183 - back from vet

Tummy and appy vines headed to Neko - time to eat your noms, Miss!

What an interesting visit with your vet, Wendy. I had to read it about three times before I understood what the vet told you about getting people to bring their pets in early for treatment.

Hopefully it is something transient that resolves on its own in a day or two. Looking lovely in blue today!
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 +9 183 - back from vet

More tummy healing vines to Neko. So glad you got her in to see Dr. Joe. he sounds like a very nice guy! I'm hoping you won't need the meds.

20u BID!! Wow. He was probably amazed at how great Neko has been doing.

Hope she continues a flat blue surf and you get some rest. Soul Sista told the other Soul Sista that she needs to send her mama bean (you) the "Dear Mom" letter. :lol: :lol: :lol: I received it twice in the last few weeks. ;-)
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 +9 183 - back from vet

Wendy, my vet is conservative as well. Way before Max was officially diagnosed with pancreatitis and before the fPL there were times when he had lost his appetite. Dr. M. would always say it's probably a little pancreatitis and should go away in a few days. Once he had me get cyproheptadine. That was after Max's bladder was pierced. Sounds like a good vet to me. Appy vines being sent your way.
 
Re: 8/29 Neko AMPS 62 +1 121 +4.5 150 +9 183 - back from vet

I like the sound of your vet, too.

Sending appy vines for Neko (how strange to say that!)! Eat, baby, eat! :razz:
 
Just had to check in and am I relieved to read that Neko was able to eat and had some Pepsid in her. (I don't see a today condo so I am posting on this one) I hope Neko continues to eat better and quit barfing, poor little girl! nailbite_smile I am sending tons more feel better/appetite vines and hugs for the both of you. Nothing like a good endorphin releasing work out to get the stress out-despite today's crappy weather, I hope you got another work out in! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Well Neko we are all not used to your not eating and not being well! You are scaring us all!

Wendy You are a GREAT Momma bean! I am so glad you have Dr. Joe and that he is so kind.

Sending appy vines for beautiful Neko! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top