8/29 Michael AMPS 344 +7 202 PMPS 204 +2 253

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/29 Michael AMPS 344

I am sure someone will be along to correct me if I am wrong, but here is my understanding of them:

A food spike typically will take place within 1-2 hours of feeding, I am not sure if it is ANY food or if it has to be a significant amount in order to cause a food spike.

A bounce happens when either a cat drops super quick (say at 300 and drops to 150 in an hour or so) OR when the cat spends some times in numbers that s/he considers low....the key to that is it what the cat considers low.....Remember our sugarbabies probably spent considerable time at higher numbers before they were diagnosed and their bodies got used to that. So when the mean humans come in and start injecting things and making the numbers go to a NORMAL range, the cat goes "Oh eh, eh oh...what the heck?" As it reads the numbers as too low, the pancreas does its thing and releases something that has a technical name that I don't know :-D but it results in trying to compensate for the perceived lower numbers.

As cats get used to the lower numbers, the bounces HOPEFULLY not only come less frequently, but don't last as long and aren't as bad....

Not sure if that helps or not, and again, I am sure someone will be along to correct anything I may have misstated....
 
Re: 8/29 Michael AMPS 344

Thanks, Molly
If this is another bounce it will take another 3 days to clear. I better put on my pretty patience pants! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/29 Michael AMPS 344

They don't ALWAYS take that long to clear.....depends on what Michael feels like doing :lol:
 
Re: 8/29 Michael AMPS 344

right - 3 days is the longest bounces last. as a cat gets more used to normal numbers, the bounces usually don't go as high and don't last as long. as a cat is giving up bouncing, the "bounce" might only go to 150 and last 2 hours. In the beginning they're more dramatic (600?) and might last the entire 3 days.

BOUNCING

Here is an example of a bounce from someone's recent condo:

you can spot a bounce this way (this only took me 6 months to learn and a bunch of people explaining it! i'm a slow learner!)

yesterday morning you had a 215 - then it went 235, 271, 270, and then 308 this morning - basically straight up. no curve. and then look backwards in the ss and the night before was that sweet little 148 12 hours earlier.

if you imagine that night-time cycle, starting at 148, kitty probably went down in a nice little curve, hitting something under 100 mid-cycle. that lower-than-usual number would've shocked her body. they get accustomed to whatever range they're in, and any sudden dip lower can set this off.

"HELLO WE"VE GOT A 911 HERE- KITTY'S GOING DOWN!" yells Mr. Liver. Fortunately, mr liver has a storehouse of counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugar (in case kitty needs a little nommy sweets in the middle of the night) and when Kitty gets into a range of numbers lower than usual, Mr. Liver lets loose with the sugar and the hormones and sends Kitty on a rocket to the moon. this is the cat's body's protective mechanism to keep the cat from becoming hypoglycemic. unfortunately, mr liver doesn't seem to know that anything above 40ish isn't a crisis and it will do this regardless of the range of numbers, even at 200 if the cat has become accustomed to 400.

A second cause of a bounce is if a cat drops very quickly. 100 points in an hour, for example, regardless of the range the BG number is in, can cause a bounce as well.

So, what to do now? don't increase the dose because of these higher numbers. once this bounce clears, which can take up to 3 days of high numbers if mr liver is super-active, then if you had increased the dose, it would be too high. you are entering the phase of treatment that we say requires "Patience Pants." when you think you're seeing a bounce, you have to wait it out, then you can see what the dose really does. You will know the bounce has cleared when you start seeing numbers you were seeing before - like that 148 again.

A food spike is what we call it right after a cat eats if their blood sugar goes up immediately. Some cats don't get a food spike - just depends on the cat. It's a temporary rise from the carbs they just ate and it's usually gone within 2 hours. As long as you haven't fed between +10 and preshot, you're not measuring a food spike at preshot. That's just the normal end of a cycle, or it might be a bounce number, but it's not a food spike.

nice job on the smileys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top