8/29 Maggie AMPS 193 +1 167 PMPS 220 +1 178 No Poo at office

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77989

Yesterday
AMPS 199
+4 206
+6 217 Off to Vetty all day
Shot 3.5 hrs late
+15 176
+1.5 160
+8 144 Lots of mini meals last evening and until +10, hungry kitty!

Morning ~O) ~O) well, Maggie is doing quite well considering her day at the Vetty yesterday. She does not seem traumatized at all and acts like she just had a day away yesterday! The Bean was a nervous wreck. I managed about three hours' sleep! I had a chance to look at my statement, and Mags had two enemas yesterday and 400 ml fluids. She sure has made huge pee deposits, thanks to fluids.

Good news with an average bm deposit. Mags woke me up near 12 am, but I managed to stay in bed until 1 am when she made two prezzie deposits and apparently wanted an audience, me! :-D One prezzie is a nice 4 inches, and the other is not quite 2 inches, probably more info than she wants me telling all of you! :-D It's good consistency, not too soft or hard and not too wide that she had a hard time with it. I need to drop her off again today at the Vet early 8 am. There is still more to come out and more enemas! Apparently she had more problems than I realized with part of her spine fusing and also the pellet lodged near nerve endings.......affecting her intestinal motility. I'll get more info on it today. Maggie's Vet is not there today, but she's in good hands with the other two, and the Vet Techs. She gets a lot of attention there, as she's so submissive with them. I have a feeling with the next enema, things will move along more smoothly.
Thanks again for all your vines, support and hugs for Maggie. The support here is so amazing. I hope to visit more condos today.
Shai and Marje, thanks for your visits after I logged off last night.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

Yay for prezzies! I hope today does the trick for the rest of it. Too funny on wanting an audience! :lol: I still can't believe it about the pellet. The things you find with xrays. Have a great day Ann! Maybe get out a little and shop while Mags is at the spa. :-D
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

This is an excellent report!!! One more trip to the vetty ought to get things in line for our sweet girl. And, now you have some answers about what is causing her issues...even though this sort of thing happens over and over, I'm always still so stunned at how cruel and nasty people can be.

More poo vines coming your way, Mags! In the next report, we want to hear about Zoomies!!!
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O)

WOO HOO!! We have prezzies!! That is good news. :-D :-D :-D :-D GO MAGS!! I think it is too funny that she wanted you to know. I often think that cats are very attuned to what we are feeling, and when things are what we hope for they want to make sure we know. I am with Amy - I want to hear about Zoomies!

It is very interesting about all that has been discovered with Maggie: the pellet, spine fusion, GI motility etc. I think all will be manageable for you, know that you know what is going on with Maggie.

God vetty vines today for Maggie! She is so good when she is there. They all must love her.

Have a good day today Ann.

Maggie!! no worries!! the KTSS will be with you today. We can camp out some at the vettys. We are all so good at them DR disguises, they will never know See you! ~ Mannie
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

I again shot a reduced dose, as it seemed yesterday they gave a lot of fluids. I'll make sure they test her today. I can always carb her up with FF T&G, too! Greek yogurt, yum!


Melissa, it is funny with wanting an audience! :lol:

Amy, I hope today is the last one. They mentioned several!:( I miss those zoomies, too!

Michelle, I agree that cats are really attuned to what we're feeling. Yes, a lot of info there that I learned yesterday. Thanks for all the vines.
Mannie, thanks so much for comin to visit and remove Vetty smell. See ya soon, Mags
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

Hi Ann - I had wondered if you sot a reduced dose today. Good I think, since she will be back at the vetty. I hope they will monitor her while she is there. No doubt Mags will be happy to think she can have some FF T&G!
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

Congratulations on nice prezzies from Maggie! And wanting an audience too, guess she knows what you have been watching for :lol: .
Sorry to hear about the pellet, what is wrong with people... At least now you know its there and can deal with that.
Hope Maggie has another great vet visit and you both have a great day!
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

Whoever did that to Maggie, and whoever does similarly heinous things to any creature, will - I like to believe - get what's coming to them. Like a subsequent life as a toilet brush :mrgreen: (((Maggie))) I'm sending you lots of Reiki and vines - I hope you don't even remember what happened, and that now all you realize every day is how much you're loved!

Ann - hooray on a successful LB-Watch!!
Happy Fursday!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

+1 167

Yikes, this is unusual and also on a reduced dose, barely touching the line, maybe two drops vs. the 5 drops. I fed some FF T & G and will give more. I'll take some with me so they can feed her a little anyway.
She's had quite a bit to eat since home, but mini meals.

Thanks Leslie and Jane so much on the prezzies. I know it's hard to imagine shoting a young kitty with a pellet, and I do believe in the karma, too. Thanks on the Reiki and vines. I wonder if that's why she's so loving and submissive; she's so grateful to have a home and keeps thanking me. The Vet Tech said she gives lots of headbutts and purrs to them.

Off to vetty shortly, Will catch up later on condos.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193

Hi Ann,

That's great news that Maggie went on her own last night and today! I'm so happy to hear that. She must really have a large block if they still want to do more enemas! Poor Maggie! I wonder what they will recommend as a regular routine to keep her from having this problem again in light of her spinal problem.

Maggie definitely knew you would want to know she was pooping! Just like Racci always lets me know. They're smart and can understand that we're waiting for that poo to come so they let us know it's here. :smile: She sounds like she was quite proud to please you. ;-)

Good luck at the vet today. I'll be waiting for an update.

Hugs,
Melanie & Raccio
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

Mags is lucky you are her bean, that is for sure! By Detective Poo's calculations, still 8" to go. That's a lot of poo. Great to see some action. Go Maggie!
Liz
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

Hi guys .. YAY FOR PREZZIESSSSSSSSS!! I hope the vetty visit today takes care of the rest of what needs to come out and then she is right back on schedule! Is the pellet causing part of her BM problems? I am sure you'll get your answers today .. poor sweet maggie ..
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

:-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D YAY PREZZIES! She was well aware of how much time you have been spending checking her LB. She had to have you watch! :lol: :lol: :lol: Good luck w/ the rest of it today!

Mags!KTSS has you on the list! We'll keep you company at the vetty's (I hope you don't need to stay so long today!) Good for you getting thebean up to watch too! -- Tess
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

Oh my, thank you all for the visits. I'm overwhelmed with all the support for Maggie. I told Maggie she's being talked about a lot with her privates but it's all with love. :-D
Thanks Dale, Jane, Rhiannon, Ann & Tess, Devon, Liz aka Detective Poo, and Melanie for the visits while gone.

Maggie's at the spa at the Vetty. I brought some of her food for them to feed if they decide. Mags did have quite a bit to eat since she came home and this morning. One of the Vets just called, and I can pick her up about 4:30 pm. The Vet said she did a good poo here at 1 am, and they'd still like to see if she can deposit the rest. She still has some there that needs to come out, if not there, hopefully at home again. They will check her bg, give fluids. Heart and lungs are good.
The Vet said the Cisapride will be a big help and also she will need to go back on Lactulose. I didn't know this, but apparently there are different flavors Lactulose. Maggie's Vet gave her a flavor that's pretty icky, according to this Vet. My Vet has the day off, so she's following up.
This Vet I spoke with had same problem with her kitty, so apprently it can be common with older kitties and some Manx kitties, but not all. I'll let you know when I have her home, but it looks like this will be her last day.

Vet said the Cisapride will be a big help and also she will need to go back on Lactulose.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

Great news!!!! Glad she gave them a prezzie and hopefully will leave the rest there as well. :-D Glad she is moving along and I know you will be happy to get her back home. ((((Hugs))))
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

Good news on the overnight prezzies! Almost half way there. Good girl Maggie, also for making sure your bean knew so she could sleep better. It's sweet to hear that she is doing head butts and purrs at the vets. She must be feeling comfortable there. It's also good to know you are dealing with a vet who has experienced the same issues with her own kitty.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

Ann, I can't tell you how happy I am to hear that Maggie got relief, last night. Oh gosh, how sweet that she wanted you to see what she was doing for you. :-D Isn't it amazing, that she knew you wanted to know? Really.. she was aware that it was important to you. Sweet girl! o:-)

It must be so nice for the staff at the clinic, that she's so good, for them. :-D
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

You must be picking her up now. So glad she's better. Hope that prezzie is a gift to the vet, and she doesn't bring it home to you!
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

I'm glad to hear Maggie gave you some prezzies and was feeling well this morning. Hopefully today's vet visit goes just as well. I can't believe someone shot her. How evil. I once took in a kitten that had a broken leg. It's amazing what some people will do.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

Hi Melissa, thanks, it would be nice if she could leave them some prezzies, too! :-D She will probably save it for home.

Wendy, it is so nice that this Vet has first hand experience with the constipation issues with her own pet and can pass on her experiences and what helped her kitty.

Hi Barb & Checkers, thanks so much. It was so cute she woke me up before the big event last night/early morning so i could participate! The Staff there at the Clinic really enjoys seeing her as she practically becomes limp.

Dale, still here yet; Vet said stop in about 4:00 - 4:30. Hope I'll have a good report for Detective Poo!

Thanks Carla for all your support, I think the visit will go well today. The poor kitty with the broken leg. I know, it's just so heartbreaking to hear these things of cruelty to pets.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167

OMG I missed this whole vetty event I am so so sorry!!! I am overjoyed she had POO and that she made it so well through 2 vetty visits!!! I guess we all get these problems when we get older, cats & people...
Poo problems seem to be top on the agenda here in LL...
Our prayers & Healing vines to our dear Friend Maggie & to you Ann for heroics in the face of vet events!!
Love you both-Many Healing Hugs from us!!
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

PMPS 232
PMPS 220 at Vetty

Thanks so much Roni for your heartfelt support and vines! it's been a two day event with no prezzies delivered at the office!! :?
Now what do I tell Detective Poo? :?
You guys won't believe this, but Maggie gave no Prezzies at the Hospital. :? The Vet said she is plenty lubricated and hydrated, but she feels Maggie is waiting to do prezzies in her own comfort zone, the same as last night! The Vet said Maggie was in view of everyone so they could keep an eye on her, and maybe she just wants to do it in her own time. I guess she wasnt really ready. I am to give her both Miralax and a small dose of Lactulose this evening.
I asked her about the pellet, and she feels it isn't interfering with her motility since it's been there for 12 years and just now is when she's had the colon issues.
Maggie has "Megacolon"! Here's what happens; I just copied a small part. The Cisapride, which hopefully will be at the Vet's tomorrow will help the colon to contract. Also we'll be using the Lactulose.

Sometimes the colon loses its ability to contract, and as a result, relaxes and enlarges, resulting in a colon that's much larger in diameter than the anus is. When this happens, stool fills up in the oversized colon and can't easily pass out of the body. And sadly, a majority of the time, the stool can't pass out of the body at all. Over time, the colon continues to draw moisture out of the stool, making the stool harder and even more difficult to pass out of the body.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

I'm glad Maggie is moving things along on her own. She's such a lady -- she didn't want to poo in public but she did want her bean to know that all of your efforts paid off.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

Just getting caught up on condos now as I've been without internet. Yay for the lb action at home but sorry to hear that Maggie has megacolon! I guess that would explain why she is able to hold so much in at a time. I hope she will get the urge to clean herself out soon. Hugs to you Ann. I know how worrisome this can be.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

I'm glad Maggie is moving things along on her own. She's such a lady -- she didn't want to poo in public but she did want her bean to know that all of your efforts paid off
.
:lol: :lol: I think som too, Sienne! It's so like Maggie!

Thanks Tamara, it sure does explain how she's able to hold it in with the enlarged colon. I wasn't sure it was Megacolon, but this Vet confirmed it. I thought it was just like Zener with slowed down motility. The good thing is now we know how to treat it.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

I'm sorry Maggie didn't give them prezzies. She likes her own space and wants to go in private like a lady. Bummer on the megacolon. Hope the meds are at the vet tomorrow so you can get started. Does she go back in again tomorrow? Thinking only good poo thoughts for Maggie and hugs to you!
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

Maggie, always the lady! I'm glad you have answers and a plan! Now, once again Mags, give up the POOOOOOO!
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

Thanks Melissa, exactly with Maggie wanting her privacy. :lol: No, she doesn't need to return tomorrow. Someone from Vet's office will call and get a report on whether she delivers prezzies. Vet was fairly sure she would go at home with the enema help and fluids.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

Hi Ann & Maggie,
I'm just getting caught up on Maggie's yesterday and today. Oh my, what a time you have been having! We are very glad that Mags is pooping in her familiar lb at home, even though she is depriving the vet and vet techs of the pleasure of seeing their efforts rewarded. :smile:
I hope that the meds and laxatives will correct the megacolon. That must be very uncomfortable for Maggie. We are sending "good poop" vines this evening, and hoping that tomorrow will bring much more relief for your sweet kitty.

Lots of :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193; +1 167; PMPS 220 No Poo at office

Hi Ann,

I was afraid it might be megacolon. I'm sorry it turned out that way but at least now you know what it is and can properly care for her. I had looked it up in the past for Racci. I thought she might have been developing it before I got her under control. Manx's & Ragdolls are prone to it more so than other cats and males more than females from what I read but it is controllable which is the important thing.

I can't believe how much poor Maggie had inside her! I hope she's gone by now or does shortly and you are all having a good restful night. It's so great that Maggie is good for the vet. Racci behaves for the vet but is very unhappy to be there and makes it known. :lol:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193 +1 167 PMPS 220 +1 178 No Poo at of

+1 178
Well, she's coming down nicely so far. I went back to the usual dose.

Amy, :-D let's hope she listens and gives up the poo.

We are very glad that Mags is pooping in her familiar lb at home, even though she is depriving the vet and vet techs of the pleasure of seeing their efforts rewarded
Ella, they did seem a little disappointed :lol: but realize she may want her own lb. I got the Lactulose and Miralax in her, so there's no excuse for some "healthy" poo tonight, Liz's words for Zener! :-D

Melanie & Raccci, thanks so much! I also had a suspicion it might be megacolon but was hoping it was just a bad case of constipation. Now there is so much more information and help for it. I'm anxious to start the Cisapride. It had to be done by a compounding pharmacy and then sent to the Vet's office. I should have it by tomorrow. I'm glad Racci is doing okay in this area.
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193 +1 167 PMPS 220 +1 178 No Poo at of

Hi Ann- Megacolon huh. wow - I guess that perhaps I has better keep an eye on my guy, being Manx and all. He alwyas delivers, so maybe he is one of the lucky ones. I hope to read tomorrow about prezzies being delivered. I love the thought that Mags is too much of a lady to deliver prezzies there, in public.

Hope your day has been a good one. I know how stressful this all can be. Seems like you have a good plan going forward and Maggie should be just fine. :-D :-D :cool:
 
Re: 8/29 Maggie AMPS 193 +1 167 PMPS 220 +1 178 No Poo at of

My goodness, I'm so sorry you've been through all this, but like everyone else, I'm really glad you have an answer and a medication you will get soon!

Give Maggie a pat for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top