8/29 Fitzel - AMBG-77/PMPS-284

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fitzel's Condo

The Pirate came through last night fairly well. I will be lowering her dose back to .1u or 1drop or whatever that is equivalent to.

Testing time is deteriorating rapidly. For awhile she was resigned to it. Treats didn't interest her as she knew what was coming and didn't want to eat them. Lovings were lavished, but she remained unresponsive, so I decided the best thing to do was to just get it over with and allow her to leave on her own. Followed up later by lots of petting. But now, she's more pirate then cat. Growling and hissing and spitting and trying to scratch and claw her way out of my grasp. I know I can resort to the burrito if necessary - but I'd really hate to do that.

It's gotten so bad with her, she won't eat until Judith and I are out of the kitchen. That seemed to have been the issue when she wasn't eating. She would just watch us and wait. When we were safely in another room, then she started to eat. She doesn't want any affection from me or Judith at this point. If we call her she won't come and this is new. If we approach she trots away and further away if we follow. Any type of gesture to pet her results in ears flat back and growling. She has a funny growl - but this is not funny anymore.

Come test time I herd her to the back of the house where I can close off the hallway and grab her. Mostly by the scruff of the neck with her fighting. If she stops fighting she just tenses in my arms as we go to the couch to test. This is not a life for this kitty. This is breaking our hearts. We feel very grateful to this board and to those who've come forward with love, support and valuable advice. But, as I said last night, even with all the puzzle pieces in front of me I can't seem to make this work for Fitzel. Or for us.

The alternatives are bleak. Fitz is 12 years old. We can't see this as her life. It's not fair to her. Yet putting her down solely because of this is also unfair and beyond anything my soul could bear. So many people here and before we ever showed up here have made this work. Tried and put all they had into their kitties. I had always thought myself of the same mold. Evidently, not so much anymore.

And now there's the issue of checking for ketones, and strips and new LB's or other paraphernalia. Overwhelming and watching Fiztel right now hiding under our piano, afraid to be in her own home, utterly distrusting of her mommies. This is hell. No fire. No flame. Just watching your kitty hide because she's terrified of you. Truly. Really. Terrified.
 
Re: 8/29 Fitzel - AMBG-77

I can empathize with you.

My girl has a fairly low threshold for stress because of her own experiences already.
I know that if her lipoma's start growing again and become cancerous and are invasive internally that I will face weighing on quality of life issues vs how long to make her suffer thru it.

But each day brings new feelings and change and Fitzel could be more tolerant tomorrow so I would start counting the days of good vs bad and really weigh that heavily.
 
Re: 8/29 Fitzel - AMBG-77

I'm so sorry you are struggling. It's very sad. I wouldn't want to end her life either. Hopefully, she will go OTJ, and all of this can stop. For now, you are in my thoughts.
 
Re: 8/29 Fitzel - AMBG-77

Hi Shai,
Sometimes, when things look totally bleak, they miraculously improve. I hope this will be the case with Fitzel. Keep trying to make the testing something that she realizes is necessary to help her feel better. Try explaining the whole thing to her. It sounds silly, but many people have found that it works.
Sending positive thoughts your way,

Ella & Rusty
 
Rhiannon,
Liz,
max&emmasmommie
Ella

Have you been here? You're positive thoughts and hugs are so welcome. I want to pass them on to Fitz - let her know so many people in so many different parts of this world care about her. Want her to get well. Want her life to be better.

I do tell her. Because yes, like you Ella I too believe they understand every word we say. I just don't think right now she believes me.

I haven't given up yet. I was just feeling so low this morning. So frustrated and sad and cruel. In my head I know I'm not being cruel. That what I'm doing is to help her, but in my heart all I see is her misery and distrust. When you lose your kitties trust, lose their love, do you think they can ever regain these feelings when what caused them to feel so betrayed is still going on? I miss her. We're in the same house and I'm so lonely for my Fitz.

She was high tonight - I expected a bounce. I did give her the reduced dose of insulin and am keeping my fingers crossed. She's in the kitchen right now eating her dinner.

I know you are all going through, or have gone through, some version of this - hopefully not so extreme. Thank you for allowing me to vent.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Shai
 
Wow- 284 tonight- This is from the 36 at + 4 last night from 3 consecutive doses at 0.25-(which you know means dose reduction-back to 1 drop) Fitzel can bounce for sure which can also cause her to be hissy and *****y...Tell her if she doesn't change her attitude I will come visit with test strips :-D
(((Shai, Judith & Fitzel))) Sending cyber hugs to all of you-

Do not forget to get the bonita flakes...my kids cannot get enough of them...
 
(((Shai, Judith and Fitzel)))


I'm so sorry you're having to struggle as you are - all of you. This does sound bleak. Still, I had one thought when I read that you suspect Fitzel doesn't believe you when you tell her you love her and are doing all this to keep her safe and get her healthy...

Would you consider trying to have a "conversation" with Fitzel using an animal communicator?

I know that quite a lot of folks here have tried that - we have also - and there can be some very helpful results. Scepticism towards this method is common, and of course everyone must make up their own mind about it. But I wanted to mention it as an option, because I've read (and experienced) some startling stories about what can become apparent when an animal is given a chance to communicate what's on their mind, and to understand what's on the bean's mind, too.

There are other options down the line as well, but for now, I'd like to hear what you think of this one.
Many hugs to you all,
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top