8/29 Ella pmps 367 (internet fixed:)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78001

Hello everyone:)

The last two days we've been having super wonky internet but it seems like we're good to go now:) Thanks to all who visited with dental advice. Sienne, I took a list of your vet's questions with me to the consultation today. It was a helpful framework for our discussion so thank you very much! :YMHUG:
I decided to go with the specialist that lives closer to us as I read some fantastic reviews about her. Upon inspection of her mouth, it appears that Ella has some gingivitis and stage one periodontal disease. She will be able to know more once she has seen the xrays but says that it's a possibility that she may not need to pull any teeth. Pretty big difference than what the last vet said, hey? She appeared very knowledgeable and interested in Ella. We talked at great length about Ella's diabetes and she was very impressed at how much we knew and how diligent we were. She is fond of Rand's dosing protocol and I told her about FDMB and how it has been a lifeline for us since her diagnosis. She was concerned that Ella hasn't shown signs of regulation since beginning Lantus and offered to connect us with vets that were very knowledgeable about diabetes to take a good look at her holistically to see if there is something we could do to improve her numbers. Obviously her mouth issues may be playing a part in her poor numbers but if she is still difficult to regulate afterwards, we will consider it. We're looking for a new vet anyways so it would be a bonus if we could connect with one that really understood diabetes.

Her numbers are still stinky but I'm hoping she will clear this bounce soon. I'm not sure if I will increase or not as she will be going for dental on Tuesday.

My thoughts are with all who are in the midst of Hurricane Isaac. Sending you comfort vines as you wait for it to pass.
.
 
Welcome back! I'm glad you got the network issues sort out. It sounds like you found a really great specialist near you. Paws crossed that the dental will go smoothly with few if any extractions. The idea of a vet who really knows diabetes does sound very appealing. I wonder how the specialist would know who those are?

Come on down Ella - you've worn that pink dress for long enough now.
 
Good deal having your lifeline still connected!
Nothing worse than unable to connect especially if you need support.

Nice fast appointment for the dental and you'll get answers real fast about how much those teeth are affecting bg.
It all sounds good. :thumbup
 
I'm glad the information was helpful.

It sure sounds like the vet dentist was easy to deal with and supportive of what you're doing with Ella.

It does look to me like Ella needs more insulin. What about increasing her dose tomorrow?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top