8/29 Billie PMPS 310 +4 220 dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124327

I have been itching to increase Billie's dose for a while now and holding off because I didn't know what other health issues were going on/her appy was questionable/she did have some moments in green. But, the AB seems to be helping. Her appy is a little off, but not by too much. Yesterday, she didn't eat as much with her PS meals, but came back to eat a lot at +3. Today, she devoured her PS meal and has been grazing ever since.

We haven't seen green in 10 cycles. The past 4 cycles have been particularly unimpressive, and I don't want her to stay high. What do you think about increasing tonight? Or tomorrow night if I should keep an eye on the appy a little longer?

Any help is much appreciated!! Thank you! I hope everyone is having a nice day.
 
Re: 8/29 Billie AMPS 240 +5 171 dosecrease?

I'd definitely increase. My only qualification is if she's been on the ABs just long enough that the resolution of her infection might bring down her BGs. Would you include any meds on the spreadsheet? They do make a difference.

She's got almost all of her nadirs in blue 100's range, and she's not new to them, so you could have increased after 8 cycles if all was well. I'd increase by 0.25u as soon as it works for your schedule.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 8/29 Billie AMPS 240 +5 171 dosecrease?

Thank you Julie! I think I will increase tonight.

She has had 4 doses of the AB and she will be on it for at least 5 more days, and possibly for another week if things don't fully resolve. I'm hoping they are working, and I am pretty sure there has been some improvement.

She's still coughing, although it sounds less violent. I compared the video I have from a couple days ago to what she sounded like today. She is still having coughing "fits" but they sound breathier and not as deep/hacking.

I think her hives look a little better, but it's hard to say because she is super scabby around her neck and still itching. Poor Billie. In any case, I really want to see her spending less time in yellow and high blue. I can always tell that she feels better overall when her numbers are lower - more playing and purring.
 
Re: 8/29 Billie AMPS 240 +5 171 dosecrease?

i'm guessing that 4 doses is 2 days of AB's? If that's the case, I'd go ahead and increase, but be watchful in case her BGs come down as the AB's resolve any infection she might have going on.

glad to hear her coughing is slightly better. improvement is good! i feel for her on the hives- i've had hives and they can make you itch to the point that you feel like you're going to go nuts. It's the worst itch i've ever had - right up there with poison oak.
 
Re: 8/29 Billie AMPS 240 +5 171 dosecrease?

Thanks Julie - yes, it has been 2 days/4 doses of ABs. She started them Wednesday evening and this morning was the 4th dose. I forgot to put that info on the spreadsheet but it is updated now.

I have been giving the ABs shortly after Billie's PS meal and shot - is that okay or should the Lantus and ABs be spaced out?

I feel for her itchies too :sad: I had poison oak all over my legs once, and all I wanted to do was scratch. She has been getting some good naps in, so at least that gives her some relief.
 
Re: 8/29 Billie AMPS 240 +5 171 dosecrease?

i've always given ABs with the shot & meal, so as far as I know it's perfectly ok.

my family is super allergic to poison oak. my mom drove through the smoke from a forest fire when she was in her 20's, and for the rest of her life if she got scratched, she broke out in it again. the last time my youngest daughter had poison oak it lasted for 6 months. I haven't had it that bad, but i do get it badly enough. i avoid the plants like the plague. i hope Billie's rash goes away soon.
 
Re: 8/29 Billie PMPS 310 dosecrease

Thanks! And ouch! That poison oak situation sounds just horrible. I hope you never encounter it!

Billie is doing okay tonight overall. I increased from 1.25 to 1.5. Her appy is not great but it's not too bad. She was coughing again earlier but has been quiet for the past couple hours. Still itchy...I need to find an antihistamine that doesn't taste as bad as Benadryl. I think I will investigate Zyrtec tomorrow. I found a new trick for the Clavamox. She got bored with the milk mixture tonight, so I added some parmesan to the milk to make a kitty alfredo sauce, and she ended up licking the bowl long after it was empty.

I hope everyone has a nice night! Sending lots of feel better vines to all the cats who don't feel so hot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top