8/29 Alex AMPS 202,PMPS 398 Need eyes!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
A better start to the day for Alex. Thank goodness because yesterday he was a mess. I switched on way too low a dose for him and he was surfing the 400's in the AM, the 300's in the PM and he was an acetone'y ketoney mess!!!!(SEE BELOW) But he's fine now!!!!!!! PHEW!!!!! Now to see what happens today! Hoping for a good one nailbite_smile

Alex is half purry and half whiny today but all p's are in order and he is taking his after breffis nap with his brother.


Re: above....Ketones are a very serious situation and while I seem to make light of it, I don't take it that way. I am taking something out of yesterday's condo which concerns me because every time I use the Precision Xtra meter I have inconsistencies...and I know that there are people who use it in lieu of ketostix. I wonder if anyone else has done urine and blood testing at the same time?

With the reading I got on Alex when I came home yesterday (3.4), he really should have been a very sick boy...but he wasn't. He was Alex, hungry, a but smelly from some kind of ketone activity, and nudging me for food. 3 hours later he was 1.6 on meter and his ketostix a minute before was between negative and trace. I dipped two different stix. Doesn't make sense! * sigh * :YMSIGH: ...if I call Abbott, I'm afraid they'll just tell me it's not meant for cats....so I guess I'll say Alex is my child.

Anyway....here is the chart:

Blood Ketone Reading Indications
Above 1.5 mmol/l
Readings above 1.5 mmol/l in the presence of hyperglycemia indicate that you may be at risk for developing diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). Contact your healthcare provider immediately for advice.

0.6 to 1.5 mmol/l
Readings between 0.6 and 1.5 mmol/l may indicate the development of a problem that may require medical assistance. Follow your healthcare provider's instructions.
Below 0.6 mmol/l
Readings below 0.6 mmol/l are in the normal range.
Source: Precision Xtra® documentation


I do the control tests before using the meter and the numbers are always in line...so I'm not sure what to think. Maybe they'll send me a new meter-even better, strips!- but to say the least, this is very inconvenient and I can't count on it at all.


Have a great day everyone!!!! :razz:


yesterday
 
Re: 8/29 Alex AMPS 202

never used the meter so can't say, only used the stix. Glad to see a better number today.

maybe this is just what he needs.
 
Re: 8/29 Alex AMPS 202

I am also not familiar with the meter since I use the strips but I can see where this would frustrate you, much much better amps today for Alex whoo hoo 202 keep that up Alex :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/29 Alex AMPS 202

Love those AMPS Alex...very nice...
That's a pretty expensive meter, isn't it? Seems strange to get a reading that you are not sure of at that price...hmmm....
 
Re: 8/29 Alex AMPS 202

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Love those AMPS Alex...very nice...
That's a pretty expensive meter, isn't it? Seems strange to get a reading that you are not sure of at that price...hmmm....

He went up 100 points in 2.5 hours...I think he's having a late nadir or confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

The meter isn't expensive...the ketone strips are VERY expensive if you don't find a deal n ebay or something.
 
Re: 8/29 Alex AMPS 202,+2.5-306,+6-378, +8-376

Come on Alex your Bean is getting upset with your numbers now this is the plan you are back on lantus and you are now instructed to begin to improve thy numbers per the King of Lantusville who commandeth thee to come down from thy pink numbers we wish to see thee in blue from henceforth and no more of these ketones :lol: (((((Hugs)))) for you Caryl
 
Alex was underdosed his first cycle but he is not catching up. I thought by now he would be coming down but he's not. He's on his third cycle of 5.0 on lantus and at +2 he's going UP again and now I'm getting worried. so far no ketones but I'm wondering if my Lantus could be bad even though it was unopened and it says exp 04/12


ETA: this really was a mistake and I think I want to change back to Levemir already.Can I? How? same dose? This sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
I'm sorry I can't help you. I can only offer cyber hugs and moral support. I watch Alex's condos everyday. I just hope and wish you can find the right dose. Sending vines for much better numbers, real soon.
 
Remember that you have to rebuild the shed. Lantus and Lev are not pharmacologically the same so it's not like they share a shed. It's going to take 5 - 7 days for the depot to form.

ETA: could you mark on your SS when you switched back to Lantus?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Remember that you have to rebuild the shed. Lantus and Lev are not pharmacologically the same so it's not like they share a shed. It's going to take 5 - 7 days for the depot to form.

ETA: could you mark on your SS when you switched back to Lantus?


I did....a whole row was inserted above the date and it says switched back to Lantus. Alex can't stay at these numbers for much longer which is why I need eyes. He will get sick. This is my fault because I forgot that I shouldn't reduce his dose when I switch. :(
Eta: will mark on side notes as well
 
Dyana said:
I'm sorry I can't help you. I can only offer cyber hugs and moral support. I watch Alex's condos everyday. I just hope and wish you can find the right dose. Sending vines for much better numbers, real soon.

Thanks.... I know you always wish the best for everyone :)
 
Hey Alex.... hold yourself together while you rebuild that shed, OK? We all worry about you here!
hugs to you Caryl....

MJ&Donovan
 
MJ+Donovan said:
Hey Alex.... hold yourself together while you rebuild that shed, OK? We all worry about you here!
hugs to you Caryl....

MJ&Donovan

I'll tell him to try to hang in there...between his whining and begging for food. If that's all he does, i'll be thrilled nailbite_smile
 
sorry Caryl, I don't think anyone can give you the answer you want right now. Lantus needs time. You switched during a bounce, and because most of the insulin had to go into the shed, that essentially left him with no insulin to help with the bounce. Now we're waiting for the shed to fill and for the bounce to clear. I think you would have the same problem if you switched back to Lev right now, because he would have to start on another new shed. I think you'll just have to wait. You can read through the protocols and decide if you want to fast track up the dosing scale, but I wouldn't do it any faster than the protocol allows. You don't want Alex to be over dose.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
sorry Caryl, I don't think anyone can give you the answer you want right now. Lantus needs time. You switched during a bounce, and because most of the insulin had to go into the shed, that essentially left him with no insulin to help with the bounce. Now we're waiting for the shed to fill and for the bounce to clear. I think you would have the same problem if you switched back to Lev right now, because he would have to start on another new shed. I think you'll just have to wait. You can read through the protocols and decide if you want to fast track up the dosing scale, but I wouldn't do it any faster than the protocol allows. You don't want Alex to be over dose.

Problem is there wouldn't have been any time that he wasn't bouncing. That's why I switched. PROBLEM is I drained whatever he had left in his shed by under dosing him in the first place when I switched and left him like this :(

I had been on a regimen of raising him every 5th cycle (you can pretty much see that on my ss). I stopped when I was thinking about switching and it didn't seem to be accomplishing anything. If he is too high tomorrow night still maybe that would be a good time to bump him up?

I guess no one thinks it's bad Lantus?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top