8/28 Racci-AMPS-87,+3.5-73,+10-61,PMPS-65

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: AMPS-75, +4.5-23,+5.25-85, +5.25-160, PMPS-195

Hi everyone! Sorry I haven't been around for a while. I've had my hands full with health issues and am still not feeling well. My copd is acting up badly and I've also been in a lot of pain and just haven't been up to talking or typing for that matter.

Racci is doing well and has been staying in the blues and greens. She is still having trouble walking & her appetite is still iffy, but other than that is happy and playful and affectionate. We have a new furbaby in the family, Benji. He's only 6.5 months old and a little terror. He's mischievous and too energetic for all us oldies here and drives us crazy. He adores Racci and finally won her over after being relentless in his love for her. :lol:

He adopted me when I was outside of the house talking and is the complete opposite of what I would have wanted to adopt! :lol: I had wanted to adopt a middle aged female with long hair like Racci since I love to groom them. Someone with a quiet personality to keep Racci company. He's a short hair tuxedo baby, with a faint tiger stripe showing through the black (very unusual looking) and has a cute bow tie under his nose spreading to both cheeks. He's long and thin and has big ears like a Siamese. He was skin and bones when he first came to me and looked like he would blow over if not fed but has nice normal little belly now. He's full of vim & vigor and hardly stays still for an instant. :smile:

He was peering out from the forest across the street when I noticed him and when our eyes met, he looked at me with a look of relief as if to say ' There you are! A mommy! Where have you been?' and ran across the street to me and started jumping on me and rubbing me and playing with my grandson ddil & saying hi to everyone. Needless to say he came in for a meal and I tried to find his home with no luck. After a couple of weeks of trying, I gave up, took him to the vet and had him vaccinated, neutered, chipped, etc and here he is.

I've always been a softie and could never have left him without a home or turned him into the shelter when he was so obviously in need so now I'm left with a quandary. Do I get another one to keep him company and play with him and drive poor Racci totally crazy? Or do I get what I wanted originally, a friend for Racci since she likes to watch Benji but he is too fast for her to play with and he bullies her by running in front of her since she's lame? :lol:

TTYL
Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/28 Racci-AMPS-87,+3.5-73

I don't know which you should try.... friend for Benji or friend for Racci.

I think you'll know when the right one presents itself.

Mine's such a little crank that I know better than to bring any others in. But someday( far far away -knock wood) I will make the effort to rescue two of those older kitties
who have lost their person but need to be together.
 
Re: 8/28 Racci-AMPS-87,+3.5-73

Good to see a post from you! Very sweet story - Benji sounds like quite a handful. Hard to say who else to bring into the mix. Maybe something in between? Looks like Racci had a nice day - hope the numbers stay right there throughout the night.
 
Re: 8/28 Racci-AMPS-87,+3.5-73

Well, you know about Gabby and Gizmo. One 13yo and a 4yo. Giz is all energy and sounds a lot like Benji (just bigger!).
 
Re: 8/28 Racci-AMPS-87,+3.5-73

Hi Melanie,
It so nice of you to give home to Benji.
I love the story of how you two met.
And Racci's numbers are looking great!!!
 
Re: 8/28 Racci-AMPS-87,+3.5-73,+10-61,

Hi Everyone! It's so good to be back I thought I would never get back today between being busy and falling asleep & then having to catch up.

Rhiannon, I thought the same with Racci but after a few days she stopped being so upset about it and every day it got better. I felt really bad for her and Benji in the beginning. She would hiss at him and swat him every time he came to talk to her and naturally all he wanted to do was lie next to her and play with her. She started accepting him tho and now I think other than being annoyed with him sometimes, she likes watching his antics and having him for company. When th time is right you'll know it.

Tara, yes, he is a real handful! He's also a biter! I've been working on breaking him of that also. I'm a mass of scratches and black and blues. :YMSIGH: He needs another kitty to wrestle with that doesn't have soft dry skin that tears in a second. Usually they have other kittens and their mom to teach them not to do that play fighting like that because it hurts but I guess he didn't stay with them long enough. I always had other kittens with them so they were never an only kitten before. It's much harder.

I think Racci will give me a hard time with numbers tonight. She went down to 23 yesterday and she's not eating again tonight and she's pretty low. I'm probably going to wind up not sleeping again. I only got 3 hours last night. I shouldn't complain, her numbers have been good but they go low snd if she doesn't eat she gets too low.

Sienne, I didn't realize that Gizmo was 4 already. I hope Benji calms down before then. He has been getting better though. At least there's that. :lol: Gizmo doesn't still get in trouble anymore tho, does he? I mean with things like toilet paper, paper towels, garbage cans, stealing my hair bands and barettes, etc. It seems like he's into something new every time I turn around. :lol:

Mariko, It was a funny thing to happen the way we met. I never expected to be taking a kitten home that day. :lol: Funny also how they can always spot me as the pet mommy too. Yes, Racci has been doing well lately. She's been blue and green continuously for weeks now. If she held dedreases I'd give her another but she never holds it under 3u and I just brought her down there.

Thanks you all. I hope you have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top