8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 +6 261 +9 308 PMPS 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Started Noodle on 1.75U last night. Same dose this morning. One test so far today had negative ketones--yay, but will test every time I can get it, even though he thinks I'm stalking him :-) The "5Ps" are all good today and he seems to feel great. Do I understand it right that I should keep him on the 1.75 for at least 6 cycles, unless ketones appear? I'm still a little foggy about this so thanks for clarification.

Christi
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 Neg. Ketones :-) Advice pl

when ketones are in the picture, we re-evalute more often - probably 4 cycles at 1.75 and then re-evaluate.

typically, yes, if there are no ketones, we hold doses 6 cycles and re-evaluate at that point, unless the cat has gone below 50 - then they get a reduction before 6 cycles are up.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

Right now, you're in the phase I've bolded above. Looks like a little more insulin is just what Noodle needed - nice to see the yellow mid-cycle appear today.
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 Neg. Ketones :-) Advice pl

Given the intermittent ketones and that nadirs have been in the 200s - 300s, I'd be inclined to do a little "fast track" dosing to keep the ketones at bay. What that means is we can consider an increase after 4 cycles.
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 Neg. Ketones :-) Advice pl

Sienne and Gabby,
Thanks so much! I will keep a close eye on Noodle, both for ketones and BG numbers and after a couple of more cycles, ask for advice based on what we see then. To see a yellow AND negative ketones, at least for one day, really encourages me. Thanks so much for your help and quick response! Sounds like the advice I got here was right on the mark :smile:

Christi
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 Neg. Ketones :-) Advice pl

Hi Julie,
Thanks so much for your help and advice. I was delighted to see a yellow today--hope they continue. I'll be crushed if we go back to the pinks. The ketones being neg. made my day but I know they can change in the blink of an eye. I too believe that the increased insulin is just what Noodle needed.
I went yesterday and looked at your Punkin's pictures. He was so beautiful! I know you must miss him tremendously. My Noodle looks like him in the face but Noodle's fur is shorter. But Punkin sure was gorgeous--such a bright look in his eyes.
Thanks again--I appreciate your guidance very much!

Christi
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 Neg. Ketones :-) Advice pl

Hi there :cool:

Nice to see a ray of sunshine along with all Ps in place. Fabulous to see negative ketones. :thumbup
Fingers crossed for more of the same

Here is the link to Yesterdays thread. Linking to the previous day makes it quick and easy for folks to catch up on the recent past.
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 +6 251 +9 308

Thanks so much, Sandy and Black Kitty,
Unfortunately Noodle's +9 was back in the pink but all in all today was a better day. I appreciate your good wishes and thanks for including the link.

Christi
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 +6 261 +9 308 PMPS

looking good - thanks for getting all those mid-cycle tests in today. that really helps fill out the picture.

if your schedule allows it, i'd get some different times of testing in tomorrow's day cycle. Perhaps get a +2, +5 and +10 tomorrow, assuming that nothing is pointing towards low numbers (under 50) so that you need to test more often. it just helps us see what's going on if the testing times vary. I wrote this recently for another cat:

I think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle. If you have only the corners and edge pieces, it's pretty hard to see what the picture is. But if you have pieces spread here and there all over the puzzle, it becomes easier to decipher the picture. That's exactly what the spreadsheet is for us. It helps us to see what the Lantus is doing when we can see the past 3 or more days with a sprinkling of tests here and there. Right now you've done a super job of getting tests in - it's giving us edge pieces and a couple of stripes down the middle of the "puzzle." It would really help to see some variety in the test times. Does your schedule allow you to get some different times? Your plan for a +4 and +8 today is super.

I'd suggest one day getting a +2 or +3, then maybe a +5 (since you have a lot of +6's), or +8, and then in the evening cycle get some different times, maybe a +4 or right before you go to bed. Your total per day doesn't necessarily need to be more tests, just vary the times. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 8/28 Noodle AMPS 315 +3 257 +6 261 +9 308 PMPS

Christianna said:
Unfortunately Noodle's +9 was back in the pink but all in all today was a better day.
A nice yellow PMPS to start the overnight cycle. . .
(a kitty could go places from there. . ;-) )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top