8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215 PMPS 209 +3 151

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164

Hi Paula. I can't answer your question. But I will agree. Michael looks smashing in blue. What a nice start to the day.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164

The bounce from yesterday had cleared, but from him having such a large drop last night, and not knowing how low he went, a bounce may still be on the way.
When you get a test that is a considerably higher then his amps that will be the bounce. It may not show itself until pm cycle.
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164

The only thing I can say about dose increase/decrease is that for a decrease Michael must drop below 50. That I why testing around the nadir is important.
Hopfully Michael does not bounce that high.
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164

Thanks for the replies, Marilyn & Darin.
Darin, thanks for the info. I will be on alert that another bounce could be on the way. (I hope not he looks so good in blue.)
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164

Like for charlie, he is a bouncing cat, so when he gets to numbers less then 200, I just know a bounce is on the way. His bounce is now starting to change. The bounce use to show up on the next cycle and it would skyrocket 400+. This last bounce took 2.5 cycles to show, and was just in the low 300's.
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

It looks like another bounce has started. I think since it's likely he went into some good numbers last night, given his 139 at +2 last night, which then rose into the amps/164 this morning. It's likely he saw green last night. I would've suggesting checking him again last night after another hour, say at +3 to see if he was still going down quickly. Last night would've been a night i'd have tried to catch how low he was going, just in case he went below 50, so i'd have kept testing until he started back up.

He's just very bouncy. I'd hold the dose for now.

Anytime you see a +2 that is significantly lower than the preshot numbers, that's your heads-up/red flag that Michael's blood sugar is dropping rather quickly. In a typical active Lantus cycle, the +2 is about the same as the preshot. Typically the Lantus is starting to effect the blood sugar about +2 (we call that onsetting.) The speed of a drop can set up another bounce - so to see Michael drop last night from pmps 372 to +2/139 - 233 points in 2 hours! - it's nearly a guarantee to cause another bounce. In most cats a drop of more than 50 points in an hour is likely to cause another bounce.

When you see a fast drop you can feed low carb food immediately to try to slow him down. If you'd caught him at +1 last night, that would've been ideal. But I don't know how you would've known to even check at +1 last night after his day of high numbers. So just tuck this all away in your files for the next time. In the meantime, he's off on another bounce.
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

Do bouncing cats ever get regulated? What good is the insulin if their always bouncing? This sugar dance is most confusing. Will I ever learn?
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

The bounce is due to unfamiliar numbers. As the get accustomed to lower numbers the bounce will change as it is with charlie.
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

yes, bouncing cats can get regulated. we have seen some cats bounce all the way to OTJ (off the juice, ie, diet-controlled.)

it's still doing good. insulin is essential for any diabetic cat that isn't diet-controlled.

often the longer a cat spends in green numbers, the more they will get used to them and the bouncing will lessen without you doing anything. your job is to persevere! :-D

yes, you'll learn more. and if you don't, we'll keep on telling you what we'd suggest you do. we have one member, Devon, whose cat Mocha Jo Latte went OTJ after almost 2 years. Devon doesn't give dosing advice and she'll tell you she doesn't really understand the whole thing, but she did what people suggested and ended up with her cat OTJ. Devon visits you sometimes just to encourage you. You might have seen her signature as "peterdevonmocha."
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

Thanks for the replies and encouragement.
Your'e great! I hope this gets easier.
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

it will get easier. it does for everyone.

you can probably take off your question mark now - or everyone will be looking in to see what help you need. he's on his way up so you can probably take a break from testing until his pmps.
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

Thanks, Julie.
I took off the ?.
I really appreciate this step by step advice. It helps me to learn and what I should do. I won't test until PMPS.
it will give Michael and I a break.
Thanks for all your patience. It's greatly appreciated.
I better put on my pretty patience pants!
 
Re: 8/28 Michael AMPS 164 +4 215

Julie how do you post those faces? I tried and couldn't get it to work?
 
When you have a "post a reply" or "start a new post" open, the "bank" of smilies is on the right of where you type. At least on my laptop (using Windows) that's where it is. If you have a Mac it might be somewhere else.

In any case, just move your cursor (arrow) over to the one you want and you should get the little hand with one finger pointing upward. When it's pointing to the one you want, click your mouse on it. Mine is the left mouse button.

Clicking on it makes it insert into the posting window. It will go whereever you left your blinking cursor before you clicked on the smiley.

Not sure if that makes sense, but ask me again if it doesn't.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top