8/28 Max AMPS71+4/37 PMPS 192+3/111+4.5/83+6/80+7/85

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124257

Thank goodness I set an alarm this morning because I didn't get more than 3 hours sleep and Max didn't wake me up. This is exciting! :-D Did he really stay green from +3 yesterday morning until now?

Thanks for the visits Laura and Amy.

I'm going to try and go back to sleep or an hour or so. I didn't succeed yesterday but I really am tired. The construction noise will start in about 20 minutes so I doubt it will be possible. Just in case I will set an alarm.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 70

MORE :mrgreen: MORE :mrgreen: MORE :mrgreen: MORE :mrgreen:
Have a great Fursday Max and Elise
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 70

OK. Who stole Max and replaced him with a cat hovering in the greens! Whoooooooooooooooohoooooooooooooooooooo. You go Max.

So happy for you Elise. And Max, too.

Hope some sleep comes gently your way today.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 70

Hope you get a chance for some rest, Elise! Those green streaks are SOOO exciting, but not so good for a bean's sleep. @-)

Looks like Mr. Greenie has decided to move in at your place! :mrgreen: Eddie can start copying Max anytime again. Not sure when he decided not to copy Max anymore. :roll:

I think it was yesterday you mentioned trying to avoid reductions with Eddie, and you're spot on with what my plan is with increasing his dose. We've tweaked his food schedule, and started feeding a slightly higher carb food as well. I'm also now aware of his recent pattern of diving early in the cycle with a low pre-shot, so hopefully, we have more tools this time to better manage his curve and keep him from going too low with a higher dose that hopefully will help with the bounce/dive.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119

Thanks for the visits this morning Laura, Jen, and Marilyn and last night Amy. I'm hoping this is a food spike although it is a bit bigger than it has been. Max did eat well right from the beginning which kind of surprised me because he didn't yell for food and I had to drag him out from under the bed for his first test. He did let me know he wanted his +1 and polished his plate clean.

Never was able to fall back to sleep and it is actually quiet next door where they are building a big condo complex that has ruined my view. Counting the garage I'm 5 floors up and the building next to me is a small two floor without a garage. I had a nice view of their roof and lot of trees until they tore down two also small buildings next to my neighboring one and the new building leaves me with just one tree that can be seen in the front and lots of windows so I will lose my privacy.

Wishing green vines to all our kitties and healing to all kitties and beans in need.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91

Back to green. Now I'm hoping he will surf. I just fed him a little 9% with 3% and I am going to give him a little more and then leave for about 1 1/2 hours. He did fine last night. Is this a bad idea?
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91

Yeah Max!! I'm on the edge of my seat with this guy! I'm sure you are too. I don't have the expert advice, but if he's in the 90s and you're only gone for an hour and a half and you're leaving food, that sounds pretty safe to me.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37

Bad move on my part. He was 37 when I got back so he has to take a mandatory reducie. Crossed fingers and paws that he holds it. I guess worst case is we go back up. nailbite_smile

I did leave food out when I left which he didn't touch so that doesn't sound good for my being able to use an auto feeder or just leave food out and expect him to eat. He did get the karo and ate some of the gravy but not all of the food now. I'll test again soon.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43

Fed more karo and he won't eat. I put fd on it and if he won't eat I will syringe some karo. aren't they supposed t want to eat when they get low?
Bingo, found a pouch of his old fave, soulistic triple harmony and he is eating now.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43

MAX? What are you doing? This is not what I meant when I posted MORE GREEN. Well, guess you wanted to tell you mom loud and clear that you were done with this dose. OK, now be a good boy and eat for your momma, ok?

Elise, hope you get him up to a comfortable number.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43

Thanks, Laura. I was just beating myself up for not preventing a reduction but maybe you are right and it will work out.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43

as an experienced caregiver you don't HAVE to do anything. There is no "mandatory" reduction - there is advise given that is said to both newbies and experienced people. Dosing adjustments are up to you, considering what you know about your cat and how he responds to dose changes. You also test frequently around the clock. Here is what Jill says about reducing the dose & the 30's:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

If anyone suggests otherwise, they are putting your cat at risk! Our kitties are not just numbers. They are living beings who trust us to look out for them. The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive.

Keeping YOUR cat safe is the #1 priority of the FDMB.

Is this the first time he has gone below 50 on this 2.5+? I'm not seeing any previous dips - am i missing anything?
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60

Yes, it is the first time since I had to go to the wedding and basically build the depot back up which took a long time. Are you thinking that if he comes back up I should not reduce just yet, Julie?
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60

i would reduce the dose. just knowing how sensitive Max is to every slight change in insulin, and every time you reduce you lose control and have to go back up, I'd think hard about how much I wanted to reduce. I'm not sure what the answer is - I'm just responding to your use of the word mandatory. You know max very well, you test all the time, you manipulate him with carbs, and you have calipers to fine tune your dosing. The choice is up to you.

i'll add the disclaimer that I'm ONLY talking to Elise about Max. If you want advice about YOUR cat, just ask.

There is a vast difference between what someone new should do and someone experienced and with a lot of data might choose to do.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60

Wow, Elise. Max has certainly been keeping you on your toes lately! How well does he handle all the testing you're having to do? Cinco gets pretty cranky when I'm checking him every 30 minutes.

If you take the reduction, I hope he holds it this time. Sending safe surfing vines.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60

So, I guess I could reducie by 1/8 of a unit maybe? On my calipers I have been giving him 3.98. I added a little to make up for the darn bubble I always have hence the + in the 2.5+. So I'm thinking maybe go down to 3.79? I'm going to look on my ss and see when I last gave that amount.

I just checked and he was getting 3.79, then 3.82 and then 3.96. The question is how much to reduce. Ideas?
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60

Hi Elise,

Having been in a similar spot with Eddie, I don't really know what I would do in terms of a reducie if I were in your shoes.

I'm wondering though, if a one time skip or reduced dose to drain the shed a bit might be an option? Just curious.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71 +1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60

I know what you mean as I am petrified this will bring him back to where he was just 8 days ago before he started this marvelous run. Hopefully Julie, Wendy, and Marje will weigh in on this. Your idea sounds like a good one too, Jen.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60+5.5/67+6/61

So I got him back up to 70 without too much trouble once he found something he wanted to eat.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60+5.5/67+6/61

I've noticed with Neko and observed with some other bouncy cats that when they start to get really flat cycles that aren't typical of them, they are thinking about a reduction. It could also be a hint that the depot is really full, so I like Jen's idea of doing a one time reduced dose tonight. I'm also saying this because you got 3 hours sleep last night. :shock:

On the topic of size of reduction, again it's something to experiment with. I've found that Neko does better with .125U reductions. I've also seen other bouncy cats like Suzanne's Tigger respond well to smaller reductions, although she's doing those smaller reductions with numbers under 50. Both going to smaller reductions and reducing when you get 3 under 50 or one under 40 are by themselves riskier techniques. Combining them increases the risk. Definitely not something to be attempted by someone relatively new to FD.

I'm glad you found something Max would eat. I remember Lisa's Leo (another bouncer who got smaller reductions) would sometimes not eat when low so she had to syringe feed him HC.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60+5.5/67+6/61

Hi Wendy. I'm a little confused. Are you suggesting a small reduction tonight and then back to the dose he has been on tomorrow morning? Or are you saying a reduced dose tonight and then perhaps a .125 starting tomorrow? I think Jen was thinking the first option. Thanks.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60+5.5/67+6/61

Elise

I would also reduce. While the thought to reduce once to let the depot drain makes sense, if the depot is very large, it isn't going to be adequate. It's possible that as soon as you raised the dose back up, he'd come back down. Possibly the same scenario if you skip one time and then shoot the 2.5u again.

I understand your fears; we deal with it every time we give Gracie a reduction. As Wendy said, you have to be very careful about not giving enough of a reduction and using more than one technique is extremely risky. However, Max has not been in the 40s on this dose before today (thank you so much for the different color coding for under 50....it makes it easy to quickly spot those numbers). I think, for as much as you test, it would be fine to just shave the dose. How much? Typically, if Gracie gets into the 30s, I will give her a 0.1u reduction. Sometimes I have given a 0.05u reduction if she comes back up easily. However, what I've found if I do that is she sometimes gets into a dive bounce situation because I didn't reduce enough. Our thinking of late is that if we reduce by 0.1u, then we've got something to go back up to because the "last good dose" is not the one that got them in the 30s. By going down 0.1u which would be to 2.4u for Max, if you had to go back up, you could go up to 2.45u and you should easily be able to determine that with the calipers.

I also want to add a disclaimer that this advice is solely for Elise and Max. Elise tests a lot and is home to monitor Max closely. She also is very knowledgable about his patterns.

Remember that if you reduce and he starts to trend up, you can go back up. Better to be safe than to not reduce enough and have the depot constantly ahead of you.

His SS looks AWESOME!
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/43+5/60+5.5/67+6/61

Elise - I was also thinking you need to reduce Max. But tonight, if you think the depot is overfull and so you can sleep, take a slightly larger reduction for one time only to help drain the depot. Then tomorrow morning start with whatever you decide his new reduced dose will be.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/4 3+5/60++6/61/70+8

Thank you Marje and Wendy. So what would his new dose be with the calipers please? His current dose is 3.96 as I was allowing a little extra for the bubble which fortunately always looks about the same to me.

As for tonight, if he is surfing green or low blue I guess I'll take a little larger decrease tonight. If he jumps up I'll give the new dose. What do you think?

I'm going out again for a few hours as I have a facial and he is surfing nicely without food. I just offered him a little S&C but he doesn't want any.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/4 3+5/60++6/61/70+8

Wow, what a surf for Max today. Good luck with the reducie. I hope it works for Max.
 
Re: 8/28 MAX AMPS 71+1/119+2/91+4/37+4.5/4 3+5/60++6/61/70+8

Yikes! :shock: Looks like it was a busy day. I should have put an anti-jinx in my post earlier :oops: Good luck figuring out a reduction strategy!
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71+1/119+2/91/4/37+4.5/43+6/61/70+8/68+10.25/11

It's been a wild 8 days actually, Deanna. I guess Max took your suggestion a bit too seriously. So I am still not sure what I should do for tonight but leaning toward a bigger reduction tonight. He didn't budge while I was gone and didn't eat the food I left out. He's kind of a limp rag even though he is up to 116.

It looks like tomorrow's dose if I go with the 0.1 will be 3.83mm since he was getting 3.98. He was actually getting a bubble less if that makes sense.

How much do I reduce tonight? For those who don't use calipers tomorrow he will get 2.4 units. What's a good one for tonight?
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71+1/119+2/91/4/37+4.5/43+6/61/70+8/68+10.25/11

He's headed up.....but he's also been having two good cycles a day. It will be interesting to see where he is here shortly.

Yes, if you reduce by 0.1u to 2.4u tomorrow, then the caliper reading would be 0.15mm less.

Gosh.....for tonight....I think it's hard to say. Because of the depot, you could shoot less tonight but still see somewhat of a busy cycle. I'm not sure if a 0.25u reduction would really do much tonight but not sure you want to take as much as a 0.5u reduction. I wonder if Wendy has a dose in mind since she suggested it? Maybe PM her and I'll send her an email.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71+1/119+2/91/4/37+4.5/43+6/61/70+8/68+10.25/11

Okay. I don't want to do anything that might cause a setback either way. I really really really wish i had a crystal ball and knew how he is feeling. He must be so tired of me poking him. Thanks, Marje.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71+1/119+2/91/4/37+4.5/43+6/61/70+8/68+10.25/11

I'm glad Marje answered your question about caliper amount for tomorrow. I'm using the BD's so don't know what the amount would be on the Terumo's.

As for tonight, a lot depends on you and Max. I don't have a specific dose in mind. Marje gave you some good ranges. How hungry is Max and will he eat a good dinner tonight? How tired are you? If I'd just gotten 3 hours sleep I'd be interested in getting more tonight and I seem to remember you aren't good at napping. Will Max zoom up in the last 1.5 hours? All things to consider. Shooting tonight could still be an active cycle, but if you do less insulin, it's not likely to last until the wee hours like last night.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71+2/91/4/37+4.5/43+6/61/70+8/68+10.25/116+11.5

Now my mother is not feeling well tonight. Even if I shoot less he still could come down tonight. He might be headed for a bounce but it's hard to say. I don't know what to do.

Marje gave me ranges for his new dose. It was what to shoot tonight I am concerned about. Thanks.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37+4.5/43+6/61/70+8/68+11.5/160

So far he isn't too hungry but he did eat a little baby food but didn't want the stella and chewy's with tj I offered.. The last few days he seems to eat better at +1 than at am'pmps.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37+4.5/43+6/61/70+8/68+11.5/160

I gave him a little less than the calipers measured. I'm not sure if that will make any difference. I shot about 10 minutes late and I think I will get another BG.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37+4.5/43+6/61Reducie PMPS 192

Elise

Wendy was referencing my post where I said you could shoot 0.25u or 0.5u less tonight :-D

So you reduced a little more than 0.1u for tonight? That's fine......he headed up fast so perhaps he will have a little bounce and let you sleep.

I'm sorry about your mom. What happened? :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37+4.5/43+6/61Reducie PMPS 192

Right while I was dealing with Max not wanting to eat my sister called and said my mom threw up and was clammy. She has had a high heart rate for a couple weeks and the last labs showed elevated liver enzymes. The lab was supposed to come to draw blood today but didn't show up.

Max was so lethargic and wouldn't eat. I ran out to get more Soulistic pouches and Pet Co didn't have any. His appy has been so good. I opened my last one yesterday but since they are so high carb I didn't realize I was all out. Thank goodness he ate the rest of the baby food and a little S&C while I was gone so it might not be an issue.

i think the lack of sleep and having all these issues at once is making my reactions worse. Maybe the better BG has decrease Max's appetite some. I know he has been urinating less to the point I even worried about that again today as he didn't go all afternoon. He just went now.

I'll call my mom, test him again and then get something to eat and some Advil for the headache I now have. I need to find a replacement for Souistic. I think Weruva has pouches too but Max didn't like them as I recall.

Thanks Marje and Wendy.

Dodged a bullet. He ate the Stella & Chewy's. I think the depot might still be full though.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37Reducie PMPS 192+1=180

I am glad that Max ate. He has had some nice consecutive cycles. I hope you can get some sleep though.

Sending prayers for your mom. She has been through a lot.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37Reducie PMPS 192+1=180

Have you tried Merrick Cowboy Cookout? It's 18%. Wendy and I both use it.

I'm so sorry about you mom. I hope she's ok. Better take two Advil.

I hope Max flattens out a bit higher tonight.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37Reducie PMPS 192+1=180

ack - when it rains, it pours. i hope your sis can take care of your mom for the evening so you can get some sleep. in fact, you might want to nap now while he's 180ish just in case he heads right back into greens tonight.

I'm thinking of you and your crew, elise, and sending feel better vines all around.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37Reducie PMPS 192+1=180+2/198

Thanks Marje and Julie and Catherine. I tried CC and at first thought he liked it. But last night he seemed to eat around it. I bought more gravy lovers but I really don't like giving that one to him. I'm also wondering if all these different foods might be upsetting his system a little. His stool has been fine but it's a thought. I found a Petco that has some of the Soulistic and I'll pick it up tomorrow. It's a fish one so I only give it to him if he won't eat anything else.

I'm too wound up to sleep. So far so good with my mom. Earlier my sis said she might end up in the hospital tonight.

He just might be headed for a bounce after all.
 
Re: 8/28 Max 71/4/37Reducie PMPS 192+1=180+2/198

it might be a half-hearted bounce. time will tell us - you know sometimes they bounce but it's a last gasp sort of thing. he's the same at +2 as a pmps, so he may still go down this cycle.
 
Re: 8/28 Max AMPS71+4/37 Reducie PMPS 192+1=180+2/198+3/111

No no no! I know you don't want to but you can carb him up and abort the cycle.
 
Re: 8/28 Max AMPS71+4/37 Reducie PMPS 192+1=180+2/198+3/111

If that was a bounce, it was sure a short one! Hey Max, Cinco and China are in the lagoon. How about you wait for them on shore and maybe they'll come hang with you for the rest of the night.

Sending lots of healing vines and prayers for your DM.
 
Re: 8/28 Max AMPS71+4/37 Reducie PMPS 192+1=180+2/198+3/111

Looks like Maxkept you really busy, hope you ge some sleep though! Also sending healing vines to your mom
 
Re: 8/28 Max AMPS71+4/37 PMPS 192+1=180+2/198+3/111+4.5/83

I actually did give him a very small amount of the hc with his last snack to try to avoid a dive, Marje. I just gave him a little more mc but he's sitting and looking at it but not eating. I just sprinkled a little fd on top and just peaked and he is eating something. My boy is so spoiled.

Thanks Ruth, Tricia, and Julie for stopping by.
 
Re: 8/28 Max AMPS71+4/37 PMPS 192+1=180+2/198+3/111+4.5/83

Good luck tonight. I hope he levels off and surf here so you can get some sleep soon. More vines for your mom. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/28 Max AMPS71+4/37 PMPS 192+2/198+3/111+4.5/83+6/80

Thank you Wendy. I actually dosed in between tests tonight. I'll do one more test now and unless he drops hit the sack. Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day for all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top