8/28 Maggie +15 176/shot 3.5 hrs late +1.5 160; +8 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77931

Yesterday
AMPS 220 (Dosecrease)
+3 136
+4 99
+5 136 (Had Greek yogurt + Miralax)
+9 180
PMPS 202
+3 127

Sending good Vetty vines this morning for Tarragon's echo and hope all goes well. Healing vines for all kitties needing them.
Morning ~O) ~O) yes always need a lot and love it! Most of the P's are in place today except for the infamous Poo. This AMPS isn't too bad considering Maggie had a fair amount of Greek yogurt. It looks like Maggie willl keep her 11 am visit with Vetty to have an enema. I had a feeling this eventually would need to take place. I lost track of how much Miralax I gave her yesterday, but it was a lot. She did great taking it mixed in with the Greek yogurt. She ate it as if it were ice cream. Wish us luck today.
Thanks Tamara and Melanie for your visits last evening and sorry I missed you both.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199

Hi Ann,

So sorry the vet turned out to be necessary. Good luck! Racci finally went this morning - a huge one! I hope Maggie does the same before you have to leave the house. Give another dose just in case. Try 1/4 tsp. Will check on you later.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199

Maggie and Tarragon are twins today! Good luck with your vetty visit and the enema. Poor girl. I hope it gives her some relief as I know she has been uncomfortable and gives you some peace of mind. ~O) ~O) ~O) Lots of vetty vines being sent your way and hugs for you Ann. Thank you for the thoughts as well. We really appreciate it. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199

Thanks Melanie. I managed 1/4 tsp with some mixed in yogurt and the other mixed in food. Mags is just staring at me from the bedroom, wondering why I keep checking! Like what's wrong with this human?

Thanks Melissa, just saw your post. I know she must be uncomfortable because she's not playing, and that's unusual for her.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O)

Poor Maggie... still no infamous poo. Well, probably a good thing on the enema, at least it will help her, let her feel better, and then you can get things back on track. It will relief alot of the stress I am sure you feel too. I can so see Maggie looking at you with "that look". Very nice on the greek yogurt - I'm glad she liked it so much. YAY!

Good vetty vines for Maggie!

Maggie - oh oh.... you at the vetty too? So is Mr T! I lucked out I guess, I don't have to go there today. We will come and picks you up after the vetty visit - road trippin' today - top down and everything! Works great for removing that vetty smell. see ya soon! ~ Mannie
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199

I read the PM & sent you one--Please sweet Maggie make that Magical Poo that will make you feel better!!!
Moonie has the opposite, loose poos...Lesser of the 2 evils?
Prayers for Maggie to go before 11 am-Go Good Girl, feel better--we are all rooting for you to feel better--Hugs & Love from us!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199

Thanks Roni, I got it and thanks so much for your vines and prayers. I am sorry Moonie is having the opposite problems. Now we need to send magical poo vines for Moonie. I hope this is just an isolated incident, and she will be fine. Have you tried any Greek yogurt?

Thanks Michelle, just saw your post. Yes, I think it will do her good to get a good enema, as even going once every three days, she still must be impacted.

Thanks Rhiannon for your good thoughts and support.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199

Aw, poor Maggie. I'm sorry you guys have to go to the vetty, but I'm sure she'll feel much better once this is all passed...
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206

+4 206
This is strange, as I didn't smell any Lantus for a fur shot. And I was sure I measured approx. five drops! confused_cat

Thanks so much Lisa, Leslie and Amy for the good luck poo Vetty vines. I'm sure once it's all over, she will feel better. She's all purry and having a nice, lazy day so far.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206

Sending Maggie good vetty vines! C'mon down a bit Maggie. I miss those low blues on you:)
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206

Hi guys .. maybe this rise at +4 is maggie just worried about her upcoming vetty visit? I sure do wish you guys luck and success with this .. I know how long you've been struggling getting her back on schedule .. Give us an update when you can!
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206

Oh no! Maggie has to go in for an enema today?! :o :shock: :shock: We wish her the best of luck.

I'll check in later with you girls to see how it went.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206

Thanks Tamara, she was doing so good yesterday, too! I just thought of something. I did give her almost a spoon of Greek yogurt with Mirlax after her shot. This may be why she didn't dip any, so could drop later!

Thanks Devon, it has been some time both with the poo issues and her numbers. I hope it's not painful for her, just uncomfortable.

Thanks Tracy & Leo! I'll give her one poke before I leave but am glad I don't need to worry about low numbers when taking her to Vetty.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206

'Morning Ann.
Poor Maggie. The enema should make her feel so much better. Gosh Ann, I wish I had something useful to say. With all the info we find on the 'net and in books, we still sometimes can't make our babies' bodies do what we want. :YMSIGH:
Sending 'feel better' vines to Miss Maggie, and your heart.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206

Ann, Is there anything I can do? I can tell you what to expect. I asked for the vet to use only soap and water. The tech showed up with something else, and I ask about it being only soap and water. She said no, it was solution of some sort, can't remember what it was. I asked to have it switched out to soap and water, and she did.

The tech tried to use a certain diameter of insertion device, but it was too big. She had to go back and get another. That worked. It took awhile for her to carefully and slowly put the soap and water in. I held Max's scruff, and petted him and talked to him. He growled. After the procedure was complete the tech left.

Max lay there for a while on the table, and then suddenly jumped up -- alarmed. He wanted off the table. He wanted a litter box, which had been brought for him, but he was too upset to use it. He was looking for another place, probably somewhere to hide. Finally, he went on the floor almost all at once.

Then, he went over by the wall of the room and lay down with his head on his paws. I tried to comfort him, but he really wanted to be left alone. The tech let us stay in the room until he was feeling better and stronger. By the time we got home he was feeling much better, and seemed no worse for the wear.

You may want to take a cardboard box for Maggie to hide inside while she has her BM?

Good luck!
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

+6 217
I guess Mags will surf the yellows.

Thank you Barb & Checkers for the vines for both of us. Isn't that the truth, so much info out there, too.

Thanks Dale, that really helps in knowing what to expect.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

Thanks Jane & Karre for the vines. All the Miralax, yogurt, some vaseline didn't want to move things along.

I just came back from Vetty and was thinking I'd be able to wait on her, but they want to monitor her the rest of the day. They did X-rays, and I just talked to one of the Vet Techs, and he said there's quite a bit of poop that needs to come out, not severely impacted or too large that she can't move it herself but getting hard. She hasn't poo'd any yet. Vet is going to start her on Cisapride and called it to a compounding Pharmacy and they will have it shipped. The local compounding pharmacy ran out of it. I'm glad they will monitor her and give fluids if she seems dehydrated. So stay tuned. Poor Maggie, already miss her.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

Poor sweet Mags, but it sounds like she's in good hands. It is good news that the poo is not severely impacted, and hopefully once this is over, you'll be able to get her "regular". Hugs to both of you....
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

Thanks so much Melissa and Amy, it was good news to hear it wasn't too severly impacted. She is in good hands there and good they want to minitor her and make sure she's hydrated, too.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

Hi Ann. Just here to see how Mags is doing. Poor baby. Wait 'til she finds out, you told everyone. :roll: :-D
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

Poor Maggie! But she should feel tons better once it is all over. Cleo needed a couple of enemas when she was in CFR. I gave them myself and she was so much beter afterwards. There is so much more info on constipation available now, that was poor Cleo's big crisis point. Best to keep on top of things!
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

Sorry Maggie had to have the enema, but at least she'll feel better once she gets to come home. I'm glad you vet can monitor her and make sure she's doing good before she comes home.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217

Just checking in to see the Maggie poo report. Poor thing on the vetty visit, but she will feel better afterwards. Sending vines for continued smooth action. Does she know how many LL aunties are waiting with baited breath for the BM report?
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199; +4 206; +6 217 UPDATE Maggie

Thanks Barb & Checkers, Wendy, Carla, and Ann & Tess, for checking on Maggie and all the others earlier who posted with vines and support. I hope I thanked everyone. Many, many thanks for all the vines and support for Mags.

The latest is she still has not made a poo movement which surprised me, but Vet Tech said it isn't that unusual. I'm on my way shortly to pick her up and bring her home, and hopefully by then she will have made some prezzie deposits. If no movement overnight, I'm to bring her back, and they'll do another enema tomorrow. Fingers and paws crossed she's made some prezzies. I'll post when we get back home.

I'm also having computer problems, so if you don't hear right away, hold on.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

:shock: oh my gracious... poor Maggie. We are hoping for a successful poo deposit for Maggie. So sorry Ann that she has to go though all of this. Paws crossed all will be well by the time you post again.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

Thanks Amy and Sienne,
We made it home and no poo, so the plan is for Mags to return to Vetty again tomorrow. I missed her shot which should have been at 3 pm. She's only 176 because she had some fluids.
Now I'm wondering if I should shoot now and make her shots 6 am and 6 pm, as she may be there all day tomorrow. Or do I skip and wait til tomorrow at 6 am? My brain isn't working! She's on 5 drops now. Her statement says administer SQ Fluids uo to 400 ml. I saw the X-rays where the poop is lodged. Vet says it's not that impacted or that wide that she can't deposit it.

An interesting finding. The X-rays showed that Mags has a pellet lodged in her spine area. Apparently when she was stray, someone shot her. Can you believe.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

OMG on the pellet...poor Mags!!!! What a lucky girl she is to be with you now.

Hopefully you'll see prezzies tonight. How is she feeling?
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

Awwwwww! Poor Mags! Hopefully there will be some action tonight. Once when i had to give Cleo an enema she didn't make it to the box and it just sort of popped out while she was walking, fortunately on the kitchen tile. :? Keep an eye on her tonight!
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

Hi Ann - good luck with the shot decision - you could do either one.... sorry she has to go back tomorrow.... what a day for you today.

and I can't believe that someone actually shot her - omg. a lodged pellet. who knew. i just can't believe it.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

Ann and Amy, her behavior is great! She couldn't be happier to be home. She's starving as they didn't give her any food.
Any thoughts on the shot. She missed her 3 pm shot, so I could either shoot 6:30 tonight or wait until 6 am tomorrow. She'll probably drop if I shoot with the amount of fluids.

Michelle, just saw your post. Yes, someone actually shot her, a little round pellet!

On the shot if I wait until 6 am tomorrow, is that too long?
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

Glad to hear she's feeling good!

No idea about the shot...maybe you should use the question mark icon and mention your question in the subject line....
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie AMPS 199 +4 206 +6 217 +15 176 Mags Home

If the 6/6 schedule will work for you I'd shoot now, then you can shoot at 6:15 tomorrow morning and 6:00pm tomorrow night. Her shed is draining now w/ the missed shot time so that acts like a temporary reduction.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Question on shot?

Maggie missed her 3 pm shot as she was at the Vet all day trying to make prezzies. I'm wondering if it would hurt to wait and make a new time at 6 am tomorrow, rather than shoot her fours late. With the fluids, if I shot 5 drops, she could drop, I'm thinking, I don't know if that's too long without any insulin?
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Question on shot?

Ann & Tess, that's what I thought if I wait til tomorrow the shed will be drained. I could give her half the dose.

Vet says unless the prezzie is 14 inches long, she still will need another enema, poor Mags. They said she was an angel, so that made it easy on them.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176

Thanks Ann & Tess, I shot at 6:30 at a reduced dose, just to be on the safe side.

Michelle and Amy, thanks for checking again on Maggie. She is fine and acts like nothing happened, which is true, as there were no prezzies. The pellet in her was a big shock.

Detective Poo, still no prezzies but hopefully tonight!
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

oh my goodness .. What an update! I sure hope that maggie has some prezzies for you and soon .. poor little girl! Poor momma! And how awful that she has a pellet in her .. some people should have a pellet in them :evil: Sweet maggie, I sure hope you start feeling better ..
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

You can shoot when you want and since you already shot, you're fine!!

I hope karma is in full force for whoever shot Maggie with a pellet gun.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

Thanks Sienne, I shot at 6:30, so if she's there all day, she won't miss any more shots. I agree on the karma on whoever shot Maggie. She would have been less than a year old.

Thanks Devon, let's hope there are some prezies tomorrow. I agree with the pellet on whoever shot her. I can't imagine anyone doing that to a young kitty.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

OMG poor Maggie!!! I wish awful things to whomever did that to her, she's such a sweetheart.

Please poop soon Mags ok?
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

OMG on the pellet, Ann! I don't understand hateful people!

Apparently, I don't understand enemas either. I was under the assumption, that they worked right away... as in, the contents of the colon, just floated, or was pushed out, along with the water, immediately.
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

Detective Poo here, just checking in. What a day for you and Mags. I hope you see some action soon. Paws crossed. Hugs to you, Ann. I know it's been a hard few weeks.
Liz
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

I just read thru the thread since I posted earlier today.
My goodness!

Poor Maggie ! I sure hope she poos tonite after all have retired.
She's quite a trooper thru all of this and then to find out someone shot her so long ago.

How lucky she is that she has you?
There is no telling what she went thru.
Maybe that's why she's so very sweet.
She knows she found a treasure in you and you found a treasure in her.

Prayers for Maggie!
 
Re: 8/28 Maggie +15 176 Maggie home

Awwww, poor Maggie! I hope everything comes out ok!!! (tee-hee...couldn't resist! :lol: ) She has such a good momma bean, I have a feeling she's going to be just fine! As for the pellet, I hate to think of what cruel people do to animals...makes me start to hate the world. But then I see these beautiful creatures who give us such amazing amounts of unconditional love and I think...maybe I'll just stick to dealing and talking to animals!!! (and their beans!)

Wishing you guys a good evening and a super pooper day tomorrow!!! :-D

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top