8/28 Lucky AMPS 250 PMPS 291

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi everybody. Sorry for not writing in a long while, it's been difficult handling Lucky's soft stools, and I've also had some personal family issues I've been trying to work through. Here's Lucky's spreadsheet, and his recent numbers:

Readings for 8/27 and 8/28 at 2.5u

AMPS 254
+6 117
+9 147
PMPS 108
+6 149
AMPS 250
+7 309
PMPS 291

It looks like Lucky may have rebounded last night or this morning. I'm starting to wonder if he might be having continuous rebounds and I'm just raising the dose and persisting the rebounds (I read somewhere that that can happen). I did notice that the last time he was at 2.5u, he seemed to be bouncing less into the 300's, and I wonder if feeding him a few hours prior to his shots may have helped in some way.

Right now Lucky's neuropathy is unfortunately a little worse than before I took him to the dental appointment. He's walking around a lot less than usual, and though he was previously walking only a little wobbly on his toes, it seems that now he's getting closer and closer to walking strictly on his hocks. I started adding Zobaline to his breakfast about 15 days ago, but it doesn't seem to have had any effect so far. I've read that the supplement doesn't work so well unless the cat's numbers are regulated, so I'm trying to figure out what's going on with Lucky's numbers, though I'm not sure what else I can do.

I also finished Lucky's antibiotic prescription the day before yesterday, and stopped adding pumpkin to his meals just this evening, so I'm hoping it will be less gooey the next time he poops (his poop has still been catching onto his leg hairs the last couple of weeks, which has been a huge hassle and an enormous energy drain to catch and clean up on a daily basis). The worsening neuropathy isn't helping either --- he used to stand normally on his hind legs when he took a poop, but these days he's getting closer and closer to just sitting down, which makes the mess on his legs a lot worse.

That's all for now, I guess. If anyone has any insight or thoughts they'd like to share, as always it would be much appreciated. Thanks everybody.
 
The Zobaline can take a month or two to start having an effect.

Overall, it looks to me like Lucky's numbers are improving. I wouldn't worry about the bounces. With Lantus, and especially since you've been carefully and systematically raising the dose according to the protocol, the kind of rebound you're referring to is unlikely. Most cats bounce. Some cat's liver's "learn" more quickly and readjust to being in normal numbers without bouncing.
 
Thanks so much again Sienne, for the information and the encouraging words. I guess I'll just have to wait and see for the Zobaline to take effect, and deal with the bounces as they come. It does look like Lucky's numbers are improved compared to before, so maybe things are getting better slowly as time passes by. Anyways, thanks so much again Sienne, you really have been a great help to us both and I really appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top