8/28 Klinger AMPS 427; +3 450; +6 428; +9 453

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/28 Klinger AMPS 427

I went back and re-read what Joanna said yesterday, your AMPS has come down so you may still be seeing some effects from the 199.

Just a guess.
 
Yeah, I'd go to 2u.

Robin, you are thinking liver training from the 199, i.e. his body isn't used to seeing that so went all red in response? (Not sure I understood what you meant.) I was wondering if that might be it, but I'm thinking then today's #s would have come down more? Not sure, but anyhow it's looking like more insulin needed to me, oh well. It was nice to see a blue though, if just a fleeting one. :-D
 
Liver training is that their livers often seem to react like they are having a hypo risk when they aren't. So if they see numbers that are better than they are used to, they will show a rebound pattern like they would if they actually hypo'd, but even when there weren't hypo #s. Someone else can explain it better. :)

The length of time rebound lasts can vary - I think the sort of classic pattern is maybe one cycle of reds after you see a blue # when you haven't seen one in a while. Rebound can take up to 3 days to clear, but I don't remember seeing anything where someone ran in reds for 3 days and then the #s came down. So I'm guessing it's more like the #s will improve in a couple cycles when rebound is clearing, and then might improve even more over the next couple days.

With Klinger since he's seen lots of blues & greens not too long ago I'm not sure if his liver would need retraining or not...? In any case though, even if it were that, looks like he needs more insulin to stay in better #s for the moment. Generally they seem to need more insulin to stay in good #s for a while and then their livers will settle down. If it's true rebound, from actual hypo #s, then you reduce the dose and wait for the rebound to clear. If it's liver training reaction rebound, then you hold the dose through the freak-out red cycle, but if the #s don't come back down you have to raise the dose, from what I've seen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top