8/28 Johnny PMPS 117 +1(57) +1.75(43) getting gravy

Status
Not open for further replies.
134 @ +4! (no feeding since +3)

I'll take a look at the chart, but I think Johnny is always within 3-7% carb range. Right now, only Fancy Feast. Open to others.
 
what did he have for dinner tonight? For some cats there is a big difference between 3% and 7%. For Jill's Alex, that's a huge difference. For my cats, it's hardly noticeable.
 
He had an early dinner and a late dinner...I'm pretty sure it was Chopped Grill Feast (2%) followed by Savory Salmon Feast (3%).

eta: Flaked Tuna (7%) is a big favorite here...just not served tonight. He hasn't rejected anything yet (thank goodness), so if we want to keep hitting a higher %, I think he'd be willing.
 
by jove, i think we've got it! :lol:

how about feeding foods under 3% exclusively and starting an OTJ trial?
feed every 4 hours (you can leave food out for him since he's used to free feeding). test 4 hours after eating (when you're home). if he gives you a blue number, feed him something like evo 95% chicken & turkey flavor (0% carbs). you might have to call around to find evo. they don't carry it at petsmart.

if johnny bounces and is over 150 in the morning, go ahead and shoot a drop for his last shot.
if he's under 150 in the morning, start the trial.

what do you think?
 
FF Ocean Fish Feast and FF Flaked Fish & Shrimp are also listed at 0%. I encourage you to try the EVO, though. My cats LOVE it (Lucy thinks it's a treat) and it's a good quality food that he could eat every day if he likes it. You don't want to feed fish every day. The Ocean Fish Feast is good, it's one of Lucy's favorites, it looks pretty much like flaked tuna in a can.

I free feed too, but I found that if I put a little bit of fresh food in a bowl and shove it in front of Lucy, it helps get her snacking on the schedule I want instead of just whenever she remembers to go to the bowl.
 
@-) @-) @-) Wow. I totally didn't expect this tonight. That sounds like a good plan. Do you mean sticking to 3% and under? Are the FF classics in that range (not on the chart)? We can handle whatever Johnny needs us to handle. No harm to the civvies?

I think the FF Appetizers are 0% carb too. Are they okay?

Huge props to Jill and Libby for staying up so late! Where's the crowd-surfing-smiley icon??
 
some people have reported higher BG's after the FF flavors changed. I haven't noticed that, but with an OTJ kitty I don't test often enough to really notice (she's still in good numbers, though) and I haven't had Jazzy long enough to notice. She has not had the old Gourmet flavors, as far as I know.

Hopefully being nitpicky about the carb % won't last forever, but we're hoping that will get him through his OTJ trial. Once his pancreas is stronger, hopefully it can handle more variety.
 
and 4% might be ok once in awhile. your meter will let you know.
low carb will be fine for your civvies. my civvies all eat the same as alex... under 4% carbs.
 
142 @ +5. Good to head to bed?

Thank you both so much for caring about Johnny so much to hang around tonight! It means a lot!! If he's above 150 tomorrow, we'll shot a drop. If not, AHHHHHHH! I don't know that I can announce another OTJ trial--haven't I hit my limit?! ;-)

Thanks for your wisdom tonight. Fingers and paws crossed that if we do 3% carb or less, we'll be surfing towards the Falls.

Good night! Thanks!!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top