8/28 Jimmy's PMPS 337 +1 344/R .5 +2 344 +3 323 +4 282

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok so that's weird...+2 was 347...same exact number as +1. Immediately retested and got 371. Geez Jimmy.
 
Last edited:
Good luck! I find R to be very helpful to keep Chino from bouncing all the way to the moon after a blue/green nadir, though the same dose of R can take him lower on some days than on others. I hope you get quick and consistent results with Jimmy :)
 
Yay! Under 300 already too. I feed 100% raw...not sure that will help slow things down if I need to. I have LC wet commercial and HC commercial but I'd like to stay away from those unless absolutely necessary. After +4 will the next test be +6?
 
Yay! Under 300 already too. I feed 100% raw...not sure that will help slow things down if I need to. I have LC wet commercial and HC commercial but I'd like to stay away from those unless absolutely necessary. After +4 will the next test be +6?
You can add a drop or so of honey to his raw if you need to steer. That is what I will do from now on as I think that the FF Salmon I gave to Bubba on 8/19 to steer him started him off with his GI issue right now. He had not had canned food in about 6 months prior to that.
 
You can add a drop or so of honey to his raw if you need to steer. That is what I will do from now on as I think that the FF Salmon I gave to Bubba on 8/19 to steer him started him off with his GI issue right now. He had not had canned food in about 6 months prior to that.
Great idea! Thank you!
 
+4 281. Gonna feed him a good ounce of raw and let him be until +6.

When his numbers drop he typically comes to me for food - let's see what happens over the next two hours. Unless I should keep testing hourly?
 
Getting a script for Levemir from my mobile vet...she sent a few thoughts on with it...

1. Levemir tends to be a longer acting insulin than glargine. It is advisable to wait 4 to 7 days before doing a curve and changing dose as it can take that long for the numbers to stabilize (look into piggy back effect of insulin).

2. Most specialists recommend starting the levemir at 50% of the dose he was on of his previous insulin and slowing increasing as needed.

3. Watch for hypoglycemia as the GH secretion that causes insulin resistance in Acro cats is not consistent and they can suddenly start responding to insulin and become hypo.

50% less sounds like a lot...but hoping I get IAA results to help factor that in by the time I receive the Levemir.

Closing my eyes now...alarm set for 10:45. o_O
 
Do you normally feed at this time?

Regarding the next test, I think +6 is fine.

Good job :cool:
Yes...he gets several mini meals a day. Today I've been holding back some so that he will come for testing. Giving him a tiny forkful at each test.

Just gave him the full ounce. That will keep him happy for at least an hr or so. Unless he starts to drop rapidly - then he usually comes to me and meows.

Thanks for this morning...will keep updating as I get the tests.
 
Most here would say start Levemir at 70% of the Lantus dose. Since Bronx was stuck in the pinks/reds when I switched, I only dropped from 7.5u Lantus to 7u of Lev. But at that time Bronx never saw a yellow, took some R to finally get him there.
 
Most here would say start Levemir at 70% of the Lantus dose. Since Bronx was stuck in the pinks/reds when I switched, I only dropped from 7.5u Lantus to 7u of Lev. But at that time Bronx never saw a yellow, took some R to finally get him there.
Hmm ok. Well I don't expect the switch right away so maybe by then it would be a full 50-60%. Thanks for sharing Bronx's exp.
 
Yeah for a successful experiment today. Yellows are better than his recent pinks.

Of course I have to comment on the following:
Getting a script for Levemir from my mobile vet...she sent a few thoughts on with it...

1. Levemir tends to be a longer acting insulin than glargine. It is advisable to wait 4 to 7 days before doing a curve and changing dose as it can take that long for the numbers to stabilize (look into piggy back effect of insulin).

2. Most specialists recommend starting the levemir at 50% of the dose he was on of his previous insulin and slowing increasing as needed.

3. Watch for hypoglycemia as the GH secretion that causes insulin resistance in Acro cats is not consistent and they can suddenly start responding to insulin and become hypo.

50% less sounds like a lot...but hoping I get IAA results to help factor that in by the time I receive the Levemir.
Yes, Levemir can have longer duration is a lot of kitties, so that is why you tend to see flatter cycles on Lev. Please ignore her comments on waiting 4-7 days before doing a curve, for Jimmy's safety's sake. Some kitties have a marked reaction to the new insulin in the first or second cycles after the switch. Jack (@saltycat) is one such example though that was Prozinc to Lev. But I've also seen it in low dosers. So do the switch when you can monitor closely the first couple of cycles. It's possible it could be a non event, or not.

The "non specialists" here who just have tons of experience, suggest 70% of the Lantus dose as the new Levemir dose. There is a good chance you'll have to go back up to the same dose as the Lantus, especially if he's not on a Lantus dose that is seeing lots of greens. Yes the depot has to build, but you can begin marching back up the dosing scale per TR if he's stuck in high numbers, after 6 cycles.

Lev vs. Lantus has nothing to do with possible hypo and GH secretion. I've read that the number one cause of death in acros is hypoglcemia. Probably takes a fair number of small dosers too. That is why we are such strong advocates of testing. Yes, the tumour output can change. You've seen in go up, it can also go down - though it's usually not as sudden as IAA breaking, which thankfully you don't have to worry about. But if Jimmy starts earning reductions, and more than one in a row, it's a good change the tumour output is changing and you want to be conservative on dosing. Post here and we can help with suggestions on how to handle that. Actually, using R really helps in this case. When Jimmy needs less insulin and is on a depot insulin, you have to wait for the depot to deplete. If part of his regime includes R, it's just an in and out insulin and you just stop giving it if his insulin needs drop.
 
Yeah for a successful experiment today. Yellows are better than his recent pinks.

Of course I have to comment on the following:

Yes, Levemir can have longer duration is a lot of kitties, so that is why you tend to see flatter cycles on Lev. Please ignore her comments on waiting 4-7 days before doing a curve, for Jimmy's safety's sake. Some kitties have a marked reaction to the new insulin in the first or second cycles after the switch. Jack (@saltycat) is one such example though that was Prozinc to Lev. But I've also seen it in low dosers. So do the switch when you can monitor closely the first couple of cycles. It's possible it could be a non event, or not.

The "non specialists" here who just have tons of experience, suggest 70% of the Lantus dose as the new Levemir dose. There is a good chance you'll have to go back up to the same dose as the Lantus, especially if he's not on a Lantus dose that is seeing lots of greens. Yes the depot has to build, but you can begin marching back up the dosing scale per TR if he's stuck in high numbers, after 6 cycles.

Lev vs. Lantus has nothing to do with possible hypo and GH secretion. I've read that the number one cause of death in acros is hypoglcemia. Probably takes a fair number of small dosers too. That is why we are such strong advocates of testing. Yes, the tumour output can change. You've seen in go up, it can also go down - though it's usually not as sudden as IAA breaking, which thankfully you don't have to worry about. But if Jimmy starts earning reductions, and more than one in a row, it's a good change the tumour output is changing and you want to be conservative on dosing. Post here and we can help with suggestions on how to handle that. Actually, using R really helps in this case. When Jimmy needs less insulin and is on a depot insulin, you have to wait for the depot to deplete. If part of his regime includes R, it's just an in and out insulin and you just stop giving it if his insulin needs drop.
lol...wanted peeps to see some of the vet response I receive..hey I'm just grateful she writes me scripts without a lot of grief. Will be ordering Thursday. Weather is nice and cool in the NE right now so it's good timing.
 
Can you modify the subject heading to remove the AMPS and show the PMPS and update with subsequent tests. That gives us a quick heads up if attention needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top