8/28 Grandpa another fur shot! AMPS 243, +5 249, +9 298, PMPS 386, +4 406

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
Yesterday

He has gone up from 140 at 3 AM to 243 at 6:30. He's eating breakfast so he got his 2.5U. Last night was the longest he has ever stayed in the blues and even had one green. I have a busy day of conference calls today but will monitor to see how his daytime numbers go.

What's odd is that he seems to feel better in the yellows. He seems really tired in lower numbers. Has anyone else experienced this?
 
Yesterday

He has gone up from 140 at 3 AM to 243 at 6:30. He's eating breakfast so he got his 2.5U. Last night was the longest he has ever stayed in the blues and even had one green. I have a busy day of conference calls today but will monitor to see how his daytime numbers go.

What's odd is that he seems to feel better in the yellows. He seems really tired in lower numbers. Has anyone else experienced this?
Yes, Teasel was more lethargic in lower good numbers earlier in his FD career. Most of that has passed but I still think his sweet spot for feeling good is low blues or very high dark green.
 
Hooray for the great cycle! I think Lou felt better in yellows and pinks for a while, and anything under 100 would make him run to his food bowl. Now you can tell he feels better in the greens and a bit more sluggish in the pinks. Now if only his body would get over bouncing.... :rolleyes: I hope Grandpa has a good day today!
 
I think Grandpa has the same condition as Noah. "I'm not going anywhere, feed me human".
bacon01.jpg
 
I can't believe this! Grandpa is finally responding and having days with good numbers and I do another lousy fur shot. I hadn't done one since we started insulin in May and now two in a week. This time I was overly careful. I shot in an area where I could see skin through the fur and watched the needle go in. I ran my finger around the area to make sure I didn't go through. I pushed the plunger and watched the liquid hit the cardboard box the plate of food is in. I swiped my finger through it and the smell left no doubt. Aaaagh!
 
Ahhhhhhh :woot: :woot: :woot: ..... I’m sorry , Beck :bighug: My prayer is that this won’t make sweet Grandpa miss a beat :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry, those fur shots can be so disappointing! Just a thought, are you shooting sideways into the pinched skin? I don't want to mess up your technique, but I found it was easier to pinch the skin, then shoot straight in the middle of the skin between my fingers, I don't pinch the skin that high up, but can get a nice angle in for the needle, and not through to the other side. Hope that makes sense! I'm glad Grandpa was feeling good today :cat:, after getting into a nice surf last night, he really didn't bounce all that badly, hoping tomorrow is a good day too.
 
I am shooting down into the tent, but I wonder if I'm pulling the tent too high. I like the through the fingers idea.

The frustrating thing is that I've given tons of distemper and depo shots. I know better! And he needs this.
 
I am shooting down into the tent, but I wonder if I'm pulling the tent too high. I like the through the fingers idea.

The frustrating thing is that I've given tons of distemper and depo shots. I know better! And he needs this.
I came across a post about angle and depth of shot for insulin, I'll try and find it for you. When it's your fur-baby, sometimes it's just a bit trickier, I've actually inserted the needle and thought, nope, don't like how that feels, and reinserted, and shot. Good news is you get a pokie break?:bighug:
 
Yes, Bubba was lethargic when he first hit normal numbers. You figure, they get used to being in higher numbers which become their norm.

Ugh, on the FS! When I do them, they seem to happen in 3s . Don't beat yourself up. They happen to all of us no matter what the experience level is.
 
Ugh, on the FS! When I do them, they seem to happen in 3s . Don't beat yourself up. They happen to all of us no matter what the experience level is.

Thanks! I'm trying to think of what house jobs I can use to barter with my roommate. She switched majors from nursing to physical therapy years ago because she hates needles. She is much better at it than I am, though. I wonder how many times I can trade dishes and trash for shots?
 
Thanks! I'm trying to think of what house jobs I can use to barter with my roommate. She switched majors from nursing to physical therapy years ago because she hates needles. She is much better at it than I am, though. I wonder how many times I can trade dishes and trash for shots?
Now that is being resourceful ! If it's any consolation, I still hold my breath at each shot. And did I mention I say a prayer to NOT be a FS.
 
Back
Top