8/28 Garland AMBG 46 PMPS 294 +2 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
YESTERDAY

Garland is recovering from DKA/FHL:, etube feedings

I tested a few times over night (missed my 6am alarm) Her AM BS was 46. (I tested several times, all 45-46) She is acting fine. No hypo symptoms.. I dont really know the "dangerous" number. I need to go back and read the last few posts from last night. I just wanted to get this thread started first. I gave her some gravy. Im about to start feeding her the regular feeds. Obviously I wont shoot this morning, right?

Tested at 7 (45) 715 (46) 730 (46) 8 (62) 830 (72) 10 (91) 12 (158)

from 7-730 I was giving her her morning meds (had to wait to feed her) But I did give her some gravy during this time. Then at 730 I fed her. Tested again at 8am, she rose to 62. 8 am is her normal shot time, i skipped it bc of her numbers
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBS 46

Morning, Violet.

I'm not a good one for giving dosing advice. That's a bit of a low # to start the morning. Blackie has gone down to 21 when I first started testing her, but that was a mixture of too high of a dose combined with high carb food, which threw her into a tailspin. This was in the afternoon, though, between shots.

I hope that someone will be along very shortly to help you with this. The only thing that I can suggest is to test every 15-20 minutes, or up to every 30 minutes.

Wishing for a nice surf for you both today. :)
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBS 46

Well there's an eye opener!
Yes, skip the shot this morning Violet, her shed needs to drain some.
That is a low number. Since you gave her some gravy and are now feeding her, she will rise.
Please test in 30 minis.
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBS 46

Natalia & Enana said:
Garland just earned a reduction :-D
Whats crazy is last night when I gave her the PM shot, I remember feeling like it was closer to 2.5 instead of her usual 2.75. (those .25's are really really hard to see) So she may have gotten .25 less than what she should have had . Its just really tough to see those invisible .25 lines....
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBS 46

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Well there's an eye opener!
Yes, skip the shot this morning Violet, her shed needs to drain some.
That is a low number. Since you gave her some gravy and are now feeding her, she will rise.
Please test in 30 minis.
Okay :) Morning! ~O)
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBS 46

I think I can skip my extra cup of coffe!! Eye opener is right. Wow Garland!

I hear ya on those invisible lines! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBS 46

Wow to Garland and you! Congrats on another dose reduction if I'm correct! It is challenging measuring when you need a .25 to something dose! I have to use reading glasses + a magnifying glass!
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBS 46

While this is an eye opening way to start the day, it tells you a great deal! If there was an infection/inflammation fueling Garland's DKA, it's clearing (or has cleared). She's got to be feeling better. A sick cat usually has high numbers. My guess is that she's going to show even more interest in food.

A little HC and test. You want to coax Garland's numbers to the 50 - 60 range.

(FYI - when you don't shoot, it's your AMBG.)

I'd like to see what happens with Garland's numbers over the next hour or so. If she starts to spike, we may want to re-think the shot or consider R.
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +.5 62

Yea, I have noticed the last 2 days she feels better. Shes rolling on her back and sleeping in positions she used too (instead of that awkward meatloaf/spinx one) She also started moving her head and body with my hand when I pet her, asking for more LOL She still isnt really eating on her own. Shes trying though. But we will be tube feeding for at least 2 more weeks (if not longer) I think
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +.5 62

A nice rise. Please test again is 30 mins.

the rain has pretty much stopped (after 11 or so inches) but we still have very high winds here in Baltimore.
Power has been on and off..
(and the basement is flooded :-x )
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +.5 62

I so happy to hear that Garland is feeling better and acting more herself :-D You're doing a wonderful job, Violet.


Sandy and Black Kitty said:

the rain has pretty much stopped (after 11 or so inches) but we still have very high winds here in Baltimore.
Power has been on and off..
(and the basement is flooded :-x )
Sandy, I'm glad you made it through the hurricane okay. I hope the flooded basement didn't ruin anything. I bought a shop vac on Friday just in case. Sorry, to high jack your condo, Violet, but I wanted to talk to Sandy, too :smile:
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +.5 62

What a number. Garland is amazing.

What are you feeding each feeding? Just trying to get an idea of the carbs.

Do you know anyone that can lend you a baby scale? I'd like to know if she is eating enough that she's maintaining or gaining. And when she starts eating on her own you still may have to supplement with tube feedings. The only way to know is if you weigh her.
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +.5 62

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
A nice rise. Please test again is 30 mins.

the rain has pretty much stopped (after 11 or so inches) but we still have very high winds here in Baltimore.
Power has been on and off..
(and the basement is flooded :-x )
So happy you and yours are safe! Sorry to hear about the basement though :(
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +.5 62 +1 72

Looking good, the food and HC have brought her up. Please test again in an hour.
BTW - since you did not shoot at +12, she is now at +13 (13 hours since last shot)


eta - please get a ketone test as well
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +.5 62

Karrie and Maverick said:
What a number. Garland is amazing.

What are you feeding each feeding? Just trying to get an idea of the carbs.

Do you know anyone that can lend you a baby scale? I'd like to know if she is eating enough that she's maintaining or gaining. And when she starts eating on her own you still may have to supplement with tube feedings. The only way to know is if you weigh her.
Ive asked around about the baby scale,no one has one. But my normal scale is digital and has ounces on it. Would that work? Ive weighed her on it before in the past.

Each feeding is from a batch of a 5.8 oz can of recovery mixed with a couple tbsp clinicare. I would say shes eating about 1.5 cans in 24 hours. I have all her feedings listed on my spreadsheet
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72

Ketone test came up as "LO"

According to the manual that means the ketone level was less than 0.1 (which is normal. NO KETONE range is up to 1.6)
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91

+14 91

Garland is being very playful today. She keeps trying to bat at my hands when I poke her and rolling on her back to get me to pet her tummy. LOL Then when I do it, she bats at me like my hand is a toy :) Last night we played a little game of hide and seek. She kept opening the bathroom door when I wasnt looking (yes, shes smart like that when I dont properly latch it) and hiding in different places around the house. The first time it took me like 15 minutes to find her. Keep in mind this was at like 1am, so I was not my on my A game :lol:
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91

Garland is being playful, go Garland!! Violet you are doing a superb job!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91 +16 158

You are getting in a very decent amount of food.Maverick was 13.5lbs when he was home from his surgeries and he maintained his weight on a can and a half. But after a couple of weeks of maintaining, he started gaining on that amount which he needed to do. Most likely Garland will need less calories in order to maintain her weight - as her diabetes gets regulated and her liver recovers. I have to say you have done a phenominal job. You have kept cool, calm and collected and you had little ones and DKA to deal with. I am extremely impressed.
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91 +16 158

I am also really, really impressed. And this is so great for Garland that her numbers are coming down and she's wanting to play. Absolutely terrific news today!!
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91 +18 218

Thanks guys :) I couldnt have done any of this without the help of FDMB. You all saved her as much as me cat_pet_icon Thanks for all you have done!
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91 +18 218

What a beautiful morning for Garland and you. Such a joy to see them return to their old personalities. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91 +18 218

Hi Violet,
That 46 last cycle earned Garland a decrease - still pondering how much - but I wanted to let you know you will not be shooting 2.75u tonight
I'll be back before PMPS
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 +13 72 +14 91 +18 218

Hello again,
Hope the rest of the day has gone well.
Garlands new dose, starting tonight , will be 2.50u
I'll pop in later to see how things are going
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 PMPS 294

A very lovely report for Garland today! A reduction, playing, rolling around sleeping on her back, improved numbers...all such wonderful news!!

Amy
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 PMPS 294

OK. Drained the shed a bit and slowed things down. A small respite for you and Garland today- you've had more than your share of intensity!
How's miss Garland doing tonight?
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 PMPS 294

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
OK. Drained the shed a bit and slowed things down. A small respite for you and Garland today- you've had more than your share of intensity!
How's miss Garland doing tonight?
+2 295

So is it bad that shes back up in these numbers again? Should I have given her something today at one point? Although those 40's and 50's this morning were a little stressful. I knew she was fine, but still .. nailbite_smile

Garland is doing AMAZING!! She is getting back to her old self when it comes to spunk. I say shes at a 75% now. She came out and snuggled on the couch. Shes purring and climbing up on my chest to rub her head against my cheek. Shes being playful and swatting at things like any healthy cat would. Shes meowing at me when she gets annoyed. Shes trying to open doors so she can go where she wants. The light in her eyes is back. She looks great, has a shiny coat. Shes scratching up the carpet to sharpen her nails again. Shes even begging for food, although shes not eating much of it. The way she goes about it, makes me think she doesnt like the old food she used to have. Shes always had the FF classics, but its like she doesnt like the taste of it. I may go buy something new to see of it makes a difference. She still is lacking some of her energy she used to have. And I know we will be tube feeding for quite a bit longer, but shes come such a long way! Connick is still hissing at her though. If its still going on when her tube comes out, i may give both of them a good bath and see if that helps. I miss seeing them get along. They always used to snuggle and sleep next to each other.
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 PMPS 294

Nope. It's not bad. Given the skipped shot, Garland's numbers could have skyrocketed and they didn't. It was probably a wise thing that you didn't shoot this morning. Garland's shed may have needed some additional draining. I bet she'll be back on track in a day or two.

It's great to hear how well Garland is doing. I don't want to be a Debbie Downer but please, stay vigilant. Ketones can develop quickly. Some kitties are prone to developing ketone and we don't know if this is a one time thing for Garland or if she's ketone prone. Garland is so much better but until she's eating on her own and the tube is gone, she's still convalescing.
 
Re: 8/28 Garland AMBG 46 PMPS 294

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't want to be a Debbie Downer but please, stay vigilant. Ketones can develop quickly. Some kitties are prone to developing ketone and we don't know if this is a one time thing for Garland or if she's ketone prone. Garland is so much better but until she's eating on her own and the tube is gone, she's still convalescing.
Yea, I know we still have a long way to go, but it really fills my heart to see her getting back to herself. She looked like she was knocking on deaths door for almost a month now... I had lost hope that she was gonna make it a couple times during this, and I now I know shes gonna pull through this :smile: Shes a fighter, and I plan on fighting right next to her. Ill stay vigilant. I promise :smile:
 
it really fills my heart to see her getting back to herself.

It fills all of our hearts, Violet. We needed this and it's so wonderful to hear how well she is doing. You are a SUPER Woman!!!

Thanks for stopping by our condo to visit Gracie...the Lil Stinka of LL!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top