8/28 Diane AMPS: 76, +6: 83, PMPS: 80, +2: 67

Haley&Diane

Member Since 2015
Hope everyone has had a great week so far!

Diane has adjusted to her new reduction at .25 units. She stayed under 100 all day which was great!

We go on vacation this weekend for a week, so I am worried about her having issues while we are gone and messing up this awesome streak. My mom is watching her but can't test (I will still show her how in case of emergency) so I was originky going to reduce her dose by half just to play it safe....but now that she's at .25 units I feel like that'll be too hard for my mother to measure. I also think .25 is going to be hard for her to measure (I already get I'mfrustrated enough trying to measure it!). So, I am now considering increasing to half a unit and incorporating a tiny amount of DM dry food with her dinners (like just some sprinkled over the wet food) to balance it all out while we are gone...just worried it'll mess up the awesome cycle she's been on.
 
Personally I would not increase the dose even if you add some dry food. It would be a guess at best if it was enough dry food to counteract the increase, and there will be no testing to check, and her numbers are in the normal range.
Maybe buy some Calipers which your Mom should be able to use if she is shown how. Then you could reduce to 0.1 unit.

See what others think.
 
Hey there. I would just take her dose down to 0.1 u without giving dry food. As Bron said, it would be a guess at best to get a winning combo dose so to speak with raising the dose and giving dry food.

Without calipers, it would be a hair’s width under the zero line on the syringe. Since syringes can be off with their markings by as much as .25 of a unit, you’ll want to test all the syringes that you leave for your mom to give insulin while you are away.

Syringes that are marked correctly will have the top of the plunger even with the zero line when a little pressure is applied to the plunger.

So, grab out all those syringes that meet that criteria to be enough for twice a day times the number of days you’ll be gone.

I think that will be a win win for your kitty and keep mom from having to use calipers while you are away.

Teach her what hypo symptoms look like so she could give additional food if necessary.
 
Thanks everyone!

My mom tried measuring tonight and it went...okay. she was nervous and shaking when she gave Diane the shot. The fine dosing is going to be so so difficult for her.
Which I understand bc .1 or even .25 is hard to get even for me now.

And then of course Diane hissed at her later when she pet her.

I'll be with my mom for the morning dose and then we leave. SO nervous and hoping she does alright...we will be gone a whole week though so I'm kind of freaking out.
 
She sure has great numbers! I hope your mom can get help if needed - I'd freak out if I were going away for a week without Luci...I guess I would take her along...or not go...

You've gotten some good suggestions above. Praying everything will work out well while you're away :)
 
She sure has great numbers! I hope your mom can get help if needed - I'd freak out if I were going away for a week without Luci...I guess I would take her along...or not go...

You've gotten some good suggestions above. Praying everything will work out well while you're away :)

Thank you! My sister is my vet too and only lives an hour away, so that helps ease my mind a little. We go away for two weeks next year so I'm hoping she just has to get through the learning curve (like we all probably did when starting out). I know I struggled so much and within a months time I'm much better so hoping that's how it goes for her too...

I'll still be super nervous while away though of course lol
 
Unfortunately no. We're going overseas. Booked it before we knew we were going to start insulin. It's 7 months away though so maybe there will be a clear solution by then. We do have a 24 hr vet that boards but it's $50 a night
 
Back
Top