8/28 Callie AMPS 93, +2.75 107, +5.25 79 - increase

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
previous - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-123-5-115-advice-needed.267653/#post-2994029

Good morning,

Callie is still sneezing but she has seemed a little brighter today and last night and her appetite is better (more excited about food) so hopefully, whatever it is that she caught, it is moving on out!

She surprised us with a (just) green preshot at yesterday's PMPS and because we weren't going to be able to test until +3, we decided to wait until this am to increase her dose. Another green preshot this AMPS and we did increase her to .1 so we'll keep a close eye on her today.

As an aside, I was reminded this am how much easier the drop dose is to draw up than .1 :eek: lol

Hope everyone has a good Sunday. Surf safely kitties :cat:
 
Hello Jessica. Sorry to hear you and Rob got Covid. Hope you are feeling better soon. Positive vibes that Callie’s sneezing and lethargy is associated with temperatures and pollen. Wondering how they diagnose COVID in felines. Take care of yourselves and congratulations on the new job.

if you get a spare moment, let Callie listen to the video I made of our Cali yesterday, she sounds like Linda Blair in the Exerocist [old movie of girl possessed]. Cali was letting our new kitty know how much she loves him. NOT! Today she added action to verbal. Didn’t realize how the old gal can still move [thanks to the Meloxicam daily].
Take care

Thanks, Carla! Rob and I are mostly better and it seems like Callie is also on the mend from whatever she's got (fingers, paws and toes crossed!) Hope you all are doing well.

I actually started obsessively researching cats and covid when Rob and I got it because I remembered hearing about cats getting it early on and I am always worried about Callie's breathing because of her asthma. I'm including links with some info below in case anyone is interested ... in a nutshell, cats seem to be at least mildly susceptible to covid and the majority of the cases have been fairly mild so I don't think there is a ton of testing being done, though it is possible to test and there are confirmed cases. When testing is done on animals generally, it looks like vets collect samples by nasal swab (those tiny cat noses??!!), oropharyngeal swab, and/or rectal swab. And there's some antibody testing.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/daily-life-coping/animals.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/animals/animal-testing.html#content-3
https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departm...ly-asked-questions-covid-19-and-feline-health
https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departm...rnell-feline-health-center/coronavirus-update

Re: your video - OMG Cali :nailbiting: She really does sound like she's auditioning for the Exorcist 2. Callie came running over to my phone when she heard the video -- I'm not sure if she's team Cali or if she wanted to defend your new kitty but she definitely wanted in on the action! Hope you all have a good, quiet Sunday!
 
Last edited:
I looked up Tanya's website for Lip Licking and this is what it says:

Lip Licking or Lipsmacking
Symptoms and Possible Causes More Information and Possible Treatments
Gastric hyperacidity Appetite Loss, Nausea and Vomiting
Anaemia All About Anaemia
Side effect of capromorelin (Entyce) Persuading Your Cat to Eat
Dehydration Regulation of Fluid and Urinary Imbalances
Side effect of metoclopramide (rare) Appetite Loss, Nausea and Vomiting

I hope Callie feels better soon. I know you will do everything you can to get her there. :bighug:

Thanks, Bhooma. I am going to check out those links. I am really thankful that Callie has continued to eat throughout... but she usually LOVES her food and appears in the kitchen when we are preparing it, circling our feet and purring and/or screaming up a storm -- depending on whether our speed of service is to her liking -- and she usually licks her bowl clean. So when she stopped stalking us in the kitchen and she was leaving over some of her food, I was definitely concerned something was up.

She hasn't been licking her lips this am so far and she has been cleaning her bowl ... but I am going to check with her vet to find out whether she can take zofran with her other meds just in case we need it in the future.
 
Jessica i can recommend using bluetooth headset, my husband tests Chico even during meetings and nobody even notices. I understand that being in a training is different but thought it might help. Get better and hopefully Callie will as well get better

LOL Marina, I love this!! Thank you, I'm definitely going to try it. The problem is the times we are supposed to also be on camera...but I can't help it if I have some technical glitch that occasionally turns my camera off for the time it takes me to prick Callie's ear...

I hope that you and Chico are doing well. :bighug:
 
LOL Marina, I love this!! Thank you, I'm definitely going to try it. The problem is the times we are supposed to also be on camera...but I can't help it if I have some technical glitch that occasionally turns my camera off for the time it takes me to prick Callie's ear...

I hope that you and Chico are doing well. :bighug:
Yeah, camera glitches happen all the time :D
We and Chico (and newly Chico’s sister Nora) are doing ok. Nora is a little daredevil that steals Chico’s food and “terrorizes” him with extreme playfulness so he has to “manage” that as well except diabetes :rolleyes:

good luck with the increase :bighug:
 
Back
Top