8/27 Trinity AMPS 352 +2.5/368 +6/365 +11/293 PMPS 294

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeyB

Member Since 2013
I'm a bit confused with what is going on with her testing results. Could someone point me in a direction why the figures aren't going lower, or is it just that she needs more time at this higher dose to build up the depot?

She's been a happy kitty, eating well, preening after eating, and pooping well. The only aberration is her excessive urination, and only about 75% of her normal energy.

Could this be a sign that with less then 60 units left in the pen that it is losing its effectiveness, or is it just her probably still adjusting to the insulin, and wet food regime to control her BG levels?
 
Re: 8/26 Trinity AMPS 352 +2.5/368 +6/365 +11/293 PMPS 294

Today, 8/28, will only be her 3rd day on the dose, she needs a couple more. Break out those patience pants hon!
 
Re: 8/27 Trinity AMPS 352 +2.5/368 +6/365 +11/293 PMPS 294+1

nckitties3 said:
Today, 8/28, will only be her 3rd day on the dose, she needs a couple more. Break out those patience pants hon!

I woke up this morning to do her AMPS, and it was 73! First green on her chart since I started it!

But a low number pre-shot still. Should I hold her shot until a bit later when her numbers come up again after feeding?
 
Sorry Joey, I'm rarely around in the mornings, but I know you post on TR and there is almost always someone there.

Guess that was a shock! :lol: Stick with her dose, she's showing that it can bring her down, her body just has to get used to it. Cats don't adjust quickly.( Unless she dropped below 50, which would call for a reduction)

I didn't check her SS, did you test at all during the night before that amps? A lot of times you can tell they are sliding down, the numbers will be getting lower for hours ahead of time.

So what did you do? Shoot/not shoot/shoot a reduction? I'd personally never recommend shooting under 100 unless you can be there to monitor, particularly with a cat that you've not been treating for long, you have no idea how she will react.

You will see people shoot low numbers, me included, but it comes from experience and knowing your cat. Besides I'm home and if need be will cancel anything I have scheduled if Lucian is running low. Most don't have that option.

That 'green' was a good sign, she's responding to her dose increase. :thumbup
 
nckitties3 said:
Sorry Joey, I'm rarely around in the mornings, but I know you post on TR and there is almost always someone there.

Guess that was a shock! :lol: Stick with her dose, she's showing that it can bring her down, her body just has to get used to it. Cats don't adjust quickly.( Unless she dropped below 50, which would call for a reduction)

I didn't check her SS, did you test at all during the night before that amps? A lot of times you can tell they are sliding down, the numbers will be getting lower for hours ahead of time.

So what did you do? Shoot/not shoot/shoot a reduction? I'd personally never recommend shooting under 100 unless you can be there to monitor, particularly with a cat that you've not been treating for long, you have no idea how she will react.

You will see people shoot low numbers, me included, but it comes from experience and knowing your cat. Besides I'm home and if need be will cancel anything I have scheduled if Lucian is running low. Most don't have that option.

That 'green' was a good sign, she's responding to her dose increase. :thumbup

I didn't shoot at the usual time, but did go ahead and do so with a 1.75 at about +3 when I tested her again and she registered 360. I had only a +1 test after the PM shot, so didn't really have a good idea about her over night numbers.

I'm not sure at this point whether the AMPS 73 was a legitimate result or some sort of aberration. Considering her AMPS is usually the higher one of the entire cycle I was a bit put off at the result which was why I waited until +3 to go ahead with her shot.

Her figures last night at +4-6 were 197, 136, and 129, which were quite nice considering the strangeness of the AMPS!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top