8/27 Tink AMPS 419, +1=480 - BOIIIIING

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124204

Ugh. Bouncing again. Boy, last night was a WEIRD cycle.

Yesterday's AMPS was lower than I posted - only 330, and down to 300 at +2 - so a 30 pt drop, not 50pt.

DD tried to test him at +6.5 because she thought he seemed "out of it" - but when I inquired about that, she said his eyes were glossy. He was walking fine, purring, acting like his normal lovable self. She wasn't able to get blood - but it doesn't sound like it was anything to be concerned about.

So, his late cycle numbers were much lower than they have been (making me think maybe he HAD gone low during the day... but who knows)... his PMPS was still blue! YAY!

I'm locked out of FDMB at home (got my password now, so hopefully it'll work - it's saying it's sending me a new password, but nothing is coming to my inbox). Wanted to post last night, but couldn't.

Anyway... after the lower-than-normal PMPS and his regular dose (which BOY does it feel weird shooting over 2u on a blue number - it's HARD to untrain myself from ProZinc!), I had to run to the market to pick up something for dinner. I get home to the fresh-picked tomato I'd left on the counter (I thought a whole tomato would be safe) on the floor and nearly half of it eaten (it was a BIG tomato!). Tink is laying several feet away with a big content grin on his sneaky lil face. :roll:

Numbers steadily climbed after his shot, but wasn't sure if it was the tomato or a bounce... but seeing this morning's numbers, I guess it's a bounce. Normally he heads straight up on a bounce though - and this was really gradual... so I'm not sure what he's doing. If anyone sees something I dont, feel free to chime in.
 
Tomatoes?! :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: That explains why he's gone red. Seriously, even though there is sugar in tomatoes, this looks like a bounce to those lovely blues yesterday. He either slid down all day or did a little double dip at the end of the cycle.

Shooting into blue does take some getting used to, and one day he'll give you green. But great job shooting that last night. Here we say that if you get a number under 150, you should stall without feeding and post for advice. Of course, you couldn't last night and kudos on shooting anyway. The same thing happened to me the first times I shot blue, straight into a bounce. :roll: Paws crossed Tink will gradually lower that PS number for you.
 
OH... that's good to know on shooting under 150. That part didn't stick in my head, if I saw it somewhere. I've just seen people shooting really low numbers (greens even), but that must be once they've settled into a dose?

I sure wish I could get more data during his cycles. Seems like he likes to do things differently during the week than he does on the weekends when I can monitor. :roll:

I'm TRYING to get my daughter to the point where she can test - but she has a really hard time getting blood. And Tink's patience is low these days with the frequent pokes. There's times I even have a hard time, and I'm pretty much a pro at poking by now.
 
The motto here is to shoot low to stay low so you will see people shoot anything above 50. When you shoot low, often cycles will stay nice and flat. But, it's easier to shoot low when you have enough data to know what to expect. Getting the occasional +1 tests to know what kind of food spike you'll get helps. If you haven't read the Shooting Low Sticky, it's a good one to look at.

And a lot of it is state of mind. I've seen high dose cats (some over 20 units) shoot into greens too. Thankfully Neko never got that high (she's a high doser too) and didn't give me green on her highest doses. But you never know when you'll get the opportunity to shoot low. That's all up to the cat.
 
I just wish he'd get into SOME sort of rhythm! I'm going thru test strips like MAD over here! Glad I bought the Relion Prime - strips are only $9 for 50 - but still... I'm going through a bottle a week! It wouldn't be so bad if I didn't HATE going into Walmart so much. I'm tempted to just spend the extra couple bucks to buy them from Amazon and have them shipped to me on a subscription. Of course as soon as I stock up, or get them coming regularly - I'm sure Tink will change things up and need fewer tests, or my meter will self-destruct and I'll have an excess of useless strips. :lol: That's how it usually seems to work around here. :roll:
 
Hi there :cool:

Well well, a Blue PS last night - excellent!
JenM said:
Boy, last night was a WEIRD cycle.
What did you find weird about it?
JenM said:
So, his late cycle numbers were much lower than they have been (making me think maybe he HAD gone low during the day... but who knows).
it's quite possible.

I'd encourage DD to keep at it and when successful give Tink a treat and lavish him with praise. She has the upper hand.
I had a really hard time with BK - he was an intact male, with BIG teeth, that had been on the streets since birth and was about 5 when we took him in. 2 days later we were trying to learn all this and apply it. we persevered and it became routine. during our 21 month journey (and wild ride) BK got stuck and poked many many times - I would never imagined it was possible to do that.
JenM said:
(which BOY does it feel weird shooting over 2u on a blue number - it's HARD to untrain myself from ProZinc!),
BK was a high dose kitty. by the time his first green PS rolled around (8 month into the dance) he was up to 12.5u. nailbite_smile

It's a different rhythm. You are doing great :cool:
Now you have your first blue PS under your Lantus belt - shooting blue will get more comfortable from here on.
Wendy&Neko said:
But, it's easier to shoot low when you have enough data to know what to expect. Getting the occasional +1 tests to know what kind of food spike you'll get helps. If you haven't read the Shooting Low Sticky, it's a good one to look at.
I agree and will add that the PM +10s and +11s have great value. Grab them whenever you can. That way you will be 'data ready' and when faced with a lower than usual AMPS you will have an idea of where the number came from. Combined with the +1 and +2 data you collect you then can make a better decision based on recent patterns.

Please remember to check for evil ketones daily and make a note on the ss. They are slippery devils.
 
If you don't like going into Walmart, another alternative is ADW. Great prices on most strips and if you use the link from our shopping page, FDMB gets something back. Arkray Glucuocard 01 is the same as the Relion Confirm and Mini, not sure if the Prime has an Arkray equivalent. Might want to do a search here. It's always good to have a backup meter (even if its the same model), just in case. And spare batteries.
 
I've been reading that the Arkay is the same - but I haven't managed to find the strips on ADW. I get my syringes there... their prices can't be beat! I didn't realize about the link from here... I'll start using that!

So... if I get the Arkay strips from ADW... will they work in my Prime?? I have no problem buying another meter if it's reasonable... but I didnt see any even remotely comparable prices, compared to the $9 for 50 strips I'm getting at evil Walmart. :) And for the record... while there are many that despise Walmart for various reasons... I'm getting to the point where I just despise humanity in general (lol, sort of... but seriously...). It seems nobody has any respect or courtesy anymore - and Walmart customers (and employees) tend to be just a smidge worse than the other stores I have to go to. I so much prefer to give my money to little stores that still focus on customer service and offer livable wages to their employees - and maybe where people actually bother to get dressed before they go shopping... unfortunately they're few and far between - and sometimes it's a luxury I simply can't afford (dollar wise). It's hard to know you're spending 4-5x as much as you have to. I should have been born a hundred years ago... :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top