Re: 8/27 Tigger AMPS 378 +2=355
you can do that - the main thing, just like always, is to monitor him and see how he responds.
i got thinking about Tigger's yesterday condo - in fact it woke me up about 4am! perhaps i was having sympathy with his hunger!
anyway, one of the areas that those of us with acro cats are not in unison about is how low they can safely go. i'm thinking that it might or might not be correct to assume that their pancreases work. no way to know. what we all agree on is that hypoglycemia numbers start in the 30's and go lower, and one could have a problem with a lotta insulin and a cat with a big shed and it can be a problem getting their numbers up. punkin responds to small amount of carbs and his numbers go up. i would suggest that when you get in a lower numbers situation you test out the situation to see what tigger does and how his body reacts so that you know. the first time after his diagnosis that he went lower, i got scared and just gave him a huge amount of high carbs. what goes up will come down.
another thing i didn't mention yesterday is that with bigger doses and bigger sheds it becomes less of a problem when you skip a shot. i have skipped with punkin and seen zero evidence of a missed shot in his numbers. something to just add to your bag of tricks.
that also means that you don't have to feel compelled to shoot if his numbers are lower than you are comfortable with. my cut-off number is about 120. lower than that i stall first to see if he's rising, but if he's flat, i skip or shoot a reduced dose.
so much of this is cat-dependent - so there are some things for you to learn, then test out with tigger to see how he does.
and yes, i think i'd go up by a unit, as long as you are around to monitor, and see how he responds to it. when he gets closer to healthier numbers then reduce the amount you are increasing by.